Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deceived Wisdom
Having first read the Extended Sampler, I now have in my possession the hardback copy of 'Deceived Wisdom' by David Bradley, Science Writer, and it certainly lives up to its description. To both scientists and non-scientists alike, it demystifies those old wives' tales and urban myths, as described, in a scientific and logical manner. Being of retirement age, I...
Published on 17 Nov. 2012 by robertthechemist

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor man's QI
Seems to have been cobbled together after watching a few episodes of QI, only paid 99p on the Kindle daily deal- roughly 99p too much
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deceived Wisdom, 17 Nov. 2012
Having first read the Extended Sampler, I now have in my possession the hardback copy of 'Deceived Wisdom' by David Bradley, Science Writer, and it certainly lives up to its description. To both scientists and non-scientists alike, it demystifies those old wives' tales and urban myths, as described, in a scientific and logical manner. Being of retirement age, I encountered many of those myths myself but all ages, from 10 to 100+, will be captivated by his scientific analysis. The hardback copy is beautifully presented in 166 pages and does what it says on the cover. At the end of each topic covered is 'The Science' behind it and a 'Find out more' link reference. On page 156 he quotes Carl Sagan 'There are no forbidden questions in science, no matters too sensitive or delicate to be probed, no sacred truths'. This beautiful quotation really sums up what is in this book and I certainly recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are those 'pearls of wisdom' just fake?, 4 Dec. 2012
Ah, all those snippets of wisdom that we grow up with - information absorbed from your mother, father, granny, school teachers and that fount of all knowledge, `I read somewhere that.' This is information so fundamental that it's on the `everybody knows that' curriculum, but what if it's actually wrong?

David Bradley, a top science writer based in the UK puts a plethora of common misconceptions under his microscope and shows you why the stuff that you thought was right is really rubbish.

Written with a light and humorous touch, reading `Deceived Wisdom' will enable you to shoot down dinner-party bores, win endless quiz shows when Stephen Fry invites you to star in `QI' and generally educate yourself beyond the misinformation doled out in primary and secondary schools (and probably quite a few universities.)

I'd browsed the pre-publication extended sampler and enjoyed it - so my wife bought me the real thing and it's a nicely produced hardback book with even more pearls of real wisdom and knowledge. It's science, it's information, and it's fun! Perfect for Xmas stockings...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intelligent read, 21 Feb. 2013
In an age of often poor Science reporting in the media, how refreshing to have a clear, thorough debunking of popular Science myths. David Bradley's writing is clear, concise and entertaining throughout. As an educator I am on a constant search for engaging texts for students to get hooked into Science. This one fits the bill perfectly.
Roll on Vol II !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Mar. 2013
By 
Ian Divers (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deceived Wisdom: Why What You Thought Was Right Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
It is amazing how you can believe things that you are told because they come from adults or teachers! Many of these pointed out here only require the common sense to see that what we are sometime told can be utter rubbish! This is a very enjoyable book, that should be required reading in every school .... for the teachers especially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good debunking, 16 Dec. 2012
A thorough debunking of various received wisdom, conspiracy theories, misinformation, and myths, written in a very accessible style. I appreciated the supporting references, but would have liked to have seen more citations to the scientific literature than popular websites - but then I'm a journal editor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor man's QI, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deceived Wisdom: Why What You Thought Was Right Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
Seems to have been cobbled together after watching a few episodes of QI, only paid 99p on the Kindle daily deal- roughly 99p too much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debunks old wives tales, 28 Feb. 2013
By 
Pazuzu (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deceived Wisdom: Why What You Thought Was Right Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
Debunks many things that I was told as a child by everyone by family and teachers that are generally regarded as accepted facts.

Thoroughly enjoyable and enlightening read. The familial knowledge chain has now been broken and I will not pass down the 'facts' told to me to my little girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Science for the Twitter generation, 31 Jan. 2013
By 
Mark Hurst (Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deceived Wisdom: Why What You Thought Was Right Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
This slender book may appeal to teenagers with attention deficit disorder but references to it as `popular science' in various reviews will convince only the most credulous. It is the kind of thing Richard Dawkins attacked in Unweaving the Rainbow: Science, Delusion and the Appetite for Wonder as the `debauchery' of science, and there is precious little science on display. It's also very short and written in a self-consciously populist `nudge-nudge, wink-wink' style that grates by the end of the first page. That the substance is offered as links to other people's work on the internet seems ethically questionable; it certainly short-changes those who paid the £11.99 retail rather than the 99p Kindle `Daily Deal'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good for cynics, 21 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deceived Wisdom: Why What You Thought Was Right Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
Well written and not unlike Bad Science. If only it could be more widely read and the masses more educated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and straightforward debunking of myths, 20 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deceived Wisdom: Why What You Thought Was Right Is Wrong (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book, but it's not very long!
Easy to read though, and I would recommend it to put to rest some popular legends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews