Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple solution for a simple problem
There appear to be basically only two plain S/PDIF to analogue converters available, which is a little surprising: this one, listed (based on the identical product pictures) tens of different time on Amazon by different suppliers, and one other type at four times the price. I went for this one.

It mostly does the job. Sound quality is good and stable as...
Published 20 months ago by J

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disapointed
This unit does what I wanted the sound is fine the problem I have is that with the sound turned up on the TV There is an echo and if I turn the TV down the sound is out of sync with the picture. It should be OK for listening to CDs
Published 10 months ago by Barley


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple solution for a simple problem, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: eSynic« Digital Optical Coaxial Toslink to Analog Stereo RCA Audio Converter - Digital to Analogue Audio Converter PS3 XBox 360 HDTV Blu RAY DVD Sky HD Apple TV with UK Plug Power Adapter (Electronics)
There appear to be basically only two plain S/PDIF to analogue converters available, which is a little surprising: this one, listed (based on the identical product pictures) tens of different time on Amazon by different suppliers, and one other type at four times the price. I went for this one.

It mostly does the job. Sound quality is good and stable as expected. The provided leaflet gives power consumption as max 0.5W, so should cost at most 70p per year if left permanently turned on. Small and unobtrusive (except I guess possibly for the red power LED which could be taped over if desired).

A slight irritation is that when the S/PDIF source is turned off or unplugged (but the analogue output left connected and the device left turned on), it suddenly starts emitting a noticeable amount of noise - not too loud but loud enough to be annoying. So the device itself or the amp must be turned off too when the input is turned off, or the amp muted.

(It also takes an extra power socket of course. Ideally my amp would have S/PDIF in, or the source would have analogue out, but since they don't this is my only choice and it does work.)

Edit: the sound is a bit quiet though - the amp has to be kept turned up almost to maximum, whereas half way is loud enough for any other source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: eSynic« Digital Optical Coaxial Toslink to Analog Stereo RCA Audio Converter - Digital to Analogue Audio Converter PS3 XBox 360 HDTV Blu RAY DVD Sky HD Apple TV with UK Plug Power Adapter (Electronics)
This was bought to allow use of my Apple TV with my existing HiFi.
It works nicely with the optical output of the Apple unit, and
was inexpensive. Well made, with an electrically safe power adapter,
it has extended the usefulness of two systems for very little outlay.
It was delivered quickly and was carefully packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great PS4 fix, 20 Dec 2013
By 
L. Waldron "wheelybin" (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: eSynic« Digital Optical Coaxial Toslink to Analog Stereo RCA Audio Converter - Digital to Analogue Audio Converter PS3 XBox 360 HDTV Blu RAY DVD Sky HD Apple TV with UK Plug Power Adapter (Electronics)
I bought a PS4, which other than HDMI only has optical output, my amp has phono inputs so I was hunting around for a fix. This small piece of kit works perfectly... optical in and phono out, so fixes my problem and with excellent audio properties, no hiss or background noise. Would recommend to anyone with a similar issue, especially as it comes with a power supply... so the only thing you'll need is an optical cable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product did exactly as required, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: eSynic« Digital Optical Coaxial Toslink to Analog Stereo RCA Audio Converter - Digital to Analogue Audio Converter PS3 XBox 360 HDTV Blu RAY DVD Sky HD Apple TV with UK Plug Power Adapter (Electronics)
The item was delivered very quickly and is of excellent cobstruction. It came well packaged with power supply and manual.
I connected it up to my TV with an optical Toslink lead and then the analogue output I connected to my old amp. The sound was superb. I am no purist but the quality was as good as it is from any of my other components connected to the amp.

I have only used it once and found a music programme on BBC iplayer to test with and the sound was great. I will use some MP3 tracks next plugged into the USB slot on the TV to see what these sound like. I have no doubts they will sound fine.

I did turn the sound down on the TV so that the speakers from the TV did not interefere with the sound output from the speakers connected to the amp.

Highly recommend product and it was a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Headphones, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: eSynic« Digital Optical Coaxial Toslink to Analog Stereo RCA Audio Converter - Digital to Analogue Audio Converter PS3 XBox 360 HDTV Blu RAY DVD Sky HD Apple TV with UK Plug Power Adapter (Electronics)
All people that are buying this for the chance to use a tv that has no dedicated headphone socket and audio out please be rest assured that this item should work fine as it did for me.
1.You will need this item
2.Then a toslink to toslink digital audio cable - http://www.amazon.co.uk/Optical-Cable-Toslink-1M/dp/B00077DC5Q/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1365615080&sr=8-6&keywords=toslink+cable
3.Rca Red&white male with 3.5mm female jack - http://www.amazon.co.uk/3-5mm-Stereo-Socket-Phono-Plugs/dp/B0009N1MV4/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1365615185&sr=1-2&keywords=rca+to+3.5mm
4.please be aware normally you will plug headphones into a 3.5mm jack and it will cut the sound off, this wont so you will need to mute the tv or turn the tv speaker off in the menu as the sound will instantly come out of the headphones as well as the tv, and i think ive read the the digital audio out,somewhere in the tv menu needs to be set to PCM which it usually is,if its dolby sound then this item may not work and more research will need to be done by yourself.

5. So the devices needs to be connected to the toslink cable and then to the tv,red/white rca cables plug into the unit and then the headphones, or in my case the wireless headphone reciever into the female socket and thats it.
Also please note that the volume CAN NOT be increased through the headphones, unless the headphones have a dedicated volume control as the volume on your tv will just turn the tv up.
I am very happy with this device and it serves my purpose for what i wanted it for.
PERFECT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5.1 converter BEAST, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect product if your not willing to pay through the nose for an optical 5.1. Digital to analogue is perfect works 100% to spec amazing for xbox 5.1 tv 5.1 and films. 3 optical ports one aux port got a surround sound system for under 100 pound and its better than one priced at 200. highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Great with XBOX One and Logitech Z506, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have a Logitech Z506. I use this with my Xbox One connected direct via optical and also tested it via a Samsung 46 F5000. This works great.

Look a little time to get the 3.5mm jacks in the correct holes but with a little trail and error it works fine.

Also remember to press the "2.1/5.1" button to swap from 2.1 to 5.1 sound. Some people have complained it does not do 5.1 due to forgetting this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap 5.1, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been looking to have a full 5.1 set up for movies and games consoles for a while now but did not want the expense of having to purchase a AV receiver and extra speakers. Using this item along with an optical cable and then connecting the unit via R&W phono to 3.5 mm jack lead to my creative 5.1 PC speaker has done the job perfectly. I now have both PS3 and XBOX (both Blu Rays and games) in full surround sound. Cannot fault it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good product, bit light on instructions / troubleshooting, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: eSynic« Digital Optical Coaxial Toslink to Analog Stereo RCA Audio Converter - Digital to Analogue Audio Converter PS3 XBox 360 HDTV Blu RAY DVD Sky HD Apple TV with UK Plug Power Adapter (Electronics)
So after reading the reviews I bought this as new 'smart' TV only had a digital out and wanted to connect to my analogue amplifier which has terrific sound output. Plugged it all together then couldn't get any sound from the amp. Could hear the hiss meaning it was recognised but something seemed to be blocking the transmission of the signal.
After reading another review which mentioned enabling PCM I checked out the sound settings of the TV. As soon as I set the output to PCM the sound came flooding out, nearly knocked me over!
Great product at a great price, instructions could have mentioned the PCM switch as this is clearly something that needs to be considered so taking a star away for that.

cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant item, very well made and great sound quality, 5 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: eSynic« Digital Optical Coaxial Toslink to Analog Stereo RCA Audio Converter - Digital to Analogue Audio Converter PS3 XBox 360 HDTV Blu RAY DVD Sky HD Apple TV with UK Plug Power Adapter (Electronics)
This handy little gadget combined with a Toslink cable (optical) and an RCA plugs to 3.5mm audio phono adapter lead enables one to connect a wireless headphone receiver etc without muting the TV speakers, excellent if someone in your household is hard of hearing and you still want to hear the TV's normal speakers at the same time.

Bought all three items from Amazon for just under 16 pounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews