Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deceived Wisdom
Having first read the Extended Sampler, I now have in my possession the hardback copy of 'Deceived Wisdom' by David Bradley, Science Writer, and it certainly lives up to its description. To both scientists and non-scientists alike, it demystifies those old wives' tales and urban myths, as described, in a scientific and logical manner. Being of retirement age, I...
Published on 17 Nov. 2012 by robertthechemist

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor man's QI
Seems to have been cobbled together after watching a few episodes of QI, only paid 99p on the Kindle daily deal- roughly 99p too much
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 24 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deceived Wisdom: Why What You Thought Was Right Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
This makes a good 'coffee table book' i.e. it is a book you can dip in and out off as the sections are small enough to read in small chunks. The information is interesting, informative but not too technical. A ggod book overall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy but interesting read, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deceived Wisdom: Why What You Thought Was Right Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
This book was a lightweight but interesting read. Some of the 'wrongs' will surprise you.
I didn't realise how ignorant I was! I am wondering how many other things that I thought were
right are actually wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 21 Feb. 2013
By 
Graham Kendall (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deceived Wisdom: Why What You Thought Was Right Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
This book is interesting, as my title indicates, but at times a little plodding. The shorter the section the more entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really liked this book, 16 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deceived Wisdom: Why What You Thought Was Right Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book which I might read again. Amazing amount of BS around these days when there is so much knowledge available with a click
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Another book on similar subjects is Counter Knowledge which is better presented and interesting, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deceived Wisdom: Why What You Thought Was Right Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
A lot of the so-called advice refuting well known and tried solutions did not ring true. Also I found that a lot of the assertions were long winded and did not hold my attention. Another book on similar subjects is Counter Knowledge which is better presented and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 10 Mar. 2013
By 
S. G. Gibson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deceived Wisdom: Why What You Thought Was Right Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
Don't bother........... Glad I didn't pay full price.... merely states the obvious in most cases, and some facts are wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deceived Wisdom: Why What You Thought Was Right Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
A nice little book for a nice little price. I wanted just yo expand my common knowledge and this book did it in a clear and non patronizing way. Interesting and small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much enjoyed reading this, 2 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deceived Wisdom: Why What You Thought Was Right Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
This is the book I've been waiting for! De-bunks all the things that you have been told (and thought were true). Thanks David Bradley!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deceived Wisdom: Why What You Thought Was Right Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
Haven't yet finished it, but am finding it amusing and informative, and full of reminders of my mother's sayings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A stocking filler for my son, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my son (19 and at Uni) he loves the book. Well written, researched and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews