Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable
l brought this book for my husband to read on holiday and he finished it in two days and thoroughly enjoyed it, he is a real fan of this author.
Published 5 months ago by Mrs. Sa Perowne

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring
Very boring? not one of his best that is for certain.Started off well then went down hill very fast,i will wait for his next one?
Published 13 months ago by deborah pacquette


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. Sa Perowne (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
l brought this book for my husband to read on holiday and he finished it in two days and thoroughly enjoyed it, he is a real fan of this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Revenge of Frankenstein (Kindle Edition)
Very boring? not one of his best that is for certain.Started off well then went down hill very fast,i will wait for his next one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gr8 book, 21 Jun 2014
excellent book to read. cudn't put it down after 1st 10 pages. great author. read it at midnite like horror films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shaun hutson, 18 April 2014
By 
Mr. James S. Edmondson (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
thought shaun hutson had retired or somrthing. this is a great return from a master of terror, good to have him back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A different take on the story of Frankenstein, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked this book. I enjoyed the movie. It is and adaption of the classic Hammer Film of the same name. This is not a straight novelization of course, I'd be boring if it were, perfectly faithful to the movie of course, but boring.
some of the changes make sense, giving the characters back stories and hence more characters, resolving some plot holes from the film, telling us how Frankenstein befriended Carl, we get a lot more insight into Carl's life. Others don't: bits of dialogue are changed around causing them to loose their edge, characters are merged, scenes are moved about, characters are added for no reason, changes are made for the sake of it.
For example - there is a Doctor Brandt in this story that was never in the original film now there was A Dr. Brandt in a later movie, perhaps this was a bit of a nod to that later movie, maybe explaining how he lost his mind, no, instead he dies, the character attend his funeral and that's where Dr. Hans Kleve realizes who Frankenstein really is, however in the film he instead recognizes him from the funeral of a man who died in the first film. Now perhaps this was changed because it is only a novelization of the second film, not the first, but then the later mention that character by name several times, so why change it?
It also totally ruins the blackmail/uncovering scene form the movie, of course it makes more scene for Frankenstein to pull a gun on the man threatening to expose him, but the movies scene was better, again change for the sake of change.
Also Frankenstein isn't like he was in the movie, can you imagine Peter Cushing muttering scum under his breathe every time he treats his patients, I can't, even if his character look down on his patients he's not going to talk to them like that and have them walk off depriving him of their organs for his creation.
I'm probably just nitpicking but the changes annoy me.
I was going to give this book 3 stars but after reading the Authors foreword and seeing his passion for the old Hammer filsm I decided to give it a 4 star review.
Ok but i didn't like all the changes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great adaptation by this Horror Master, 24 Feb 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Revenge of Frankenstein (Kindle Edition)
Whilst I'm not always enamoured of the Hammer titles, when an author gets a tale to recreate for the modern reader that they clearly love you know that its going to be something special. Here in his retelling of this Hammer classic, the reader is given a story that they'll really get behind as Victor returns to doing what he does best. Its definitely a story that will have you clutching the covers, back that up with a sympathetic take on the Baron's own motives and all round make this a book that I sat back enjoying until sunrise the following morning with the light of day bringing a close to this chilling story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 7 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Revenge of Frankenstein (Kindle Edition)
I have been a fan of this author for many years and have enjoyed most of his books. However these Hammer stories don't do it for me. Thet are tame and boring by todays standards. Shaun Hutson is better than this, I can only assume he's getting paid plenty for rehashing these stories. I don't even think the writing is up to standard. There is some of the Shaun Hutson we know missing. As soon as he gives writing these up and gets down to some serious writing the better.. I wont be reading anymore of these..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars xmas present, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as yet this book is un read as recipient is reading spawn by shaun hutson but she is looking forward to reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, easy read. Want to get to the end!, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Revenge of Frankenstein (Kindle Edition)
I like his books, and I like stories of Frankenstein. Perhaps a little in more in depth detail would be nice. Can't wait for the next one in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD READ, ALTHOUGH I HAVE JUST STARTED IT ON THE PLANE AND BUS TO THE UK, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I AM A COLLECTOR OF THESE BOOKS AND THIS AUTHOR SO THIS IS ANOTHER ADDITION TO MY COLLECTION ALREADY EXTENSIVE COLLECTION
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Revenge of Frankenstein
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews