Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long wait but it's definitely worth it!
As an owner of the previously available CD version it needed something special to persuade me to shell out for the latest offering, despite the extra tracks and remastering.
One listen was enough convince me! The sound is truly superb - crystal clear and just leaps off the CD to invade your space and leave your senses reeling. I was particularly taken with the...
Published on 10 Sep 2002 by Mr C Wheatley

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars My Generation - Mono AND Stereo CD Reviews
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm going to do two-reviews-in-one for this CD because Amazon has mixed together the reviews for the stereo and mono releases, which can be misleading to the reader as the content and quality of each is radically different.

The first section of this review is for the MONO CD...
Published on 4 Sep 2011 by XBBX


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long wait but it's definitely worth it!, 10 Sep 2002
By 
Mr C Wheatley (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
As an owner of the previously available CD version it needed something special to persuade me to shell out for the latest offering, despite the extra tracks and remastering.
One listen was enough convince me! The sound is truly superb - crystal clear and just leaps off the CD to invade your space and leave your senses reeling. I was particularly taken with the awesome drumming of Moony - you can almost see him laying into the drumkit. Roger's vocals and John's bass are equally clear and impressive. Shel Talmy has achieved what sounds to me like the perfect mix. Startlingly good!
Two minor gripes - some might find the more restrained Pete Townshend sound takes a bit of getting used to, with his guitar lower in the mix and overdubs missing from a couple of tracks. However this is compensated for by including the original mono versions of "A legal matter" and "My generation" for comparison.
Also, some of the material on the second CD has previously been available and is of variable quality, although some of its belting - the previously unreleased a cappella version of "Anytime you want me" is fantastic.
If you're a Who fan who hasn't heard the 'My Generation' album (or even a non-Who fan!) then this is an absolute must, and for those of you who are already in love with the original, this is still well worth shelling out for - the sound is incredible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a long wait, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Generation (Audio CD)
This review is for the 2012 mono reissue and where it fits into the "Who landscape".

At last we have the original mono mixes!
This sounds exactly the same as my original Brunswick vinyl, minus scratches, so job done there.
Packaging, as others have indicated, is minimal, but the music is what matters most.

This goes some way to redressing the damage done by the 2002 stereo remaster.
(which is still here on my shelves, due to the odd singles, B sides and super packaging)
The yawning gaps & clumsy edits on show here should never have got past "quality control" IMHO.

Couldn't stop myself, sorry, back to the mono CD.

Five star music, four star packaging, three star overall value,
-3 stars because, if you have bought Who LPs & CDs previously, as I have over the years,
you do begin to wonder quite when a definitive edition of anything will ever be delivered!
(three versions of A Quick One, four Tommy's -the list goes on)

I guess, sometime in the future we'll get the combined My Generation stereo/ mono versions bundled into another special pack.
More expense looms!

I won't even try to review this album musically, it was a classic, it always will be.

Perhaps the crucial point for any prospective buyer is, despite the Who's many great albums,
this remains the band at their freshest, bringing their measured mayhem crashing into the 60s scene.
The mono edition is a true reflection of those early days, avoid the stereo edition!

And back to 2012, the usual fast delivery from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good's Gone - But Not Forgotten, 10 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This deluxe edition of the first Long Player by 'The Who' should tantalize the tastebuds of anyone who professes to love Britpop. The simple truth is that without this album The Jam would still be playing working mens clubs and Noel Gallagher and his cohorts would still be standing in the Kipax wondering why Peter Reid had to go.
There is a poignant quality that it should be released now so soon after the untimely death of the greatest English Rock Bass player, John 'The Ox' Entwhistle.
Just in case you need reminding,John transformed the bass guitar into a lead instrument here. There are no less than 3 separate versions of 'My Generation'. Marvel at the musical athleticism of his bass solo on a paired down, backing track version that hardly misses the infamous D-D-D-altrey vocal at all. More striking is the sheer funk he brings to Godfather James Brown covers 'Please, Please,Please','Shout and Shimmy' and 'I don't mind' that were a staple of their live set at that time.
This extended package is also bang on the money as an historical document, conveying as it does a great sense of time and place: 'Swinging London' when time was money and the royalty rates were costed in farthings. If this really is the sound of four socially incompatible young men steering their weary way through a succession of low big city dives, it makes for some great music.
Of course when you record in hours rather than months or years you retain a certain spontaneity, an endearing roughness that is never crude but always energetic. The whole thing bulges with blue beat majesty.
The reputed organised chaos is here in an alternate version of 'Anyway, anyhow, anywhere' where Moon is in a galaxy all of his own but still comes back on a crescendo of feedback to nail a beat as tight as the checks on Daltrey's jacket. Ah yes, Mr Daltrey - sir to me and you - tough as teak with the original cockney blues voice at full throttle and tough enough to make you believe they really do have cotton fields in Shepherds Bush.
The real maestro in the ensemble is of course Pete Townshend...the creative leadership of the group. God he was only 20 when this record was made! As were they all... but consider the perception, the tenderness and the bile he brings to his compositions. Anthem for 'My Generation', 'kids are alright' 'The good's gone' Truth is Townshend really could explain and does so with an inarticulate eloquence that lets you know he thinks feeling is better than thinking.
The guitarplaying featured here is not that of a virtuoso, no Pete is a working man using the tools of his trade and woe betide those 12 strings if they fail him by the end of the night......The informative sleeve has a terrific picture of a deadpan Pete flanked by the casualties of battle, a gallery of Beautiful but wrecked Rickenbackers.
So I tell no la-la-la-lies when I say forget all substitutes -'My Generation' is my album of the year, 1965 and 2002.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 23 April 2005
By 
Lozarithm (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Who's 1st LP, originally released in the UK on Brunswick, one of Decca's group of labels, had been unavailable in the UK for decades, due to a legal matter involving the group's defection to their manager's new Reaction label, and the ownership of the album master tapes by their former producer, Shel Talmy. Thirty-five years later, after they had almost ended up auctioned on E-bay, the 3-track masters were re-mixed by Shel Talmy into true stereo for the first time and eventually released in a lavish 2CD set, overflowing with bonus tracks of unreleased out-takes and alternative versions. It seemed too good to be true, when first announced, but it almost isn't. The stereo sound is incredibly vibrant and powerful and the Who crackle with a raw energy and with a righteous commitment from each to outdo all the others, a clash of ambition and ego which provides glorious results.
There were slight variations between the UK track-list and its US release, The Who Sing My Generation, which came out later. I'm A Man was replaced by a newer recording, Circles, from 1966. This had been recorded as their intended fourth single, but had been abandoned when the band left the label (Brunswick cheekily released it later as the B-side to A Legal Matter, which was lifted off the album; they mistitled it Instant Party). Both items are included on Disc One, which also houses both sides of their first single and the UK B-side of their second (Anyway Anyhow Anywhere), which was the Otis Blackwell song Daddy Rolling Stone, covered first by Jimmy Ricks and the Ravens but known to the Who from a Sue label single by the Jamaican former-Top Note and Raven, Derek Martin. All of these are also mixed in stereo.
Disc Two begins with "additional bonus tracks", the first twelve tracks comprising material unreleased at the time, though some have subsequently appeared on 1980s compilations such as Who's Missing. Exceptions to this include the James Brown song Shout And Shimmy which became the UK B-side to My Generation, and Anytime You Want Me (Garnett Mimms and the Enchanters), unreleased in the UK at the time but found on the US B-side of Anyway Anyhow Anywhere. An a cappella version is also included, as is the instrumental version of My Generation.
It was the practice of the time to include well-known songs on albums and the Who's set was full of R&B, soul and Motown covers, many of which were recorded for their debut album, although Shel Talmy says in the notes that he was admirer of Pete Townshend's writing and would have been happy to include only original material. When early acetates of the sessions went out for review, the paucity of new material was commented on by Beat Instrumental reviewer John Emery, and so the release date was put back while some covers were replaced with Townshend songs: La-La-La-Lies, Much Too Much, It's Not True, A Legal Matter (featuring an early Pete Townshend lead vocal) and The Good's Gone.
The replaced tracks included, as well as those mentioned, Leaving Here (a Motown cover, originally by Eddie Holland), Lubie (Come Back Home) (an adaptation of Paul Revere and the Raider's Louie Go Home), Heat Wave and Motoring (both from Martha and the Vandellas), all collected here. Leaving Here exists in a number of different forms: a 1964 demo appeared on the expanded CD version of Odds And Sods, a version from April 1965 appeared on Who's Missing, and it was also recorded for the BBC's Saturday Club programme the following month (available on The BBC Sessions). The version here is an unknown alternative take from the April 1965 session. Heat Wave was re-recorded for the album A Quick One, copying the arrangement used by the Everly Brothers, whereas its clear from this earlier version that its genesis in the Who cannon was the Motown original.
Instant Party Mixture was recorded at the same time as Circles and was to have been its flipside. Circles was later re-recorded for the Ready Steady Who EP but Instant Party Mixture never saw the light of day until this release.
Full length versions of two of the album tracks follow. Their version of I Don't Mind is considerably adapted from James Brown's original, whether by design or out of necessity for a 3-piece group and a singer, and benefits from the extra minute or so, while what The Good's Gone owes to its inspiration, The Kink's See My Friends, is made much clearer by the guitar on the extended fade. Incidentally, See My Friends and other Kink titles were produced by Shel Talmy on 14 April 1965 at Pye Studios, while the Who were at IBC Studios cutting Anyway Anyhow Anywhere and several tracks for this album with the same producer. He must have been quite busy.
The band's extraordinary second single, Anyway Anyhow Anywhere, is unfortunately not included, but a rare early version with a slightly different title, which was released by accident on a French EP in 1966, takes its place. Apparently it was impossible to include a stereo mix of the released version as the vocal overdubs had been performed directly onto the final mono mix-down, a common practice at the time in order to minimize tape hiss.
This same practice affects the stereo presentation of a number of the album tracks, which are missing those final touches that were added at the mixing stage. These include vital guitar parts and some back-up vocals on My Generation and A Legal Matter, John Entwistle's french horn playing on Circles and vocal overdubs for La-La-La Lies and Much Too Much. This is partially addressed by the final two tracks on Disc Two, which are "monaural versions with guitar overdubs" (the great original mono versions of A Legal Matter and My Generation), and is made up for by the chance to hear these historic tracks in full stereo for the first time.
All of what is found here is so important and so fantastic to hear after all this time, and in such high quality sound, that one really doesn't want to carp. However, it would surely have been a good idea to have the entire original mono album on the second half of Disc One, with its three bonus tracks added to the second disc, along with the original mono version of Anyway Anyhow Anywhere, a top ten hit in the UK after all, and perhaps the Who's Missing version of Leaving Here. Maybe next time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, clear and oh yes in Stereo, 14 Feb 2005
By 
David Mclean (Barking, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Shel Talmy has done a fantatstic job of re-mixing the original master tapes. Normally when old tapes are re-mixed producers tend to mix them using modern digital studio equipment and you end up losing a lot of the original sound.
This sounds like Shel has re-mixed the tapes using authentic 1960's equipment and has pushed the EQ right up to "11".
You feel as if you are sitting right in the middle of the studio.
It sounds like 1965 but oh so much clearer and louder
A fantastic job.
I wish Shel had re-mixed "A quick one" and "Sell out" as their re-mixes sound wishy-washy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THIS is the single disc mono edition, 24 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Generation (Audio CD)
I feel the need to clarify to potential purchasers - that this is the single disc mono edition (at least - thats what i received last week!) - so it is as close to the original as you'll ever get!
I wasnt there in '65 when the needle first hit the vinyl - so it is impossible for me to imagine what an impact this album had on people. For me, its very rudimentary Who. Yes, My Generation is incredible, but a lot of the motown/r&b covers on here, with the passage of time, sound fairly awful and vaguely incompetant. I know i'm offending people, but its just what I hear. I am a HUGE Who fan (honest!!) but this album has never done it for me, so fans of the purple patch 1969-73 - could be dissappointed.
However, the sound is crisp, clear, explosive and mono!!! As it should be. So its an essential part of my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Talking About..." - My Generation by THE WHO (2002 Universal DELUXE EDITION 2CD Remaster), 29 Nov 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
'Explosive Debut' is the kind of buzz phrase that gets bandied about a lot in the Music Industry - as does the tag 'Bad Boys of Rock'. But one look at this group of terribly nice, well-groomed and exquisitely well-mannerly British youths - and you just know you should lock up your virginal daughters and padlock the drinks cabinet. Even now - from the safe distance of nearly 50 years - The Who's debut sounds snotty and wild - like it's going to use a Royal Corgi for bow and arrow target practice. And that's before we even talk about Keith Moon. It's fabulous stuff. Here are the Union Jack Blazers and the Swinging Fa-Fa-Fa-Fade Away Microphones...

Released September 2002 (reissued 2012) - "My Generation" is a 2CD DELUXE EDITION on MCA/Chronicles/Universal 088 112 926-2 (Barcode 008811292621) and breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 - The Original Album in Stereo - 50:23 minutes:
1. Out In The Street
2. I Don't Mind
3. The Good's Gone
4. La-La-La Lies
5. Much Too Much
6. My Generation
7. The Kids Are Alright
8. Please, Please, Please
9. It's Not True
10. I'm A Man
11. A Legal Matter
12. The Ox
13. Circles

The UK album was issued 3 December 1965 in MONO only on Brunswick LAT 8616 (Tracks 1 to 12 above). The American version was released 25 April 1966 entitled "The Who Sings My Generation" on both Decca DL 4664 (Mono) and Decca DL7-4664 (Stereo). To sequence the US STEREO album use tracks 1 to 9 and 11 to 13. Note: only the STEREO mix is provided.

BONUS TRACKS (Stereo)
14. I Can't Explain
15. Bald Headed Woman (14 and 15 are the A&B-sides of a UK 7" single released 15 January 1965 on Brunswick 05926 and USA 7" single released 13 February 1965 on Decca 31725). Both tracks feature THE IVY LEAGUE on Backing Vocals while "I Can't Explain" only features PERRY FORD on Piano and JIMMY PAGE on Guitar.
NICKY HOPKINS plays piano on all tracks except "I Can't Explain"

16. Daddy Rolling Stone (non-album track, B-side to the UK 7" single of "Anyway Anyhow Anywhere" released 21 May 1965 on Brunswick 05935)

Disc 2 ADDITIONAL BONUS TRACKS - 65:23 minutes:
1. Leaving Here (Alternate)
2. Lubie (Come Back Home)
3. Shout And Shimmy (non-album track, B-side to the UK 7" single "My Generation" released 29 October 1965 on Brunswick 05944)
4. (Love Is Like A) Heat Wave
5. Motoring
6. Anytime You Want Me (non-album track, B-side of the US 7" single "Anyway Anyhow Anywhere" released 5 June 1965 on Decca 31801)
7. Anyhow, Anywhere, Anyway (Alternate)
8. Instant Party Mixture
9. I Don't Mind (Full Length Version)
10. The Good's Gone (Full Length Version - 4:30 minutes, original 4:00 minutes)
11. My Generation (Instrumental Version)
12. Anytime You Want Me (A Cappella Version)

MONAURAL VERSIONS WITH GUITAR OVERDUBS
13. A Legal Matter
14. My Generation
Tracks 1 and 8 to 12 are Previously Unreleased, 7 is Previously Unreleased in the USA (only available on a French EP)

The outer plastic slipcase has the track titles on the rear and it houses a four-way foldout digipak with the artwork for the US Decca Records cover on the inner flaps (the British sleeve is used on the front). Beneath each see-through tray are those elusive I.B.C Sound Recording Studios tape boxes dated 13 October 1965 (nice). The oversized 28-page booklet inside the right flap features three histories of what happened - first by MIKE SHAW their first Production Manager - then SHEL TALMY the Producer of the "My Generation" Sessions and finally an appraisal called "About My Generation" by ANDY NEILL. There are a few Decca Adverts for American 45s, great live photos of the band in full microphone swing as well as extensive reissue credits.

But the big news (for British fans in particular) is the STEREO versions - available for the first time in decades after protracted legal hassles (resolved for this reissue). Remixed by Shel Talmy (the original Producer) and Universal's Andy McKaie from the original three-track master tapes - the overall remaster has been carried out by one of Universals most trusted and respected engineers - ERICK LABSON. And what a stonking audio marvel all three have produced. This thing rocks - with the instruments and vocals as clear as you could ever hope for. There's no doubt it might have been smarter (and more accurate) to include the MONO mix of the album - and even the MONO singles surrounding it - but what is here is superb.

The opening treated guitar and growling Roger Daltrey vocals of "Out In The Street" come as something of a shock having heard them in Mono for so long. But it's not until you get to the superb "The Good's Gone" that it all comes together - the fabulous remaster making each instrument stand out in a song that has the real menace of The Who. The Acapella beginning of "Much Too Much" is incredibly clear and then we're hit with the anthem - "My Generation" - and all resistance is futile. What a song - and in truth - it stands head and shoulders above most of the other tracks on the album - I hope you don't die at all mate never get old. Both "The Kids Are Alright" and "It's Not True" show Townshend's double-edged songwriting talent - catchy tunes about social and personal hurt.

Outside of "My Generation" - their wild version of Bo Diddley's "I'm A Man" is a real indication of just how incendiary they could get (even in the studio). The other two covers are both stabs at James Brown - "I Don't Mind" and "Please Please Me" - but in truth they sound like lukewarm filler - or worse - plain out of place. Back to madness with the instrumental finisher "The Ox" - Nicky Hopkins on Piano trying to keep up with the full-speed-ahead drumming of Keith Moon and heavy riffage of Townshend. It's a great way to finish the album and is rightly credited to four composers - Townshend, Moon, Entwistle and Hopkins.

Amongst the unreleased "Leaving Here (Alternate)" shows off Moon's great drumming where the band sound like they've soaking up too many Marvin Gaye Motown singles. For some reason the Alternate take of "Anyway Anyhow Anywhere" is credited as "Anyhow, Anywhere, Anyway" and has a wilder guitar sound (very cool) while the Long version of "The Good's Gone" extends the album cut from 4 minutes to 4 and a half - it's excellent. The unreleased instrumental of "My Generation" has studio chatter "mucking about" and that huge bass run by Entwistle. Even cooler is the Mono version of it that ends Disc 2 - it has extra guitar overdubs that come in over the bass solo - what a blast.

"People try to put us down..." - in the case of The Who - I doubt they're going to succeed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Who's Debut finally re-released!, 10 Sep 2002
After the long wait, its finally here. The remastered version of The Who's My Generation. A Deluxe edition which comes in a nice fold up sleeve and clear slide over cover, all complete with a nice sleevenotes booklet full of pictures
and notes which clearly make this package a bit special. As for the album originally released in 1965, a somewhat great year for music with the Beatles Rubber Soul and the Kinks Kontroversy, this is the sound of the Who as full
mod band, with mowtown, soul and blues being the inspiration here. "The Kids are alright" is an anthem clearly as good as anything the Beatles were writing at that time, and "My Generation" sounds clearer and better than i have
ever heard it before, mono/vinyl purists will probably disagree. The bonus disc is a nice add on, some of these tracks appear on "Who's Missing" and "Odds and Sods" with a couple that don't appear anywhere else on CD.
Its hard to believe that Pete Townshend was in his late teens when this record was released, proving that he really is one of the most talented songwriters in history with the Who being the greatest rock and roll band ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars My Generation - Mono AND Stereo CD Reviews, 4 Sep 2011
This review is from: My Generation (Audio CD)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm going to do two-reviews-in-one for this CD because Amazon has mixed together the reviews for the stereo and mono releases, which can be misleading to the reader as the content and quality of each is radically different.

The first section of this review is for the MONO CD featuring the original 1965 mix, the second part is for the STEREO "Deluxe" CD featuring the modern remix.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Generation. MONO CD, on Polydor/Universal (3716077);

It's astounding to think this is the first time since 1979 that the original 1965 mono mix of the UK release of My Generation has been available on the shelves in UK stores. This original British version of the album first went out of print in the late 1960s due to legal issues with the album's Producer, Shel Talmy. It reappeared for just a couple of years in 1979 as an LP/Cassette on the Virgin Records label, before again completely disappearing from the market. When the CD age arrived in the 1980s the nearest thing offered to us was an American import on MCA titled "The Who Sings My Generation", which was an edited version of the British album with an altered tracklist.

So it should be something of a big deal that we can for the first time in almost 30 years walk into a music shop in the UK and pluck the original British version of The Who's debut album from the shelves.

It should.

But Polydor/Universal don't seem to view it that way, because basically the overall quality of this landmark release is one step up the ladder from the old MCA budget-price CD of "The Who Sings My Generation".

The packaging is some of the most sparse I've seen on a major label CD release for many years. The inlay artwork is simply a two-page fold-over with one page reproducing some 1965 Decca promotional blurb, the other listing the song titles and writing credits. There is nothing about the music, nothing about the history of the album, no recording details and no mastering details,

The rear artwork of the CD attempts to replicate the rear artwork of the original LP release, but in comparison to the original the band photographs look like photocopies and Roger Daltrey finds himself renamed as "Roger Dultrey". There is nothing more than some small text on the rear stating "mono" to suggest this release is different to any other CD version of the album.

The lack of mastering information is an intriguing omission because one could be forgiven for assuming that for this CD Polydor/Universal returned to the orginal mastertapes of the mono mix which they've used on recent Japanese CD remasters. After all, it took the record company over 30 years to finally secure those tapes from Shel Talmy.

But no.

It's been reported on a number of websites that this CD was sourced from a 1980 copy-tape made for a German LP release, which given the relatively low fidelty I can well believe. I compared this disc with the old MCA "The Who Sings My Generation" CD from the 1980s. This new CD is bassier with less top-end definition. To my ears it sounds like the source used here was a lower quality tape than that used for "The Who Sings My Generation".

This disc is louder than the old MCA disc, although surprisingly not by a vast amount. On a very positive note, there's no clipping, harshess, overdone compression or uncomfortable brightness, there's no problem cranking this CD up loud. But I can't help thinking the "Who Sings My Generation" CD remains, from a sonic perspective, the superior of the pair due its better clarity.

I paid £5.00 for this new mono CD on pre-order. It has the sound and appearance of a budget release, and within that context I consider £5.00 a reasonable price. I do though believe Polydor/Universal should at least have made clear on the outer artwork that this disc was sourced from different (and inferior) tapes to all other modern remasters of this title.

Now for the big question. How am I going to rate this CD?

Judging it solely on its own merits as a disc purchased for a budget price, I'll give it a rating of 3 stars out of 5. Had I paid more than £5.00 I'd be inclined, purely on the basis of presentation, to feel a star or two less generous.

Based on the music alone the disc is a solid 4 star purchase, essential for anyone who wants to explore The Who's Mod/R&B roots.

It's important also to remember that this release is currently the *only* way to hear The Who's debut album on CD in its original and complete mono mix outside of a couple of expensive Japanese releases. This is My Generation as it was intended to be heard when it was recorded and mixed in 1965. So despite my sometimes negative tone in the review, that alone should make it worth considering buying.

-------------------------------------------------------------

My Generation, STEREO "Deluxe" CD;

I'll cut to the chase: This is not the same My Generation album which exploded into the mid-sixties music scene with an impact reverberating throughout assorted Mod and Britpop revivals worldwide over subsequent decades until the mid-nineties. That was the original 1965 mono mix.

This Deluxe double-CD edition is very much a modern reinvention of the album. It is a reboot. A rethink. A revisionism. A creature that did not exist before 2002.

So what's the difference?

Firstly. The "original album" presented here is a modern stereo remix. This new mix gives the music quite a different dynamic to the original mono release, despite Shel Talmy being responsible for both mixes.

Secondly. Mr. Talmy felt the need with this modern remix to "enhance" the recording by adding a fake stereo effect to a number of the guitar and vocal parts, as a consequence of which the latter at times has a slight "telephone receiver" quality in comparison to the unprocessed mono original.

Whilst on this topic, Much Too Much really deserves a special mention. It suffers more than any other track on the album from the fake stereo processing, very noticeably so. In comparison to the original mono mix the overall sound is sort of muffled and almost phasey, a downgrade even from the unremastered MCA "The Who Sings My Generation". The mind boggles as to what Mr. Talmy was trying to achieve when remixing this track.

There was no need anyway to be adding fake stereo effects to *any* of these recordings. Some of the material which appears on this album has previously appeared in stereo on the Who's Missing and Two's Missing compilations with no fake stereo effects and sounding perfectly fine, some would say sounding superior to the versions appearing here.

Thirdly. The album is now missing a number of vocal and guitar overdubs which existed on the original mono release. Most noticeably (and disappointingly) the title track itself is missing the latter, which substantially lessens its impact. It's an odd state of affairs when "Deluxe" means you get less of something than you received with an earlier (and by default, inferior) version.

Finally. The Kids Are Alright uses a different vocal take to that found on the original album. It's also worth mentioning that with the stereo remix The Ox is slightly extended and comes to a natural end rather than fading out as was originally the case. I find this newly revealed ending to be something of an anti-climax compared to the original, where the music thundered off into the distance.

Oh, and just one more thing. The guitar seems to have at some points been mixed lower than it was on the original mono album. That's a strange (and annoying) choice for a recording which previously owed a large chunk of its fame to Townshend's brash and upfront guitar style.

So.

What you're getting with this latest My Generation is something very different to the album which existed previously under the same name.

Being a Deluxe edition you of course also get a pile of bonus tracks. These are spread across the end of Disc One and the entirety of Disc Two, and you can probably split them into four groupings;

The Essential: A remix of I Can't Explain (which removes the tambourine and gives the track a much punchier and driving drum sound, very modern, but in a good way). Daddy Rolling Stone (an uptempo soul B-side, maximum R&B),

The Mildly Interesting: Lubie, Heatwave, Motoring, (a collection of covers rejected from the album's originally intended tracklist). Anytime You Want Me (a b-side similar in tone to I Don't Mind). Full length versions of The Good's Gone and I Don't Mind (with some nasty out of tune guitar work revealing why the original fade was needed). Anyway Anyhow Anywhere (not the original single, but an inferior EP version with a different vocal track) .

The Annoyingly Pointless: Bald Headed Woman (a b-side which starts off promisingly with some nicely growling vocals and darkly fuzzed and ominious guitar chords, before descending into a cheesy and cliched quadruple-speed instrumental "rave up"). Shout and Shimmy (a b-side that doesn't seem to do much more than go "Shout! Shimmy! Shout! Shimmy! Wooooah! Shout! Shimmy!" for 3 minutes). Anytime You Want Me (a *vocal only* version. Why?). Instant Party Mixture (a throwaway "comedy" song with the band doing assorted silly voiced comments between verses).

The Odd: Mono mixes of My Generation and A Legal Matter. I call these "odd" because their inclusion only serves to prove just how much better a complete remastered mono mix of this album would have been than the stereo rehash. All the overdubs missing from these same two tracks in stereo on the first disc are present and correct here in their mono form. There's no added modern audio fakery. And the mono sound gives the music an authentic extra punch missing from the stereo mixes. Quite simply these two mono tracks are superior in every way to anything on the stereo remix "original album" of the first disc.

Also included amongst the bonus tracks is Circles, which I wasn't sure where to categorise. Firstly it's (surprise! surprise!) missing an overdub. Secondly it was recorded a number of months after this album was released - and in a different year. Chronologically it would have fitted better on the following album, A Quick One. I suppose it ended up here because it was the band's final Shel Talmy production.

Overall the major annoyance with this release is that there certainly *was* enough space across the two discs to include the complete mono and stereo album mixes on the first disc, with the pick of the best bonus tracks on the second. Instead we were given a stereo Franken-album with a big pile of bonus tracks, a number of which are questionable at best.

But for all its faults there is a positive side to this Deluxe edition. You do for the first time on CD get the original UK tracklist. The previous CD issue followed the altered original US album release, which completely removed I'm A Man, added Circles, and used the single version of The Kids Are Alright (which had it's "pop art" middle section edited out). Also, the CD uses the original (and arguably superior) UK cover artwork.

So, to sum up;

For audio presentation I'm giving this Deluxe set a rating of two stars. It had the potential to be SO much better, to be the ultimate My Generation, to easily be a five star set. Unfortunately, questionable mixing choices and a lack of the album's essential mono mix drag it to the lower end of the scale with great ease. If you were hoping with this release to hear an authentic presentation of the original 1965 album, you're out of luck

That said, if you enjoy early Mod R&B and have never heard the My Generation album you'll probably like this Deluxe edition despite the aforementioned flaws, which unlike a listener used to the original album, you probably wouldn't on the whole notice. And when all is said and done, no matter which version you hear, this IS an essential album from the Mod genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only buy one album this year, make it this one., 24 Sep 2005
Undoubtably, this album represents and captures a time in music that will never be surpassed. The Who contributed greatly to this era with this awesome debut album, and subsequent albums that followed. Listening to these tracks again helps you to rediscover what good music really is. Everyone knows the classic My Generation (is this the first ever punk record?). Some people may also know Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere, with its amazing, and deliberately recorded feedback sound. The Ox is just astounding for its time. It is almost "heavy rock", in 1965!! There have been debut albums over the years from various artists, which help to categorise greatness. This album is one of them. If you only buy one album this year, make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Generation
My Generation by The Who
Buy MP3 Album£7.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews