Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Death of Yesterday
An employee of a clothing factory at Cnothan disappears. She has reported to Hamish Macbeth that she cannot remember anything about an evening she spent in a pub and believes her drink was spiked. Even though Hamish hadn't particularly liked the woman he has to take notice when she disappears especially when the only possible witness has also disappeared as well...
Published 18 months ago by Damaskcat

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, and happy to buy the book, but
..I wasn't sure how well written this was. The sentences were short and not as usually descriptive I thought, as if an over zealous editor, edited too much leaving the bare bones.
Good enough yarn, but not the greatest book in the series.
I love Hamish, I really do, but there was something missing. The usual characters were mentioned,but didn't really come to...
Published 18 months ago by Cordelia


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, and happy to buy the book, but, 3 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of Yesterday (Hamish Macbeth) (Kindle Edition)
..I wasn't sure how well written this was. The sentences were short and not as usually descriptive I thought, as if an over zealous editor, edited too much leaving the bare bones.
Good enough yarn, but not the greatest book in the series.
I love Hamish, I really do, but there was something missing. The usual characters were mentioned,but didn't really come to life. It may be me of course.

Just read M CBeatons, newest very short story featuring Agatha Raisin, and that was surprisingly good, very short, but well written ( not the Christmas pudding one, off point I know, but worth a mention )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was so pleased when I discovered the Hamish Macbeth series and have enjoyed following Hamish's adventures but the last couple of books in the series have been disappointing. I've realised that there's a similar plot to most of them and if you are a regular reader you'll know how the last couple of chapters will pan out. Hamish's love life is also becoming boring and if he ever does settle down it will take some convincing that he's found true love at last because he just seems attach himself to whoever is convenient at the time. M C Beaton is still a great writer and there are glimpses of this in her descriptions of the highlands but I'm afraid this series needs a bit of a shake up for it to get back to the level of the first stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars death of yesterday, 22 Jun 2013
By 
S. J. Ross (london, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i found that this book was not one of m.c.beaton's best. the plot was a bit weak, the characters did not seem to gel as easily together as the usually do in her books and the romances between Priscilla and Elspeth were just that little bit too contrived
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read for fans, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of Yesterday (Hamish Macbeth) (Kindle Edition)
Another enjoyable HMcB book. Have to say Ms Beatons huge output across a number of genres is beginning to take its toll on the standard and the ending was simply ludicrous. Not sure I will bother again. Shame because I've enjoyed her work on this highland setting until now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Past its prime, 7 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of Yesterday (Hamish Macbeth) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the early books of the series very much. But have to admit that the quality of these later ones is not what it was. The series is in my opinion dying by inches, as quality is sacrificed for quantity.
Why cant he finaly get together with Pricilla and give us a credible ending before he draws his pension and becomes as unlikly as Dixon of Dock Green.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of Yesterday (Hamish Macbeth) (Kindle Edition)
I'm not sure if I've read too many of this back to back or not but I did not find this or the previous book (Death Of A Kingfisher) as good as the others. The plot is still convoluted but not as subtle so instead of being kept guessing till the end it was all a bit obvious. I also felt the sly humour was lacking as Hamish gets grumpier and more self absorbed. It's still a good read but like Angela's scones it lacks a lightness of touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Death of Yesterday, 1 Mar 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of Yesterday (Hamish Macbeth) (Kindle Edition)
An employee of a clothing factory at Cnothan disappears. She has reported to Hamish Macbeth that she cannot remember anything about an evening she spent in a pub and believes her drink was spiked. Even though Hamish hadn't particularly liked the woman he has to take notice when she disappears especially when the only possible witness has also disappeared as well.

Plagued by his superiors who do not want to upset their friends Hamish finds his investigations blocked at every turn and he is soon excluded from the investigation when two bodies turn up. Then he has a misguided idea to take the sister of a suspect out for a meal and he may just have made a mistake which will cost him his job.

I enjoyed this many stranded mystery and totally failed to work out who the murderer was. I felt it did flag a little in the middle and there were a few places where I thought the writing could have been better but it was still an enjoyable read and the series characters are always interesting. This is a must read for Hamish Macbeth fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another to add to my collection, 13 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mrs Chesney never lets you down. Her inexhaustible supply of situations for poo old Hamish Macbeth is just amazing. I do hope she doesn't 'kill' him off for ages as I like to think of him as being the same age forever !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good to go back to the highlands, pleasant evening spent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a corker of a story, 26 Jun 2014
Yet again M C Beaton has come up with another corker. I find it so hard to put her books down. Just can't wait for the next one to come out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews