Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read
Can't wait for the next one in the series. Well written and absorbing story line. All the characters seem to come alive.
Published 14 months ago by mark stevens

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing
I was a little disappointed with this novel. Basic premise of political/crime thriller appeared promising but I felt some plotlines were a bit obvious and cliched. Relationships were sometimes unconvincing. One of the characters, Jeremy Labelle, became, on a few occasions, Jeffrey Labelle. Sorry, this is just sloppy editing.
Published 16 months ago by thevanmann


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When a Red Light Shines (DCI Jack Edgerton series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I was a little disappointed with this novel. Basic premise of political/crime thriller appeared promising but I felt some plotlines were a bit obvious and cliched. Relationships were sometimes unconvincing. One of the characters, Jeremy Labelle, became, on a few occasions, Jeffrey Labelle. Sorry, this is just sloppy editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 23 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When a Red Light Shines (DCI Jack Edgerton series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I found it hard to get through this book only sheer determination kept me going . I hate giving up on a book .
The story was long winded and a bit disjointed . Not really exciting enough to keep me turning the pages. I don't think I would struggle through the second book unless it was much better written than this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When a Red Light Shines (DCI Jack Edgerton series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Can't wait for the next one in the series. Well written and absorbing story line. All the characters seem to come alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unconvincing, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When a Red Light Shines (DCI Jack Edgerton series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book failed on a number of reasons. The writing is not brilliant but some of this could be put down to the editing process. The main issues for me centre around the characterisation. Many of the characters are unconvincing and are stereotypes of what the author thinks they should be. The macho detectives; hard drinking and full of bravado; the glamorous female junior detective who becomes, quite improperly, the girl friend of the divorced senior detective. (Probably a sackable offence.) The good and bad politicians with assorted drink problems etc etc etc.

As the plot unravels, the main villain simply rolls over when the police arrest him..."I have been waiting for you...' he says as they burst into his house. This despite him having killed several people. Very strange...

I will not be reading any more in the series; sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quite a good story let down by poor writing., 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When a Red Light Shines (DCI Jack Edgerton series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I wish I had paid more attention at the start of this book. When a plot line is set in "Constitutional Hill" at the top of the first page, you have to wonder what else might be coming! Cold weather described as "artic conditions", a character "dosing off to sleep", and seven people hailing three London cabs (you would only need two)but in the next line "plodding through the snow" to their destination are just a few of the irritations.

I agree with Lucky Luke's comments that the awful, stilted language used between characters detracts hugely from the flow of the story - which is a great shame. The concept behind the book is decent - it just needed to be better told.

I do not think I will be reading part two any time soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful prose spoils a decent story, 9 Oct. 2013
By 
Lucky Luke (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When a Red Light Shines (DCI Jack Edgerton series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Corruption at the heart of the British establishment, the Russian mafia and a determined detective form the basis of a potentially exciting crime thriller. Unfortunately, it reads as though it has been written by an 11-year boy....

The prose and grammar are so basic and stereotypical that it drove me crazy - you can see what is coming at the end anyone, so I didn't bother to read past about 60% on the Kindle.

Will not be looking out for Part 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When a Red Light Shines (DCI Jack Edgerton series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was my first David Wilson novel, I hope it will not be my last. Very good story line, my only distraction was the behavour of the lead character was a bit OTT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When a Red Light Shines, 21 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When a Red Light Shines (DCI Jack Edgerton series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book,look forward to further cases from this team.Story flowed well with no extraneous detail. Look forward to more of this team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent crime debut with a contemorary theme, 4 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When a Red Light Shines (DCI Jack Edgerton series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This debut crime novel has a great contemporary theme, a protagonist who is bound to endure, and a strong sense of setting. Don't be deceived by the gradual build up. This is on slow burn, and when it catches fire there are bodies, and twists, and turns aplenty. The police procedural element is very strong, as you'd expect from a former police officer who served with both The Met', and Greater Manchester Police. Looking forward to reading the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When a Red Light Shines (DCI Jack Edgerton series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews