Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kimberley takes Center Stage
After 10 years of following girls aloud and being a massive fan of kimberley walsh i was so excited to learn of her plans to produce a solo album based on her love of musicals from the opening track of one day i'll fly away to the closing track of tomorrow its without a doubt the most beautiful album i have heard in a while here smooth vocal haunting voice and overall...
Published on 4 Feb. 2013 by KJW 4EVER

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars KIMBERLEY DOES A GOOD SOUND BUT THERE ARE SOME STRAINING IN SOME SONGS ...
AS A FAN OF GIRLS ALOUD AND NOT REALLY IMPRESSED BY CHERYLS MUSIC (THOUGH HAVE HER SOLO ALBUMS) I WASNT SURE ABOUT THIS ONE. KIMBERLEY DOES A GOOD SOUND BUT THERE ARE SOME STRAINING IN SOME SONGS AND I DO LIKE HER VERSIONS OF 'MEMORY' 'DEFYING GRAVITY' THAT SONG FROM LES MISERABLES HER OWN FAVOURITE, AND ONE DAY I'LL FLY AWAY. DIDNT WANT TO PAY ALOT SO GOT MY MONEYS...
Published 5 months ago by KATHARINE BISSET


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Album, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centre Stage (Audio CD)
I listened to the promotion prior to this albums release and it caught my attention. On listening to the CD i was not disappointed the track that were choosen, are sung by Kimberley so well, it is lovely to hear her melodic voice, and the depth of feeling she imparts on every track. An excellent CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab !, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centre Stage (Audio CD)
very very good

exceptional voice and very well produced

recommended for anyone who loves west end shows - a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning voice, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centre Stage (MP3 Download)
love Kimberley's voice on this album. Don't recognise some of the songs but a very relaxing sound can't wait to see what she produces next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kimberley is Amazing, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centre Stage (Audio CD)
Though she is known for being a pop star her true love is in theatre and musicals and she has finally gotten a chance to show that in her debut album. The cd is really good. If you are looking for Pop music similar to Girls Aloud, you would not like this album. It is full of songs from famous musicals, movies, and theatre productions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 5 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Centre Stage (Audio CD)
Absolutely love the album - have already sent 4 as presents. It is great to listen to, sing along to and just really has that feel good factor. The perfect combination of songs. Perfect for a Sunday afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 5 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Centre Stage (Audio CD)
very pleased with it. It has a good collection of well known songs. About time Kimberley making her own music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centre Stage (Audio CD)
Very very good, Kimberley was the girl I voted for all through the show back in those days, and love Girls Alowed,but have waited for this album for a long time, it is brilliant, and what a lovely voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely voice, 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centre Stage (Audio CD)
I had heard One Day I,ll Fly away and really liked it. I had high hopes for the rest of the CD as I like show music. I was a little disappointed with the choice of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kimberley has done a brilliant job with this CD, 8 Aug. 2014
By 
Michael Head "heady" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Centre Stage (Audio CD)
Kimberley has done a brilliant job with this CD, and so unlike her roles with Girls Aloud. Some new songs, some presentations of famous pieces. It shows she has a good future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kimberley on Centre Stage, for One Night Only Perhaps..., 8 Feb. 2013
By 
This review is from: Centre Stage (Audio CD)
Ever since Nicola Roberts went solo, i've wondered why Kimberley has never ventured out on her own, as she has a beautiful voice, and personality. So this, her debut studio effort, may be a collection of covers, but for that fact alone you can't pass on it, because you have to base it on the quality of the covers themselves.

ONE DAY I'LL FLY AWAY: The album begins with this show-stopping cover of the original from Moulin Rouge!. Despite it being a complete reflection of the original, Kimberley's adaptation is not something to be passed over, as in many respects, it reworks the original with magic and flair. (5/5) ON MY OWN: Kimberley's adaption of the original from Les Miserables completely outshines the original. It breathes life into a track which i've always regarded as dull, with littered production. But Kimberley manages to somehow find light in the darkness, and turn this into a beautiful ballad. (5/5) SOMEWHERE: Not my first choice for a musical covers album. Although it suits the narrative of West Side Story perfectly, it's not something that really works out of context. But saying that, it's not a failiure either. It just lacks a little spark as a solo outing. (4/5) FALLING SLOWLY FT. RONAN KEATING: Keating's voice brings homage to the original masterpiece from Once, as the pair take off this classic duet with poignance and style. A beautiful ballad, which reflects both of the performers voices with bright, beautiful tones. (5/5) MEMORY: The deep, subtle guitar chord at the start of the track really sets the premise, and it continues by being built upon with Kimberley's layered, yet startling vocal performance. A pleasing take on the original from Cats, and something that should keep the original writers of the piece happy. (4/5) DEFYING GRAVITY: The first up-tempo number on the album, and a pleasing change from the otherwise ballad-swamped first half, although i'm not saying that's a bad thing at all. A very Girls Aloud-esque number, in similar in many ways to the girls' cover of "I'll Stand By You". Would like to see this released as a single, as i'm sure it would perform well in the charts. (5/5)

I STILL BELIEVE FT. LOUISE DEARMAN: I was surprised when i discovered that 'I Still Believe' would be covered for the album, as it in it's original form, it is a masterpiece, and that Kimberley would even attempt to cover it. And the results, frankly are a bit lackluster. All of the originality is lost, and to go as far as saying that the track is a reworking is an insult. It's just a bit too much musical karaoke for me. (2/5) DREAMS CAN LEARN TO FLY: One of the two original numbers on the album. Tight production and strong vocal ability allow this track to fit amongst all of the others, as if it were taken from a musical itself. In fact, at some point in the future, i can imagine some big wig playwright snapping this up for the next hit broadway musical. (5/5) ANOTHER SUITCASE IN ANOTHER HALL: The choral addition to this wonderfully reworked ballad, that blends a strong mix of guitars and drums, is just a taste of perfection. Kimberley truly makes this track her own, just how the rest of the album should be carried off. (5/5) HUSHABYE MOUNTAIN: Another reason to be skeptical about this album. It's just one of those songs that is destined to stay in a musical, and not really suitable for being remade into a solo album track. I'm not really sure by this point if Kimberley made the right choices as to which tracks to record for the album, as they're are plently of better tracks to cover. (3/5) AS LONG AS HE NEEDS ME: And then we move into a cabaret-style piano and tamborine piece, that looks like it was taken directly out of the jukebox from an American adult establishment. When i first read the tracklisting, i thought of so many different avenues which can be explored with this song, and sadly, Kimberley has failed to explore any of them. (2/5) YOU LOVED ME FIRST: The album's second original song, and closing piece. A pleasantly surprsing number, which is rumoured to be this year's entry to the Eurovision song contest. And if so, i think we have a great chance of winning this year. It's a beautifully structured piece, which has elegance and grace, as well as excitement, to allow it to stand out. (5/5)

So all in all, i think the album is very mixed in creation, with amazing covers, such as "One Day I'll Fly Away" and "Falling Slowly", other outstanding moments such as "Defying Gravity" and "You Loved Me First", but is sadly let down by some lackluster covers, mainly being "As Long As He Needs Me" and "I Still Believe". So, as much as Kimberley wants to hold Centre Stage, perhaps it should only be for a short time, as Girls Aloud is a much better day job than churning out cover albums, which, as this, fail to quite hit the mark in all areas. A good effort, however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Centre Stage
Centre Stage by Kimberley Walsh (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews