Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something brilliant!
Something New, something brilliant! It`s great to see Girls Aloud back on the music scene again with such a fantastic single and there`s all these super remixes included in this package too. Girls Aloud are the best girl group.
Published 21 months ago by LM

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars something new
bought it only because it was for charity -children in need not really up to girls aloud standard but ok
Published 19 months ago by Mrs. Ld Lovell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something brilliant!, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something New (MP3 Download)
Something New, something brilliant! It`s great to see Girls Aloud back on the music scene again with such a fantastic single and there`s all these super remixes included in this package too. Girls Aloud are the best girl group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very strong comeback single with some great remixes, 19 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. D "Mr. D" - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Something New (Audio CD)
This review is for: Something New Girls Aloud (CD Single)

A very strong comeback for Girls Aloud, co-written by band member Nicola Roberts. This is a natural progression sounding how you would imagine "Something Kinda Oooh!" sounding if it had been produced in 2012. The sound is very current with a very big anthemic production. Often singles add remixes that are not essential and only the radio mix gets play, but with Girls Aloud releases the remixes are usually very good. This is no exception, there are some excellent remixes here. The best of them is the Alias Radio Edit which is similar to the single version but emphasises the electronic sound even more, sounding tight and punchy. It is equally as good as the single version. The Jim Eliot Remix brings out the same flavour as Nicola Roberts own "Beat Of My Drum" single for a trendier dance vibe. Fred Falke's mix is a little laid back and drawn out though. Amazon's artwork doesn't show it, but there is a small BBC Children In Need logo in the bottom left corner and on the reverse it says that a minimum of 50p from the sale of this CD single will go to Children In Need.

Amazon's track list is wrong. Here is what is on the CD single:

01) "Something New (Original Mix)" (3:20)
02) "Something New (Jim Eliot Remix)" (3:28)
03) "Something New (The Alias Radio Edit)" (3:18)
04) "Something New (Fred Falke Remix)" (7:01)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're back - and ready to run 'the show' again..., 18 Nov 2012
By 
Alex A.C.M (Chelmsford, Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Something New (MP3 Download)
Finally, after three long years away to pursue solo projects, Britain's five favourite ladies are back! Now celebrating a decade in music since they first appeared in our lives as fresh faced wannabes on 'Popstars: The Rivals', Girls Aloud ring in the sound of celebration with 'Something New', the lead off single from their new greatest hits album, aptly titled 'Ten'.

As bolshy, fun and frenetic as their classics before it - 'Sound of the Underground', 'The Show', 'Love Machine', 'Biology' and 'Something Kinda Ooooh' - it's everything you'd expect of a Girls Aloud comeback single - and then some. Once again it's another dead on the mark collaboration with Brian Higgins and his team at Xenomania, and in much the same way they left their boyband competitors in the shade 10 years ago, so too they do on the songs' addictive holler of 'Go girls, g g go go go/We girls gonna take control/You boys better know know know/we girls gonna run this show'.

There is a certain magic the minute Cheryl, Kimberley, Nicola, Nadine and Sarah get together with Xenomania to craft their finely perfected and very British pop music. And it's testament that 'Something New' proves they've not lost their magic 10 years on. Here's to the next 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Girls Aloud are back!, 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something New (MP3 Download)
Amazon had the lowest price for this maxisingle, even lower than ITunes. Great song and remixes! Watched the girls perform on BBC's Children in Need and had to get the single on the first day of its release. Hopefully, it will be another Number One for Girls Aloud. I hope they stay together :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something New (Audio CD)
i loved this song - i am sad it is the end of Girls Aloud and i am even sadder that this single came in a standard jewel case as opposed to a cardboard sleeve to fit inside the Girls Aloud boxset, but oh well, great song, great mixes, great price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Catchy!, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something New (Audio CD)
I have never been a fan of Girls Aloud. In fact they are barely known here on the continent. But "Something new" made me change my mind a bit and buy this maxi single.
There are four versions of the song. Although the mixes are really good, the best in my opinion is the original version.
Although the song was released in 2012, "Something new" is on my list of the best hits of 2013.
Owe to it, I have listened to the compilation of Girls Aloud's hits and discovered that they indeed have had many hits, not known outside U.K. and Ireland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars disc, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something New (Audio CD)
this item is absolutely fab i love it it is absolutely perfect and arrived well packaged and on time thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 17 Dec 2012
By 
D. Elwin (rocheser) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something New (Audio CD)
Its a great disc love all the tracks ,track three is out of this world ,pity there was not a diferent song on it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!, 10 Dec 2012
This review is from: Something New (MP3 Download)
Such a good song for a comeback!! Catchy song and all for a great cause, well worth it! Go Girls Aloud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars something new, 15 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. Ld Lovell "nennypenny" (wiltshire,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something New (Audio CD)
bought it only because it was for charity -children in need not really up to girls aloud standard but ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Something New
Something New by Girls Aloud
Buy MP3 AlbumŁ1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews