Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Cosy Mystery
This is the first of the Pennyfoot Hotel Mystery books I have read, and I should point out that the title may throw you off kilter a bit, if like me you are thinking that this is a murder mystery in the hotel. In fact this is a murder mystery in the village where the hotel is located. Set in 1906 this is an enjoyable Edwardian era cosy mystery.

First it...
Published 19 months ago by M. Dowden

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cosy Mystery
This is a light and easy read. It features amateur detective Cecily Sinclair the proprietress of the Pennyfoot Hotel. The setting is the south coast of England in the Edwardian era. Although I liked the background setting I didn't get a great sense of period. The plot line concerning the unexplained deaths of three men was a bit thin and not very convincing especially...
Published 19 months ago by Ann M


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Cosy Mystery, 28 Jun. 2013
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do Not Disturb (Pennyfoot Hotel Mystery Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first of the Pennyfoot Hotel Mystery books I have read, and I should point out that the title may throw you off kilter a bit, if like me you are thinking that this is a murder mystery in the hotel. In fact this is a murder mystery in the village where the hotel is located. Set in 1906 this is an enjoyable Edwardian era cosy mystery.

First it starts with the death of a tenant, in the doorway to his cottage. But this is just the first of such murders, where the victims have all been poisoned. But what can the connection between them be, and who is the killer? Cecily Sinclair, the proprietor of the Pennyfoot Hotel, soon finds herself asking questions and being drawn in, especially as a former employer of hers could be on the killer's list.

With a number of unforgettable characters, some red herrings, and a mysterious guest at the hotel there is quite a bit here, and there is some humour thrown in as well. With a lighthouse being built in the area, which is attacked, and the dean men having worked on the site this is a good, entertaining, and engrossing mystery. If you like a good cosy mystery, then this should be just right for you, this is certainly something you can put your feet up with and really enjoy. I for one, will now look at some more of the books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Charming Read, 30 Jun. 2013
By 
Aurora (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do Not Disturb (Pennyfoot Hotel Mystery Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
As murder mysteries go, this one is quite gentle. Unhurried, and unperturbed by modern detective notions, it moves along at its own pace. There are one or two ancillary stories alongside the main narrative which serve to flesh out the piece a little as well as providing a red herring or two in identifying the murderer. The book put me in mind of Miss Marple in a subdued mood.
There is nothing exciting or blood pressure raising about this book but it is a charming read even so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cosy Mystery, 29 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do Not Disturb (Pennyfoot Hotel Mystery Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is a light and easy read. It features amateur detective Cecily Sinclair the proprietress of the Pennyfoot Hotel. The setting is the south coast of England in the Edwardian era. Although I liked the background setting I didn't get a great sense of period. The plot line concerning the unexplained deaths of three men was a bit thin and not very convincing especially Cecily's blatant interference with a crime scene. However the book features several interesting characters and Cecily is a likeable heroine.

This is the second book in the series and presumably characters and relationships will develop as the series, which to date numbers twenty, progresses. This is the only book in the series I have read so the plots may well get stronger. It does remind me of the Daisy Dalrymple books by Carola Dorman and coincidentally both authors were born in England but now live in Oregon. I enjoyed it enough to try another in the series and it fits well into the "Cosy Mystery" genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed, 8 July 2013
By 
gary c atkins (leicester.england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Do Not Disturb (Pennyfoot Hotel Mystery Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I think. Kate is a very fine writer. The characters of Cecily and Baxter were loveable. Cecily reminded me of Miss Marple..Although it was a typical English story there were a few words spelt the American way. A deserved four star rating and recommend to other Kindle readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not disturb by Kate kingsbury, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do Not Disturb (Pennyfoot Hotel Mystery Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
brilliantly written.full of tension,full of suspense and intrigue could not put my kindle down ,a very brilliant read.I should hope this book will be a best seller,can't wait to read the next book.highly recommend
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Edwardian Who Dunnit, 14 July 2013
By 
C. A. Challis (Kent (UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do Not Disturb (Pennyfoot Hotel Mystery Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A good tale and recommend for a great read on holiday as its not too much to read in a short period of time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Light Summer Reading, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do Not Disturb (Pennyfoot Hotel Mystery Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
An easy to read period mystery. The Pennyfoot Hotel sounds very intriguing. I would recommend as a good holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Disturb, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do Not Disturb (Pennyfoot Hotel Mystery Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A amusing easygoing story.Passes time very pleasantly.Looking forward to reading more in the series.Great characters to get to grips with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars easy reading... but it is not Christie, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do Not Disturb (Pennyfoot Hotel Mystery Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book in what appears to be a long series. I haven't read the first so don't know why the widowed owner of the hotel considers herself a detective and drags along her uptight manager as a reluctant sidekick. Ignoring these implausabilites it was quite a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read., 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do Not Disturb (Pennyfoot Hotel Mystery Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Like the other books by this author these are easy to read and follow a predictable story line. I find the lack of development of the characters frustrating and some of their actions obviously contrived to fit the plot twists. But I still enjoy the books and will continue to read the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews