Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accelerated Learning
This book is true to its title. It really does take you from zero to having your own website up and running.

What I like about it is that it assumes that although I am ignorant about WordPress, I am actually a reasonably intelligent person familiar with using a PC and modern software packages.

This means it does not insist on reproducing every...
Published 13 months ago by GreenSpangle

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good
Didn't find the basic instructions useful or correct. On following his recommendations on sites to set up name & hosting, I didn't find the instructions from there on to be correct, & had to use technical help to progress.
Published 20 months ago by Alan Gwynant


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars verbose and slow, badly produced., 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an unbelievably badly produced book, with no chapter numbers let alone running headers, no clear page breaks between what passes for chapters. This book is printed in black and white on low grade paper - the text often refers to examples in colour, not at all helpful when there is no colour. However, once you get past the first fifty pages telling you how to start with Wordpress, it does contain some useful advice, so possible for use as a secondary text.

Much better would be to go on a face to face course to learn about Wordpress and its buzzwords like themes and plugins and pages, and then to get to know other Wordpress users to share experience. In the end it seems only personal experience works, at least that is how I am now learning to use Wordpress.

I do not recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very clear explanations., 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wordpress for Beginners: A Visual Step-by-Step Guide to Creating your Own Wordpress Site in Record Time, Starting from Zero! (Webmaster Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book if you know nothing at all about setting up a website. Very easy to follow although I got a little lost a couple of times. Had no idea what I was capable of achieving on Wordpress. I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I'm sure this is a useful book for those setting up their OWN site via ..., 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wordpress for Beginners: A Visual Step-by-Step Guide to Creating your Own Wordpress Site in Record Time, Starting from Zero! (Webmaster Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I'm sure this is a useful book for those setting up their OWN site via WordPress.ORG, but if you are setting up a site using WordPress.COM - their free or low-cost sites - then there is nothing for you here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must purchase, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has helped me out so much. I feel much more confident with WordPress and designing my own website. I love the easy read and flow of the book and the screen shots are a great help!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing in the book which cant be found for free ..., 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wordpress for Beginners: A Visual Step-by-Step Guide to Creating your Own Wordpress Site in Record Time, Starting from Zero! (Webmaster Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Nothing in the book which cant be found for free elsewhere. The convenience factor of having it collated in one book makes this an okay purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Has been re-published twice in less than ONE YEAR. ..., 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Has been re-published twice in less than ONE YEAR. links were not clear.
Was not step by step.
Have contacted Dr Andy Williams, wont take blame for links not working, just after money, avoid this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wordpress.....explained, 17 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wordpress for Beginners: A Visual Step-by-Step Guide to Creating your Own Wordpress Site in Record Time, Starting from Zero! (Webmaster Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Goodly explanation of quite a process. Worth a read if you are seeking a website building system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wordpress for Beginners: A Visual Step-by-Step Guide to Creating your Own Wordpress Site in Record Time, Starting from Zero! (Webmaster Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Very good book to wirk through to get a WordPress web site up and running.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 14 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Disappointed in the extreme. As an absolute beginner to WordPress, but someone with a hopefuly organised mind, I wanted something with a carefully incremental approach, but also a reference for when things don't work first time. No index!?!? I was constantly lost as to where to look for things, and when I did find what I was looking for, it was not clear whether it was the main focus or not. Will be looking elsewhere for a more structured presentation and more professional layout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent Product, Very Fast Delivery, 5 Star Service, Many Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews