Customer Reviews


595 Reviews
5 star:
 (443)
4 star:
 (113)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly outstanding book xxx
Home Front Girls tells the story of three girls brought together during the war. Dotty hasn't known a life outside of the orphanage she grew up in, while Lucy is the head of her house after her brother is called to fight in the war, leaving Lucy not only to take care of her younger sister but to support the family financially too. In contrast, Annabelle has lead a much...
Published 22 months ago by Megan ReadingInTheSunshine

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Home front girls
Really enjoyed reading this book.Will be looking for more books by rosie goodwin.the writing brought all the characters to life
Published 18 months ago by marian rimmer m.rimmer


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly outstanding book xxx, 17 May 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Home Front Girls (Hardcover)
Home Front Girls tells the story of three girls brought together during the war. Dotty hasn't known a life outside of the orphanage she grew up in, while Lucy is the head of her house after her brother is called to fight in the war, leaving Lucy not only to take care of her younger sister but to support the family financially too. In contrast, Annabelle has lead a much more privileged life than Dotty or Lucy. But with the war coming, these three girls find themselves starting work at a department store, Owen Owen, and learning just how valuable support and friendship is in times of war.

I thouroughly enjoyed Home Front Girls! I started this on a morning and I was instantly taken in by the three girls and their situations. I became so involved in their stories and what they were going through that I raced through the book because I was constantly wanting to know what would happen next to the girls, what information would be discovered and what choices they would make.

The three girls were so very well-written, even though they each had different personalities it was easy to get to know them, and in only a short time I felt as though I had known these girls for my whole life. They were so realistic, their situations were real and the setting was so life-like that at times I felt as though I had been transported back in time and was standing in Owen Owen with them watching the scenes involved in front of me. I didn't have a favourite out of the three girls as I liked each character fir different reasons. I particularly liked learning about their background stories, their fears, their hopes, and the men they spoke about who were away with the war.

My favourite part about Home Front Girls was the friendship between Dotty, Lucy and Annabelle. I liked that at first they were strangers to each other, but as they each started their jobs and the war grew closer, that they turned to each other for support, friendship and company. I enjoyed reading about their time together and watching the bond between them grow and strengthen as time went on. I loved that they looked out for each other, that they were strong for each other and that they went ahead in life together and united.

The descriptions and the setting were outstanding. Rosie Goodwin really brought to life the reality of living through war and how it affected not only the physical surroundings but the lives of the people living there too. The scenes about what was happening in Coventry were very emotional and heart-breaking, and I really felt for the characters in the book, I wanted to reach out to them all. As I became more emotionally involved in the scenes I had a stringer desire to read on as I genuinely cared about the characters and I wanted to know what would happen to them.

Home Front Girls is a gripping, moving and emotional story of war and the devastating effects it has on a community and the real people that had to face life and do their best to get through it together. It is compelling to read as the story explores war, love, family, secrets, tragedy, hopes and fears. But in particular, Home Front Girls focuses on three girls who form an unlikely friendship and the incredible bond between them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rosie Goodwin does it again.., 29 May 2013
By 
Petra "I love to read" "book addict!!!" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Front Girls (Kindle Edition)
Home Front Girls by Rosie Goodwin for me was a brilliant read as not only was it well written throughout, mix the writing with a brilliant storyline along with fantastic characters this truly was one page turner for me which I could not stop reading until I reached the last page.
Annabelle, Lucy and Dorothy who is known as the very lovely Dotty all start work in a department store Owen and Owen on the same day just as Second World war is declared. These three girls are as different to each other as chalk is to cheese but as they learn to cope with the trials of war they grow close their lives become entwined in the most unexpected ways, as the girls stick together through thick and thin Coventry is demolished by Germany's bombs leaving nothing but devastation and death throughout. But not only do these girls have friendship in common they each have their secrets and as these unravel we follow the girls learning to accept the many changes which are affecting their lives on a daily business.
Why I loved this book so much was mainly the characters which the author lovingly created and developed by brilliant writing along with a beautiful gift of storytelling. The characters were so real and I could not stop caring for them as how their lives entwined with each other's they each have to grow and some of them have more growing up to do than others and their lives will never be the same again.
The actual storyline was made very real and I could believe how each of the girls turned out the way they did and they were made so real I could see how their lives would have existed all those years ago and the cruelty of the war really held no prejudice against young or old as the bombs stole lives of all ages and all in the name of one man's love of power and riches. This was not the only prejudices which were not held as secrets became known the friends and families accepted the secrets and let nothing destroy their love for each other and their support for each other never wavered throughout. The author when she was showing how the war affected these girls through her words showed how this generation give so much up for peace and what they truly suffered in a not only daily business but at night when the bombs rained down upon them. Throughout this book the true face of war is shown and made very real by very descriptive writing.
Rosie Goodwin fully understands her characters and allows them to grow naturally instead of forcing issues which is a thing other authors can be guilty of. One more thing I do love about her as an author is that her knowledge of historical detail is made totally evident throughout the pages of this best seller. If you like to read books of historical fiction especially around the era of the Second World War make sure you read this one as I promise you, you will not be disappointed the only thing you will desire is more reading material written by this author who is blessed with a wonderful gift of storytelling.
The Home front Girls by Rosie Goodwin is one book I would recommend to anyone who not only likes a book which has a brilliant storyline but one which is filled with real characters who touched my heart and mind throughout each page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shopping for a life during war, 19 May 2013
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Home Front Girls (Hardcover)
It is always worth remembering that those left behind during the Second World War were fighting their own wars. Wars on the home front as well as personal wars and in Rosie Goodwin's new book, this is very much the case for the three main characters.

The most privileged and snobby of girls that you may ever wish to meet is Annabelle, who has had everything and suddenly the war changes that and rather than wait for it to be delivered to her she is going to have to go out and work for it and work hard for it in very trying circumstances. She finds some resolve from deep inside her.

Lucy is trying to hold a family together. She has a sister who is socially awkward and a brother in the army. With no parents, she is very reluctant to ask for help and it is only through kindly neighbours and her friends that she can start to forge a life for herself. Sadly though, the past is still with her and she cannot shake it off. But comfort can be found in many different ways.

Dotty has nothing to lose, as she starts out in the world of work. She had nothing to start off with. An orphan girl who spent all her youth in a orphanage is very much aware of surviving whatever is thrown at you. But her skill as a storyteller and the imagination she retreats into opens doors for her that would perhaps have otherwise remained firmly closed. But some doors are opened to reveal the past and what she once knew is changed.

These three girls strike up an unlikely friendship as they begin to work at the department store Owen Owen in Coventry. And whilst, Annabelle groans about the lack of silk stockings and the fact she has to carry her gas mask everywhere, Lucy is worried about her brother in the army and the news from the front and Dotty is rather shy and unsure of herself and the outside world. War begins to have a very hard effect on the city of Coventry.

When the department store they work in is bombed and nothing remains, the girls have to start again and this time, they all forge different paths whilst trying to maintain their friendship. They need their friendship, it is this that is going to get them through some very dark days of the war as well as the dark days of the past as everything is shaken up and settles in very different ways for all of them.

This is an enchanting book which had me absorbed from the beginning, the way the department store setting brought the girls together and it was some time before the war really started to effect them. If you know your history you will know that Coventry suffered one of the most severe raids of the Second World War. Reading the book I knew where this was building up to and I had no idea of the devastating effect it would have on the city, the three main characters and also the storyline as well as me the reader. Rosie Goodwin captured the raid well and brought it emotionally to life for me. This was a book where I could see where the author could take us, and at points she did go there but there was a lot of unexpected occurrences and events and I enjoyed the book much for it.

Good characters, good setting, good writing, a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once upon a time..., 20 April 2013
This review is from: Home Front Girls (Hardcover)
Excellent read which shows how people of all classes were affected by War and the unlikeliest relationships that were forged, Rosie at her best with startling realism and lots of heart ache and love, brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thank you, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Front Girls (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend this book to a friend and also the speed it went to my kindle thank you very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home front girls enjoyed, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Front Girls (Kindle Edition)
The book is by one of my favourite authors and I enjoy historical. Novels. The characters are interesting and believable and the story engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantistic book from Rosie Goodwin, 27 May 2013
By 
Miss J. Hunt (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Front Girls (Kindle Edition)
From the first page you are gripped. Living in Coventry and knowing the Owen Owen store very well brings this story all the more to life. Would recommend this to anyone especially if you have never read another book by Rosie Goodwin before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Front Girls (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant read cant wait to read another of her books, you really feelas though you are going through the war years with them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 26 May 2013
By 
M. Lenehan (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Front Girls (Kindle Edition)
As I live in Coventry I was very interested in reading this book, its very interesting. Tells of 3 girls working in Owen Owen during the war years and how their lives panned out. It keeps you interested all the way through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Front Girls (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book and couldn't wait for any spare time in the day or night to pick it up to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Home Front Girls
Home Front Girls by Rosie Goodwin
£4.27
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews