Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long wait but it's definitely worth it!
As an owner of the previously available CD version it needed something special to persuade me to shell out for the latest offering, despite the extra tracks and remastering.
One listen was enough convince me! The sound is truly superb - crystal clear and just leaps off the CD to invade your space and leave your senses reeling. I was particularly taken with the...
Published on 10 Sep 2002 by Mr C Wheatley

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars My Generation - Mono AND Stereo CD Reviews
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm going to do two-reviews-in-one for this CD because Amazon has mixed together the reviews for the stereo and mono releases, which can be misleading to the reader as the content and quality of each is radically different.

The first section of this review is for the MONO CD...
Published on 4 Sep 2011 by XBBX


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long wait but it's definitely worth it!, 10 Sep 2002
By 
Mr C Wheatley (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
As an owner of the previously available CD version it needed something special to persuade me to shell out for the latest offering, despite the extra tracks and remastering.
One listen was enough convince me! The sound is truly superb - crystal clear and just leaps off the CD to invade your space and leave your senses reeling. I was particularly taken with the awesome drumming of Moony - you can almost see him laying into the drumkit. Roger's vocals and John's bass are equally clear and impressive. Shel Talmy has achieved what sounds to me like the perfect mix. Startlingly good!
Two minor gripes - some might find the more restrained Pete Townshend sound takes a bit of getting used to, with his guitar lower in the mix and overdubs missing from a couple of tracks. However this is compensated for by including the original mono versions of "A legal matter" and "My generation" for comparison.
Also, some of the material on the second CD has previously been available and is of variable quality, although some of its belting - the previously unreleased a cappella version of "Anytime you want me" is fantastic.
If you're a Who fan who hasn't heard the 'My Generation' album (or even a non-Who fan!) then this is an absolute must, and for those of you who are already in love with the original, this is still well worth shelling out for - the sound is incredible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good's Gone - But Not Forgotten, 10 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This deluxe edition of the first Long Player by 'The Who' should tantalize the tastebuds of anyone who professes to love Britpop. The simple truth is that without this album The Jam would still be playing working mens clubs and Noel Gallagher and his cohorts would still be standing in the Kipax wondering why Peter Reid had to go.
There is a poignant quality that it should be released now so soon after the untimely death of the greatest English Rock Bass player, John 'The Ox' Entwhistle.
Just in case you need reminding,John transformed the bass guitar into a lead instrument here. There are no less than 3 separate versions of 'My Generation'. Marvel at the musical athleticism of his bass solo on a paired down, backing track version that hardly misses the infamous D-D-D-altrey vocal at all. More striking is the sheer funk he brings to Godfather James Brown covers 'Please, Please,Please','Shout and Shimmy' and 'I don't mind' that were a staple of their live set at that time.
This extended package is also bang on the money as an historical document, conveying as it does a great sense of time and place: 'Swinging London' when time was money and the royalty rates were costed in farthings. If this really is the sound of four socially incompatible young men steering their weary way through a succession of low big city dives, it makes for some great music.
Of course when you record in hours rather than months or years you retain a certain spontaneity, an endearing roughness that is never crude but always energetic. The whole thing bulges with blue beat majesty.
The reputed organised chaos is here in an alternate version of 'Anyway, anyhow, anywhere' where Moon is in a galaxy all of his own but still comes back on a crescendo of feedback to nail a beat as tight as the checks on Daltrey's jacket. Ah yes, Mr Daltrey - sir to me and you - tough as teak with the original cockney blues voice at full throttle and tough enough to make you believe they really do have cotton fields in Shepherds Bush.
The real maestro in the ensemble is of course Pete Townshend...the creative leadership of the group. God he was only 20 when this record was made! As were they all... but consider the perception, the tenderness and the bile he brings to his compositions. Anthem for 'My Generation', 'kids are alright' 'The good's gone' Truth is Townshend really could explain and does so with an inarticulate eloquence that lets you know he thinks feeling is better than thinking.
The guitarplaying featured here is not that of a virtuoso, no Pete is a working man using the tools of his trade and woe betide those 12 strings if they fail him by the end of the night......The informative sleeve has a terrific picture of a deadpan Pete flanked by the casualties of battle, a gallery of Beautiful but wrecked Rickenbackers.
So I tell no la-la-la-lies when I say forget all substitutes -'My Generation' is my album of the year, 1965 and 2002.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THIS is the single disc mono edition, 24 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Generation (Audio CD)
I feel the need to clarify to potential purchasers - that this is the single disc mono edition (at least - thats what i received last week!) - so it is as close to the original as you'll ever get!
I wasnt there in '65 when the needle first hit the vinyl - so it is impossible for me to imagine what an impact this album had on people. For me, its very rudimentary Who. Yes, My Generation is incredible, but a lot of the motown/r&b covers on here, with the passage of time, sound fairly awful and vaguely incompetant. I know i'm offending people, but its just what I hear. I am a HUGE Who fan (honest!!) but this album has never done it for me, so fans of the purple patch 1969-73 - could be dissappointed.
However, the sound is crisp, clear, explosive and mono!!! As it should be. So its an essential part of my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 23 April 2005
By 
Lozarithm (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Who's 1st LP, originally released in the UK on Brunswick, one of Decca's group of labels, had been unavailable in the UK for decades, due to a legal matter involving the group's defection to their manager's new Reaction label, and the ownership of the album master tapes by their former producer, Shel Talmy. Thirty-five years later, after they had almost ended up auctioned on E-bay, the 3-track masters were re-mixed by Shel Talmy into true stereo for the first time and eventually released in a lavish 2CD set, overflowing with bonus tracks of unreleased out-takes and alternative versions. It seemed too good to be true, when first announced, but it almost isn't. The stereo sound is incredibly vibrant and powerful and the Who crackle with a raw energy and with a righteous commitment from each to outdo all the others, a clash of ambition and ego which provides glorious results.
There were slight variations between the UK track-list and its US release, The Who Sing My Generation, which came out later. I'm A Man was replaced by a newer recording, Circles, from 1966. This had been recorded as their intended fourth single, but had been abandoned when the band left the label (Brunswick cheekily released it later as the B-side to A Legal Matter, which was lifted off the album; they mistitled it Instant Party). Both items are included on Disc One, which also houses both sides of their first single and the UK B-side of their second (Anyway Anyhow Anywhere), which was the Otis Blackwell song Daddy Rolling Stone, covered first by Jimmy Ricks and the Ravens but known to the Who from a Sue label single by the Jamaican former-Top Note and Raven, Derek Martin. All of these are also mixed in stereo.
Disc Two begins with "additional bonus tracks", the first twelve tracks comprising material unreleased at the time, though some have subsequently appeared on 1980s compilations such as Who's Missing. Exceptions to this include the James Brown song Shout And Shimmy which became the UK B-side to My Generation, and Anytime You Want Me (Garnett Mimms and the Enchanters), unreleased in the UK at the time but found on the US B-side of Anyway Anyhow Anywhere. An a cappella version is also included, as is the instrumental version of My Generation.
It was the practice of the time to include well-known songs on albums and the Who's set was full of R&B, soul and Motown covers, many of which were recorded for their debut album, although Shel Talmy says in the notes that he was admirer of Pete Townshend's writing and would have been happy to include only original material. When early acetates of the sessions went out for review, the paucity of new material was commented on by Beat Instrumental reviewer John Emery, and so the release date was put back while some covers were replaced with Townshend songs: La-La-La-Lies, Much Too Much, It's Not True, A Legal Matter (featuring an early Pete Townshend lead vocal) and The Good's Gone.
The replaced tracks included, as well as those mentioned, Leaving Here (a Motown cover, originally by Eddie Holland), Lubie (Come Back Home) (an adaptation of Paul Revere and the Raider's Louie Go Home), Heat Wave and Motoring (both from Martha and the Vandellas), all collected here. Leaving Here exists in a number of different forms: a 1964 demo appeared on the expanded CD version of Odds And Sods, a version from April 1965 appeared on Who's Missing, and it was also recorded for the BBC's Saturday Club programme the following month (available on The BBC Sessions). The version here is an unknown alternative take from the April 1965 session. Heat Wave was re-recorded for the album A Quick One, copying the arrangement used by the Everly Brothers, whereas its clear from this earlier version that its genesis in the Who cannon was the Motown original.
Instant Party Mixture was recorded at the same time as Circles and was to have been its flipside. Circles was later re-recorded for the Ready Steady Who EP but Instant Party Mixture never saw the light of day until this release.
Full length versions of two of the album tracks follow. Their version of I Don't Mind is considerably adapted from James Brown's original, whether by design or out of necessity for a 3-piece group and a singer, and benefits from the extra minute or so, while what The Good's Gone owes to its inspiration, The Kink's See My Friends, is made much clearer by the guitar on the extended fade. Incidentally, See My Friends and other Kink titles were produced by Shel Talmy on 14 April 1965 at Pye Studios, while the Who were at IBC Studios cutting Anyway Anyhow Anywhere and several tracks for this album with the same producer. He must have been quite busy.
The band's extraordinary second single, Anyway Anyhow Anywhere, is unfortunately not included, but a rare early version with a slightly different title, which was released by accident on a French EP in 1966, takes its place. Apparently it was impossible to include a stereo mix of the released version as the vocal overdubs had been performed directly onto the final mono mix-down, a common practice at the time in order to minimize tape hiss.
This same practice affects the stereo presentation of a number of the album tracks, which are missing those final touches that were added at the mixing stage. These include vital guitar parts and some back-up vocals on My Generation and A Legal Matter, John Entwistle's french horn playing on Circles and vocal overdubs for La-La-La Lies and Much Too Much. This is partially addressed by the final two tracks on Disc Two, which are "monaural versions with guitar overdubs" (the great original mono versions of A Legal Matter and My Generation), and is made up for by the chance to hear these historic tracks in full stereo for the first time.
All of what is found here is so important and so fantastic to hear after all this time, and in such high quality sound, that one really doesn't want to carp. However, it would surely have been a good idea to have the entire original mono album on the second half of Disc One, with its three bonus tracks added to the second disc, along with the original mono version of Anyway Anyhow Anywhere, a top ten hit in the UK after all, and perhaps the Who's Missing version of Leaving Here. Maybe next time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, clear and oh yes in Stereo, 14 Feb 2005
By 
David Mclean (Barking, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Shel Talmy has done a fantatstic job of re-mixing the original master tapes. Normally when old tapes are re-mixed producers tend to mix them using modern digital studio equipment and you end up losing a lot of the original sound.
This sounds like Shel has re-mixed the tapes using authentic 1960's equipment and has pushed the EQ right up to "11".
You feel as if you are sitting right in the middle of the studio.
It sounds like 1965 but oh so much clearer and louder
A fantastic job.
I wish Shel had re-mixed "A quick one" and "Sell out" as their re-mixes sound wishy-washy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Who's Debut finally re-released!, 10 Sep 2002
After the long wait, its finally here. The remastered version of The Who's My Generation. A Deluxe edition which comes in a nice fold up sleeve and clear slide over cover, all complete with a nice sleevenotes booklet full of pictures
and notes which clearly make this package a bit special. As for the album originally released in 1965, a somewhat great year for music with the Beatles Rubber Soul and the Kinks Kontroversy, this is the sound of the Who as full
mod band, with mowtown, soul and blues being the inspiration here. "The Kids are alright" is an anthem clearly as good as anything the Beatles were writing at that time, and "My Generation" sounds clearer and better than i have
ever heard it before, mono/vinyl purists will probably disagree. The bonus disc is a nice add on, some of these tracks appear on "Who's Missing" and "Odds and Sods" with a couple that don't appear anywhere else on CD.
Its hard to believe that Pete Townshend was in his late teens when this record was released, proving that he really is one of the most talented songwriters in history with the Who being the greatest rock and roll band ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a long wait, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Generation (Audio CD)
This review is for the 2012 mono reissue and where it fits into the "Who landscape".

At last we have the original mono mixes!
This sounds exactly the same as my original Brunswick vinyl, minus scratches, so job done there.
Packaging, as others have indicated, is minimal, but the music is what matters most.

This goes some way to redressing the damage done by the 2002 stereo remaster.
(which is still here on my shelves, due to the odd singles, B sides and super packaging)
The yawning gaps & clumsy edits on show here should never have got past "quality control" IMHO.

Couldn't stop myself, sorry, back to the mono CD.

Five star music, four star packaging, three star overall value,
-3 stars because, if you have bought Who LPs & CDs previously, as I have over the years,
you do begin to wonder quite when a definitive edition of anything will ever be delivered!
(three versions of A Quick One, four Tommy's -the list goes on)

I guess, sometime in the future we'll get the combined My Generation stereo/ mono versions bundled into another special pack.
More expense looms!

I won't even try to review this album musically, it was a classic, it always will be.

Perhaps the crucial point for any prospective buyer is, despite the Who's many great albums,
this remains the band at their freshest, bringing their measured mayhem crashing into the 60s scene.
The mono edition is a true reflection of those early days, avoid the stereo edition!

And back to 2012, the usual fast delivery from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, a decent remaster of this album, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Generation (Audio CD)
The CD that Universal released in the '80s was pretty much a quick cash-in, which is what the major labels were doing at the time in order to get as much product out there on the market as possible. It was an LP master, sounded OK but not great. In 2002, we got the Deluxe Edition, which was a huge disappointment because of the missing overdubs. At last, we have this edition which was remastered directly from the original mono masters, and sounds exactly as the original album was intended to. While not a perfect album - the lads were really still finding their sound, adding covers amongst Pete Townshend's originals - it is certainly a great mission statement. The original liner notes, of course, tell us of the band's four disparate personalities (Moon's wildman drumming, Townshend's windmill arm and guitar smashing, Daltrey's swagger and Entwistle's calm, eye-of-the-storm presence on bass), and all of that can be heard in the music.

BTW, this is a straight remaster of the original album - no bonus tracks, non-LP singles or outtakes - so if you were hoping for any of that, you'd best pass on this and go for the Deluxe Edition. But if all you want is the Who's 1965 debut, straight no chaser, this will hit the spot for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Music - Oppo Missed re: Packaging!, 22 Nov 2012
By 
Heebablob (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Generation (Audio CD)
First of all, I've known this album since the Brunswick mono LP repease and loved the Who since the time I saw them explode into 'Anyway. Anyhow, Anywhere' on on of the pre-TOTP B & W mid-60s pop shows.

This is a great remaster, in mono of course. It is vibrant, powerful and true - much better than some of the previous trashy remasterings of early Who material, notably the quite poor job done on the 2-disc 'Deluxe' re-release of 'My Generation' a few years back.

This is the real McCoy (for a CD format) - all the crashing Moon pungency, the arm-swirling Townshend Link-Wray power chords, the surly Daltrey vocal and The Ox's deep bass spaces are there in their primal glory.

Now, the dunces in the marketing depatment should be admonished for missing a great opportunity to make a definitive CD issue even better by getting a few things right about the disc presentation or making the package more comprehensive.

For a start, the 'Brunswick' label on the disc itself is fine in principle - but why mark it as a '45' and make the CD LP look like the centre of the 7" 45 rpm single? Odd!

How come you spelled 'Daltrey' as 'Dultrey' on the rear cover? It wasn't spelt wrong on the original LP (I checked).

Why didn't you add proper little touches like the 'Brunswick' logo on the front and rear? Surely a barcodea and modern (2012) credits ruin the attempt at authenticity?

The booklet is a single-fold with one decent period pic of the band (in front of Big Ben) - but why not more pics? They were an iconic Mod band and lots of great pics exist. The page of sleeve notes are good, informative comments on the group's career to that date (1965).

Anyway, if you love real rock, buy this and play it loud and often.

It is a brilliant, timeless, exciting blast of power pop/blues that infused the era and inspired me to follow the Who for the next 40-odd years and enjoy them as much, if not more, than any other band encountered in my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Yet, 18 Jun 2012
As far as modern releases of this album go - across all formats - this is certainly the best yet.

First the good. Despite there only being so much one could do with this album given the original primitive mix, pressing it directly from the original mono masters has made some difference. Not a vast difference, but a difference nonetheless.

This LP sounds a little more open and alive than any other modern version I've heard, with slightly more clarity. There's also a bit more bass. It's an all round positive improvement.

And now, the bad (although I must admit "bad" within this context is too much of an extreme choice of word!).

Because of the freshly unveiled layer of clarity, albeit not that huge, it becomes more obvious with this release than on any other that the songs were recorded at different sessions. On all previous releases the album (being overly compressed, peak limited or slightly murky, depending upon which version you owned) has an overall quality which left it sounding pretty much like the band went into the studio and banged the entire thing out in one go. To be completely fair, the difference here isn't majorly obvious. It probably wouldn't even catch the attention of the average listener, but if you are a serious audiophile you'll probably pick up on it....but maybe it could be considered a good thing rather than bad? It all depends on taste I suppose.

Anyway. If you want the best possible modern vinyl listening experience of this album there is no question this Classic Records release is one you need. If you're not too bothered about the slight improvement in clarity you'll probably be happy with the much cheaper Virgin LP from the 1980s, which itself is slightly better than the original MCA CD.

The biggest annoyance is that this album has never been transferred to CD with the same care and attention seen with this Classic Records issue. That would truly have made for a "deluxe" listening experience!

Now, previously I would have recommended this Classic Records LP over the original 1965 Brunswick vinyl, but the pair now seem to be drifting ever closer when it comes to pricing. So if you have the money to spare you may be better off spending an extra 20 or 30 on the original. If not, buy this. You'll certainly be more than happy with it and probably never feel the need to upgrade again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6b55864)

This product

My Generation
My Generation by The Who
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews