Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars63
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2013
After 10 years of following girls aloud and being a massive fan of kimberley walsh i was so excited to learn of her plans to produce a solo album based on her love of musicals from the opening track of one day i'll fly away to the closing track of tomorrow its without a doubt the most beautiful album i have heard in a while here smooth vocal haunting voice and overall passion of musicals make this album a MUST BUY for all Fans
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
I've always liked Girls Aloud and Kimba, so when she released this album I was super excited. I'm aware this is a stupid stereotype, but as a gay bloke the pairing of a Girls Aloud singer and musical theatre tracks is a match made in guilty pleasure heaven.
Kimberley's voice is smooth and calming, she gives each rendition her absolute best and the track list contains some real classics. My favourite tracks are 'On My Own' and 'Defying Gravity'. Kimberley does add her own spin to some of the songs, but the production still works wonderfully.
All in all this is a fab, relaxing listen, perfect for anyone who likes Kimberley. xx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
AS A FAN OF GIRLS ALOUD AND NOT REALLY IMPRESSED BY CHERYLS MUSIC (THOUGH HAVE HER SOLO ALBUMS) I WASNT SURE ABOUT THIS ONE. KIMBERLEY DOES A GOOD SOUND BUT THERE ARE SOME STRAINING IN SOME SONGS AND I DO LIKE HER VERSIONS OF 'MEMORY' 'DEFYING GRAVITY' THAT SONG FROM LES MISERABLES HER OWN FAVOURITE, AND ONE DAY I'LL FLY AWAY. DIDNT WANT TO PAY ALOT SO GOT MY MONEYS WORTH. OVERALL, KIMBERLEY HAS DONE A GOOD JOB BUT NOTHING AMAZING. I WONDER IF NADINE HAD DONE THESE SONGS SHE MIGHT HAVE BEEN BETTER??!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
Though she is known for being a pop star her true love is in theatre and musicals and she has finally gotten a chance to show that in her debut album. The cd is really good. If you are looking for Pop music similar to Girls Aloud, you would not like this album. It is full of songs from famous musicals, movies, and theatre productions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
I listened to the promotion prior to this albums release and it caught my attention. On listening to the CD i was not disappointed the track that were choosen, are sung by Kimberley so well, it is lovely to hear her melodic voice, and the depth of feeling she imparts on every track. An excellent CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
This is AMAZING. Kimberley sings these songs beautifully and it just shows her versitility. Kimberley (like Nicola) was under untilized in Girls Aloud as their vocal ranges are stunning. Anyone that doesnt like this or that gives a bad review is lying. ALOUD & PROUD! GA <3 <3 <3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
This album is fantastic by Kimberley Walsh because not only do the tracks have a different vibe to them but what i love about this girl is her singing style and voice. I just love the fact i can hear every single word she is saying whereas alot of the albums these days you cant hear really. But people judge kimberley like she cant sing when really we all know she can. Shes just not as powerful as the other members in girls aloud. You never know she may be experimenting with her voice on this album and in the future theirs a possiblilty it will either get stronger or weaker depending on training and what not. But in my opinion this is a good start of album and people shouldnt judge her too soon because its a first attempt not a 5th. Give the woman a chance. Xxx i reccommend this album for older woman and men if you are driving home from a long days work and just want to relax just put this record on and your be ready to go. Its a brilliant album well done kim.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
Ever since Nicola Roberts went solo, i've wondered why Kimberley has never ventured out on her own, as she has a beautiful voice, and personality. So this, her debut studio effort, may be a collection of covers, but for that fact alone you can't pass on it, because you have to base it on the quality of the covers themselves.

ONE DAY I'LL FLY AWAY: The album begins with this show-stopping cover of the original from Moulin Rouge!. Despite it being a complete reflection of the original, Kimberley's adaptation is not something to be passed over, as in many respects, it reworks the original with magic and flair. (5/5) ON MY OWN: Kimberley's adaption of the original from Les Miserables completely outshines the original. It breathes life into a track which i've always regarded as dull, with littered production. But Kimberley manages to somehow find light in the darkness, and turn this into a beautiful ballad. (5/5) SOMEWHERE: Not my first choice for a musical covers album. Although it suits the narrative of West Side Story perfectly, it's not something that really works out of context. But saying that, it's not a failiure either. It just lacks a little spark as a solo outing. (4/5) FALLING SLOWLY FT. RONAN KEATING: Keating's voice brings homage to the original masterpiece from Once, as the pair take off this classic duet with poignance and style. A beautiful ballad, which reflects both of the performers voices with bright, beautiful tones. (5/5) MEMORY: The deep, subtle guitar chord at the start of the track really sets the premise, and it continues by being built upon with Kimberley's layered, yet startling vocal performance. A pleasing take on the original from Cats, and something that should keep the original writers of the piece happy. (4/5) DEFYING GRAVITY: The first up-tempo number on the album, and a pleasing change from the otherwise ballad-swamped first half, although i'm not saying that's a bad thing at all. A very Girls Aloud-esque number, in similar in many ways to the girls' cover of "I'll Stand By You". Would like to see this released as a single, as i'm sure it would perform well in the charts. (5/5)

I STILL BELIEVE FT. LOUISE DEARMAN: I was surprised when i discovered that 'I Still Believe' would be covered for the album, as it in it's original form, it is a masterpiece, and that Kimberley would even attempt to cover it. And the results, frankly are a bit lackluster. All of the originality is lost, and to go as far as saying that the track is a reworking is an insult. It's just a bit too much musical karaoke for me. (2/5) DREAMS CAN LEARN TO FLY: One of the two original numbers on the album. Tight production and strong vocal ability allow this track to fit amongst all of the others, as if it were taken from a musical itself. In fact, at some point in the future, i can imagine some big wig playwright snapping this up for the next hit broadway musical. (5/5) ANOTHER SUITCASE IN ANOTHER HALL: The choral addition to this wonderfully reworked ballad, that blends a strong mix of guitars and drums, is just a taste of perfection. Kimberley truly makes this track her own, just how the rest of the album should be carried off. (5/5) HUSHABYE MOUNTAIN: Another reason to be skeptical about this album. It's just one of those songs that is destined to stay in a musical, and not really suitable for being remade into a solo album track. I'm not really sure by this point if Kimberley made the right choices as to which tracks to record for the album, as they're are plently of better tracks to cover. (3/5) AS LONG AS HE NEEDS ME: And then we move into a cabaret-style piano and tamborine piece, that looks like it was taken directly out of the jukebox from an American adult establishment. When i first read the tracklisting, i thought of so many different avenues which can be explored with this song, and sadly, Kimberley has failed to explore any of them. (2/5) YOU LOVED ME FIRST: The album's second original song, and closing piece. A pleasantly surprsing number, which is rumoured to be this year's entry to the Eurovision song contest. And if so, i think we have a great chance of winning this year. It's a beautifully structured piece, which has elegance and grace, as well as excitement, to allow it to stand out. (5/5)

So all in all, i think the album is very mixed in creation, with amazing covers, such as "One Day I'll Fly Away" and "Falling Slowly", other outstanding moments such as "Defying Gravity" and "You Loved Me First", but is sadly let down by some lackluster covers, mainly being "As Long As He Needs Me" and "I Still Believe". So, as much as Kimberley wants to hold Centre Stage, perhaps it should only be for a short time, as Girls Aloud is a much better day job than churning out cover albums, which, as this, fail to quite hit the mark in all areas. A good effort, however.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
Absolutely love the album - have already sent 4 as presents. It is great to listen to, sing along to and just really has that feel good factor. The perfect combination of songs. Perfect for a Sunday afternoon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
Very very good, Kimberley was the girl I voted for all through the show back in those days, and love Girls Alowed,but have waited for this album for a long time, it is brilliant, and what a lovely voice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.14

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)