Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just purchased a Macbook air and needed a DVD reader/writer
Done a bit of research and this ticked the boxes....smart, portable and does the job

very pleased and at a great price...a nice bit of kit...
Published 7 months ago by Mr Derek G Carter

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good dvd-rw for a small price!
This device is small and handy. Burns dvd very nicely and is nice to look at too. Is a bit lound when burning but every drive is.
Published 5 months ago by Cobson


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just purchased a Macbook air and needed a DVD reader/writer, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External DVD Writer - White (Personal Computers)
Done a bit of research and this ticked the boxes....smart, portable and does the job

very pleased and at a great price...a nice bit of kit...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic product, 26 Mar 2013
By 
Mr Reviewer (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External DVD Writer - White (Personal Computers)
This item is the newer version of (SE-208AB /TSBS - [amzn. to/177TVI1] you may think that SE-208AB is the newer product, but I assure you...this (SE-208DB) definitely is, i got quite confused and couldn't tell the difference, but luckily for you guys, I'm here to discipline your confusion :)

If you want to know the difference between the different external writers then go to the samsung '.com' website and follow "Home >> Consumer >> PC / Peripherals >> Optical Disc Drive" or go to > bit .ly/11HZo5v < (note: SE-S084F is an older version). Now you might say "The older one has 'Speed Adjustment Technology: S.A.T', why doesn't the new one have this". To be quite honest with you, the DVD writer knows what speeds best for itself, it doesn't need the computer to interfere and to tell it what to do, this 'Speed Adjustment Technology: S.A.T' is what causes failures and so on. Its also worth noting that the slower you write your data on to a CD/DVD the more reliable and accurate it will be (less mistakes).

Now we've got that cleared up... I personally thought it was difficult to find all the different colours of this item, because they aren't all grouped together like some of Amazons products [amzn. to/19yxUlI] so I thought I would take the courtesy to list them for you.
Blue - [amzn. to/14Avob1]
Black - [amzn. to/14AvtLG]
White - [amzn. to/13KixAg]
Red - [amzn. to/11ECNBC]

Performance - This item loads CD/DVD's Faster than my computers CD/DVD Drive

Colour, Design, Material - 4 main colours for this item, The design is very unique and the item feels incredibly light, Material is very "anti-dust" if you know what I mean, and it doesn't leave any smudges when you touch it.

Complaints about the "eject" mechanism of the drive are...untrue I would say, the eject button on the drive does exactly as it says, it also ejects from the right click computer command.

This External DVD/CD writer is Mac Compatible and Windows 8 Compatible, It comes with a very sturdy high quality usb cable. The box includes a CD with Nero and Cyberlink software. It comes very tightly and neatly packaged.

This drive can also be used with android tablets (it says on the box). Another thing I would like to point out is the extremely rigid build. Although it may be lightweight, it feels very sturdy and un-flimsy.

The drawer of the drive rests on the surface the writer is on, this minimises the possible damage that could be done to the drawer of the writer/drive.

Please Note: do not use a USB mini hub (a hub with multiple USB ports) or any type of USB extension cable, the writer will not function properly if you do use any one of these mentioned items, this is because these items reduce the amount of power actually being received by the writer. I would suggest you use a 'Lindy' "type A to mini B" cable like the one's mentioned below to extend the reach of the product. PS: the cable supplied with this product is pretty short (about 10 inches long). (I tried using a normal USB extension cable and the product would partially start, this was because of the limitation in power.)

This drive is compatible with USB 2.0 and 3.0. It has a 1mb buffer memory which is more than enough. The CD/DVD Writer supports all the following disc formats - (DVD-R, DVD-RW, DVD+R, DVD+RW, DVD-ROM, DVD-Video, DVD+R DL, DVD-R DL, DVD-RAM, CD-ROM, CD-R, CD-RW, CD-DA, CD+E (G), CD-MIDI, CD-TEXT, CD-ROM XA, Mixed Mode CD, CD-I, CD-I Bridge (Photo-CD, Video-CD), multi session CD 'Photo-CD, CD-EXTRA, Portfolio' ).

*The cable included with this product (SE-208DB) only uses one usb port unlike the older version (SE-208AB) which used two usb ports*

For a cable alternative I would recommend:
1m - [amzn. to/12KOIUY] or
1m - [amzn. to/10hE1rH] >> recommended

for more options go to - bit .ly/XToDeq , make sure you take out the space after 'bit'.(copy and paste the 'Part No' into Amazon to purchase a specific item)

Go checkout the Lindy website for more "type A to mini B cables", type the code in to Amazon and purchase!

*not that the review above refers to all the different coloured writers with the product code 'SE-208DB'*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Did exactly what it was purchased for., 19 Feb 2013
By 
B. Chappell (Essex. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External DVD Writer - White (Personal Computers)
Bought for my daughter in order to load software onto her iMac. Performed perfectly. Well satisfied. Would recommend this for the same pupose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Great for iMac, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External DVD Writer - White (Personal Computers)
This is a great little DVD writer, I plugged it into my iMac and it worked without any problems at all. Really easy to use and does exactly as it says. Just brilliant for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact, efficient and attractive, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External DVD Writer - White (Personal Computers)
I have been struggling with the DVD drive on my Mac-Mini for quite a while and finally got around to purchasing an external one.

I haven't looked back since I bought this. It is fully compatible with Mac, plug-and-play and away you go.

Superb product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great with a Mac, 10 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External DVD Writer - White (Personal Computers)
Bought this instead of an Apple Superdrive to use with optical drive-less mac. Works a treat and is very fast. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External DVD Writer - White (Personal Computers)
This was bought to serve two purposes -firstly as a DVD R/W for my tablet and secondly to play DVDs on my TV via USB. Both needs satisfied and at a very reasonable price! (To connect to TV follow instructions, you must remember to do this!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on DVD drive, 29 Sep 2013
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External DVD Writer - White (Personal Computers)
I use a Samsung notebook with no drive and needed a dvd drive to access some old Yorkshire/Lancashire/Liverpool maps a friend sent me on a dvd disc and to install the latest MS Office. I chose the Gloss White one as it matches my notebook perfectly.

In the box you get -

- The DVD writing drive (which measures 5.5 inches square)
- A USB cable to connect it to your PC
- A disc with the user manual on and Nero Express Essentials ver 12

The writer is sleek/compact/light at only 5.5 inches square and takes up minimal space on your desk. The build quality is good enough. It's just a plug and play device, connects to your PC/TV or Android device via a USB port. It draws it's power from your device and comes with a good quality cable which is 14 inches long in my one.

In use I found it spot on on my Windows 8 notebook. The disc tray works fine, no problems here. There is a small LED activity light on it too. Software/images/documents loaded up and burned quickly and effortlessly.

Very happy with this, just what I needed.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 9 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External DVD Writer - White (Personal Computers)
I have need of an external DVD drive on rare occasions for my Macbook Air, when I'm away from home and the remote disk facility on the MBA is not an option. Equally although I love Apple kit, their external DVD drive was just too expensive for occasional use. So after some research I picked this drive.

It has not quite got the elegance of the Apple version and the case is all plastic, but overall it works well. It needed no drivers or software, it worked straight out of the box. It is only USB 2 but seems to run more than fast enough to be able to watch movies with it without buffering.

It seems slightly sensitive to the quality of the discs you put in it, some seem to be slightly out of balance, which results in the drive being quite noisy at times. I've not had cause to burn a disc yet so can't comment on its abilities in that department, as soon as I have I'll add to this review

Update December 2013

I've been using this drive for some time now and it has been fine. The one thing that has remained a mystery is how to put it into AV mode so that you can use it as a DVD drive into a TV with a USB socket. The instructions say to open the tray and then press the close/ eject button lightly twice. That is not the case as far as I can tell, one of the other reviewers here has it right, open the tray and then hold the eject button in for more than 3 seconds, the drive light on the front lights up for several seconds and it is then in AV mode, to change it back to computer drive mode repeat the process
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Slim Retail External DVD Writer - White (Personal Computers)
Plug and play, great addition to new iMac which doesn't have an DVD drive, worked no problem, only down side is the eject button doesn't always work once idle and have to use finder to eject/open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews