Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and effective
For the price, this is a great bit of kit. Other than being a little bit noisy when writing to disks, it's pretty much perfect. Barebones of course, so no cables etc. included - but if you're replacing a dead drive like I was then this doesn't matter.

There is a newer firmware available (dated 16th January 2013) than the version that mine arrived with...
Published on 2 Feb. 2013 by M. Bradford

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stand by for takeoff!
This is the noisiest drive I have ever encountered, to the extent that the first time in use after installation I was looking for a displaced cable catching in a fan, rather than suspecting the internals of the drive.

Functionally, it works - but I really can't stand the uproar.
Published 22 months ago by henros


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and effective, 2 Feb. 2013
By 
M. Bradford (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For the price, this is a great bit of kit. Other than being a little bit noisy when writing to disks, it's pretty much perfect. Barebones of course, so no cables etc. included - but if you're replacing a dead drive like I was then this doesn't matter.

There is a newer firmware available (dated 16th January 2013) than the version that mine arrived with.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great starter drive, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't know much about computers as I've been a console nut all my life. However, I've used this drive for my first computer and it's working brilliantly. It's an excellent starting drive and the noise that a few other reviews that I read before purchasing has yet to make an appearance. I'd highly recommend this drive to anyone like myself who's sick of the next gen. consoles and wishes to become part of the glorious Master Race of PC gamers...hahaha...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY NICE AND CHEAP!, 3 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought it for my pc build and its very good its quiet when runs. had no problem puting it into my case. and its cheap and you get a ton of performence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, flexible drive, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This does what I wanted it to, and offers loads of other formats too. I've knocked a Star off because it's a bit noisy when it gets going, but no more than any other drives I've had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars back to LG, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have bought LG drives more often than not for computer builds over the years because I have always found them to be very reliable. I had a SATA Samsung DVD writer in one of my systems which to be fair lasted 5 years but it was noisy and very flimsy from the outset. Also, even though I thought I kept the room it was housed in very clean, dust still managed to get into the drive.This however is quiet, made of robust materials and seems to have at least some protection against dust penetration. Hopefully it will last as long, if not longer than the Samsung.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LG ELECTRONICS GH24NS95 LG (24X) DVD Rewriter, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No complaints whatsoever, it arrived quickly, good performance and price, overall a very worthwhile purchase. This is one I would certainly make again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stand by for takeoff!, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the noisiest drive I have ever encountered, to the extent that the first time in use after installation I was looking for a displaced cable catching in a fan, rather than suspecting the internals of the drive.

Functionally, it works - but I really can't stand the uproar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant disk drive, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
works brilliantly for my partners new system, he uses the disk drive for watching movies and also to burn music onto cds for our car journeys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does what its supposed to, 25 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it has no features such a blu-ray or lightscribe but does what it is described to, good for its price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underpriced, works perfectly & quiet, 25 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have built hundreds of computers paying over twice the price of this optical drive that have not worked as good. Yes I recommend this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LG GH24NS95.AUAA Internal 24x Bulk DVD Rewriter
£20.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews