Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Game
Had no trouble setting up the game or playing it. Put the disc in, activated it, installed game off disc then downloaded some updates. After that the game was ready to play. The graphics are amazing, car sounds are great. All the cars look amazing! The only downside to the game is that it was made by criterion. I'm not a fan of criterion games as you never truly own the...
Published 17 months ago by spinningfiddle

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Controller Issues
Having played for a short while with an xbox controller I find it very difficult to steer with any degree of control. Not only does the response time seem to be far too slow when trying to turn, but also when I release the joystick to make the vehicle straighten up. In order to deal with this you need to steer in the opposite direction if you are travelling at any speed,...
Published 11 months ago by John Doe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Controller Issues, 20 Jan 2014
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Having played for a short while with an xbox controller I find it very difficult to steer with any degree of control. Not only does the response time seem to be far too slow when trying to turn, but also when I release the joystick to make the vehicle straighten up. In order to deal with this you need to steer in the opposite direction if you are travelling at any speed, which totally ruins the game as far as i'm concerned.
I wouldn't recommend this game at any price unless you have tried it first with the controller of your choice to ensure that you can get the responsiveness that you want - there doesn't seem to be anything built into the game to enable you to do anything except that you are given.

As a long time fan of this franchise, although some have been pretty poor, I feel that perhaps this has gone the same way as COD and needs to be put out of it's misery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Game, 24 July 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Had no trouble setting up the game or playing it. Put the disc in, activated it, installed game off disc then downloaded some updates. After that the game was ready to play. The graphics are amazing, car sounds are great. All the cars look amazing! The only downside to the game is that it was made by criterion. I'm not a fan of criterion games as you never truly own the car you drive. You can pick up any car you want and drive it, but it never feels like yours. If this game was more like the old Most Wanted, where you buy your car and upgrade it in the garage, and vinals etc. it would have been a lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Need for Speed Most Wanted (PC DVD), 17 May 2014
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
if you are prepared to put the time in to master or at least get by with there strange arcadey control system and the insanity of the races. this is an ok arcade raceing game, good graficks nice cars and resonably fast..
but - bear in mind you will need at least a medium speck PC to run it, i have a quad core CPU and a 500 HD ATI Card and six GBs of Ram and i can only run it smooothly at medium settings..
so for the price now, exelent fun but for the original price it was far to unoptomised and poorly thought out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cool game, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Need For Speed: Most Wanted made me forget the disappointment of Black Box's NFS The Run from my first virtual turn of the key. Although it misfires on occasion, this over-the-top arcade racer still plants a silly grin on my face, whether I'm racing AI Corvettes, breaching police roadblocks, or nitrous-boosting past desperate online opponents. It does a lot of things very right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very very lazy offering., 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Firstly the game is fun, so that's a plus, secondly it looks quite good and runs fairly well. That's 2 stars accounted for as 1.5 is not available.

It doesn't get more due to a long list of faults.
The open world thing, it is not very big and feels familier, there is a reason for this. It's just a smaller version of Burnout Paradise by the same people, this becomes apparent in a few places where whole sections of road are literally identicle. There is an uphill snaking area with a two tier jump hidden next to it with a billboard. Whole areas of the city are copy/ pasted from another [larger more complete] game they had sitting around from 3 years ago!

The cars look great. Which is sort of a given. you can download car meshes at professional standards for a surprisingly reasonable price. on top of this there is absolutely no creativity, while you can mod your car which means you have a choice of three tyre types body types or chassis types there is not any visual change. cars look the same. Also you cant change the colours yourself, just drive through a petrol station and get one of 6 colours randomly assigned.Cant pick matt or metallic or pearlescent as there is just the basic 'shiny' paint.

Gameplay:
While quite fun initially it quickly gets dull as each car (all 40 of them - a case of quantity over quality) only has 5 races each. you pick your car get on average 2 sprints, 1 circuit race and one time trial. occasionally they throw in a gimicky 'ambush' game where you start with the police on you and have to evade them. If you have a favorite car you will complete it, get all the upgrades and gold on all tracks it has access to in under an hour. After that there is no point playing with it any more.

I Completed the game in under 10 hours. that's beat all 10 bosses (there are only bosses based on your total score, no story, no safe houses, no gang areas like in Carbon for example). Got every speed camera and smashed 103 of the 120 bill boards. Part of the reason for this is the fact that it gets easier as the tracks are so limited. By the time I had finished the game I think I played every track at least 7 times. There are only 3 ambush starting points, 4 time trial points, maybe 9 circuits and 12 sprints. and they all get used over and over again.
Unlike Burnout you cant even create your own with custom way points.

There are also only 3 police cars - basic squad car, SUV and huge SWAT van which literally cannot be stopped. mostly its used as a road block in other race types as a blocking volume. The amount of police radio chatter is constant but limited. no more that 2- phrases. The Music is poor and I was unable to workout how to add my own playlist instead.

Art wise it's also poor, repetitive buildings - mostly quite low poly, probably taken out of Burnout, car damage is simply based on general impact, nothing to do with where the damage occurred. Hitting a post box makes your back window crack. Thats just always happens to go first. Very lazy indeed! There are no dynamic weather effects. Just one big sun with the glare turned up. Even that does not reflect of the ground or reflective surfaces though.

To compare it to other much older racing games
Original NFS:MW - lots of tracks, huge amount of customisation, varied police cars and a story. New one. Nope.

F1: Cars lay down rubber progressivly on corners like in real life adding subtle realism and a believable surface. New NFSMW: Nope

Grid/ Dirt: Weather effects that change during a race, splatter the camera and also proper damage that has areas of the car looking different depending on where an impact was. New NFSMW: Nope.

Burnout paradise: Large open world, original vehicles: New NFSMW: Nope

Fuel: Massive openworld tough lerning curve, variety of vehicles and game types: New NFSMW. Nope.

In conclusion, if you have money to burn, time to waste and want to look at the back of a car you like for about 45 minutes then go for it. Just be warned they did not get a Ferrari license so none of them, but about 5 types of almost identical Porsches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some words of warning,, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
was hoping to avoid hitting my isp download limit by buying this on DVD, but no such luck. this is very much an on-line game and requires EA's online store Origin (+ update to the version on disk) + 5gb Game update before it will run.

The base game easily the best arcade racer since Burnout Revenge but is marred with a number of bugs including slowdown for most wanted intros (doesn't effect the race itself) and persistent quits to desktop (was particularly adverse to the shelby most wanted race) EA do not have any effective fixes in there forums and customer services suggested using task manager to shut every process that wasn't windows itself or the game, and when this didn't work unhelpfully informed me that Windows 8 is not supported.

It's also keen to start flogging you additional DLC from the moment you start playing which i found quite irritating.

therefore have very mixed feelings about a game whose core mechanics i love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
By 
Mrs. L. J. Cox "Lynda Jane Cox" (Maidstone UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Great product. Very fun. Good good good worth the money yeah for all players would recommend to anyone great game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it., 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Criterion Games made fantastic games in the past such as Burnout Paradise and Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit. It's a bit stupid at first reusing the same game name as 1998's NFS3:HP and 2002's NFS:HP2, but when they launched the new NFSHP in 2010, was a great success and well received by the fans because of the Autolog system, the graphics that looked great and the arcade-style driving that made it fun. In 2012, Criterion strikes again with a game with the same game name as 2005's NFSMW, just to save the NFS franchise of the mess EA Black Box made with the NFS The Run.

Gameplay (4/5): Unlike the 2005 NFSMW, this game is more "liberal". It has no story, you can drive any car you want, and in any place of the map (it's huge). Its easy to complete the game, just do the races and stunts to earn speedpoints that unlock upgrades for your car and the races with the Most Wanted "bosses". To beat a "boss", it's easy to win a race with him, but after that you need to take him down to get his car (it's frustrating). About the physics, it's still arcade, but cars are heavier and harder to drift than in Hot Pursuit.

Graphics (3/5): In Hot Pursuit, the graphics were perfect. But in Most Wanted, they are OK because of the excessive bloom, causing some difficulties during the drive. The race intros are weird, not comparable with the Hot Pursuit ones.

Sound (4/5): Most Wanted has a great playlist songs (Madeon, Chemical Brothers, Muse and others). It has a Steve Hillage ambient music if you stop the car for a long period of time, just to relax you.

Online (3/5): Online mode is fun, you have races, drifting, speedtests... but there are problems with it, sometimes you are disconnected of Autolog and you can't connect again, you can't mute all players (just mute one by one) and it's annoying hear others players yelling and playing some random sounds. That's the thumb down on this game.

DLC (4/5): Most Wanted has 4 DLCs available for purchase: Ultimate Speed Pack, Terminal Velocity Pack, Movie Legends Pack and Need for Speed Heroes Pack. They add some extra great cars, extra events, extra upgrades and unlocks the Airport. But In my opinion, it's not worth buying them, because are expensive now. By the way, you don't need them to play online.

Overall (4/5): Criterion has made an interesting remake of the Most Wanted, but the online mode and the graphics are the worst points of this game. The price is worth and it reflects on the quality of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars EA Flopped, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
i had high expectations for this game but it really let me down ad the game as very clunky and it wouldn't run smooth on a 64bit processor with 4GB ram or on a 32bit processor for that matter with 3GB ram
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Need for Speed Most Wanted (PC DVD)
Need for Speed Most Wanted (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
£10.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews