Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
277
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2013
Can't say this was a very funny film, black humour or otherwise, although I would'nt find it hard to believe there are people like Chris & Tina out there. It got tiresome and predictable too, even the ending which became pretty obvious once you cottoned onto the change in Tina. A couple of chuckle moments but certainly not worthy of the lavish praise from reviews here from Joe Public or Amazon's own. I thought The Cottage (in a similar black humour guts and gore style) was funnier if you want to compare the British genre. However, I'd be interested to see Kill List by the same producer.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 April 2013
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Anyone with fond memories of 'Nuts in May' will soon despair at this. We have a know-it-all bore and an innocent, but it doesn't take long to tire of both of them. This disappointment is presaged by a weak opening scene reminiscent of the farewell to Mrs Fussy in Carry on Camping (but dull and dour) and the agony increaes as each vignette has only just begun when its ending can be surmised - and the script is too weak to save it. Perhaps the budget was tight, and having lumbered us with two main characters of no discernible charm or sense of humour it wasn't possible to adjust them. An unlikeable film which totally failed to live up to the promise of the opening map sequence under the titles(hence two stars instead of one).
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
Thank you for the prompt and efficient delivery of this dvd film. This film is very rude and disturbing but also very funny. I would recommend it to my relatives and friends so that they can have a laugh. Jo
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
I had never heard of this film when a friend lent me a copy. After watching, I bought my own copy. It's a brilliant film. The 'off the wall' couple embark on a tour of Yorkshire and deal with situations and people they come across in a very unique way. The ending is both shocking and funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2016
PLOT...
Chris wants to show girlfriend Tina his world, but events soon conspire against the couple and their dream caravan holiday takes a very wrong turn.

This is an overrated average comedy that's maybe worthy of watching once, its a dark, dark bleak blackest of comedies in years but its mind numbingly boring after a while, like me you will probably skip the last 2 chapters and miss nothing as the characters resolve in a pointless ending, the movie has its moments where you will chuckle a little and there are a few bloody kill scenes but it don't save the movie from being soooo boring, if you must watch it you probably wont want to see it again, I only paid a pound for it and I'm glad I did. The cast is forgettable as are the characters, some of the soundtrack was ok, they must have paid off the reviewers to sell this movie.

Features include audio commentaries, and a few behind the scenes stuff.
Running time 85-mins, 2012
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
For the past few years I have had a creeping suspicion that Britain is just not funny anymore. Watch TV and you will struggle to find a decent sitcom, radio comedy is almost dead and there aren't that many stand-ups who are actually funny. All too often bad taste, bad language or crudity is used as a cheap way to get a laugh because the protagonists haven't a clue how to get one otherwise. That Sightseers is described as the funniest British film of the year is a clear indication that British film comedy could also be going the same way.

Don't get me wrong, I quite enjoyed Sightseers and found it quite amusing, though rarely funny. It's just that I can't imagine watching it over and over again like I have done with many British comedy films in the past.

Sightseers is a black comedy and the comedy is very black indeed, the humour being generated by the male leads bad habit of murdering everybody that rubs him up the wrong way. Anybody that has ever watched The Ladykillers or Kind Hearts and Coronets will recognise that murder is not a subject that the British film industry has ever shied away from making fun of, but for it to work best it has to be done with charm (think of Dennis Price in Kind Hearts or the whole clueless mob in The Ladykillers). Unfortunately neither the murderer nor his girlfriend in Sightseers possesses an ounce of charm; this means that the murders become nasty and consequently not very funny.

This is not a bad film but surely British film-makers will have to buck up their ideas if this is judged to have been the best of 2012.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
I was soo looking forward to see this movie. The trailer looked great at the time, the reviews were great too... What a downer: It's not funny and it's sick. I do get black humour but this is just crazy twisted.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 November 2015
Ben Wheatley’s dark comedy appears to be a film which people either love or loathe and I am most definitely in the love camp. The deadpan macabre humour combined with mundane characters and circumstances make for a grimly entertaining movie where repressed anger results in some gloriously gruesome encounters. Chris and Tina are a working class couple from Birmingham whose caravan road trip provides a vehicle for the expression of the darker side of their characters. The film has a feel of Mike Leigh’s brilliant 1970s television film Nuts in May as we visit campsites and tourist locations in Derbyshire, Yorkshire and Cumbria. Chris is a frustrated ginger faced man who you certainly don’t want to cross while Tina’s mild mannered demeanour hides a smouldering psychotic temper. Steve Oram and Alice Lowe are just brilliant as these Black Country Born Killers with their penchant for pot-pourri, knitted garments and murdering people who they have taken a dislike to. I loved the reference to the brilliant 1950s movie Sweet Smell of Success - "Mint me". Definitely a film to seek out. Only if you like watching this sort of film, that is.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 November 2012
`Sightseers' is the new film from British director Ben Wheatley, who rose to acclaim last year with his mad and totally bad `Kill List'. Anyone expecting `Kill List II' will be very disappointed, as `Sightseers' is a comedy, albeit a very dark one.

The screenplay was actually written by the two leads in the film Steve Oram and Alice Lowe, who play the couple Chris and Tina. They set off on a caravanning holiday, exploring some of Northern Englands finest hotspots such as Crich Tramway Village, Blue John Cavern, and the Keswick Pencil Museum! Clothed in sensible outdoor gear to contend with the English elements, Chris and Tina seem as unassuming and respectable a couple as you'd like to meet on a caravan site.

Crich Tramway Museum is their first destination, and it soon becomes clear that Chris's opinions on the state of British society runs a lot deeper than most people. A rude man who hasn't grasped the concept of bins sends the ginger-bearded Chris over the edge, sparking the first of many gruesome murders. Tina soon becomes aware of Chris' violent tendencies, but her initial shock soon changes once she realises there is method to Chris' madness. There is of course no justification to the violence, their reasons are petty and borne out of frustration and irritation.

We don't know too much about their past, but we know that Daily Mail-hating Chris was forced out of work by bullying and Alice has spent most of her life under the influence of her controlling mother. These twin doormats now share an unbreakable bond, eager to seize the power they've never had and so continue their violent and often farcical journey. Their rage and paranoia is often grotesque and darkly comical, but the longer the film goes on the more inadequate and isolated they become. The ending is inevitable, but will still shock you.

`Sightseers' is a distinctly English and often bizarre caravanning road movie with plenty of laughs, and you'll never want to cross anyone with a ginger beard again! The film doesn't quite carry it off for the whole duration as Chris and Tina's antics can only be taken so far. And its a certainty that Crich Tramway Village, Blue John Cavern, and the Keswick Pencil Museum will have a lot more visitors thanks to this film. But will crotchless knitted knickers be the next fashionable must-have present for Christmas?

Rating 7/10
66 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
I didn't like this film at all. I thought the violence was gratuitous and the couple were immoral, repugnant and without humanity. A (male) friend of mine, on the other hand, thought it was a great film and terribly surreal and funny!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.