Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cretans Story of a Beach
I enjoyed this ,being familiar with Crete and a regular visitor over thirty years or so. I ,like the author have a holiday home there now and can identify only too well with the encroachment of modern unsympathetic development development on traditional village life.
His descriptions of customs and endearing local characters ring true and his love of the island is...
Published 21 months ago by Susanne Jane Hurley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant non-taxing read.
Slightly more serious than some I have read but enjoyable, for all that. I would have liked more background information about the author instead of having to 'Google' him. It seems he is quite passionate about Crete's past and I wish him well in his endeavours to get the Elgin Marbles back where they belong. The 'anecdote'(?) about a palace being found, looted and then...
Published 17 months ago by Ruby slippers 66


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant non-taxing read., 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CRETANS Stories of a Beach (Kindle Edition)
Slightly more serious than some I have read but enjoyable, for all that. I would have liked more background information about the author instead of having to 'Google' him. It seems he is quite passionate about Crete's past and I wish him well in his endeavours to get the Elgin Marbles back where they belong. The 'anecdote'(?) about a palace being found, looted and then bulldozed down is extremely disturbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cretans Story of a Beach, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CRETANS Stories of a Beach (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this ,being familiar with Crete and a regular visitor over thirty years or so. I ,like the author have a holiday home there now and can identify only too well with the encroachment of modern unsympathetic development development on traditional village life.
His descriptions of customs and endearing local characters ring true and his love of the island is evident in his descriptive passages.A must for anyone who loves this island and its idiosyncratic people

His
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars M2ungu, 26 Dec 2012
This is an easy book to read about Crete; a must read for those who want to understand Crete. Lots of anecdotes you will not find anywhere else. Being a Cretan in exile, I enjoyed it very much. Well done Alexis. M2ungu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cretans stories of a beach, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CRETANS Stories of a Beach (Kindle Edition)
riveting, funny in parts very very enjoyable i would read any other Greek books by this author. more of the same please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but disjointed, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CRETANS Stories of a Beach (Kindle Edition)
Having visited Crete and read writings by Brits about the island, it was good to get the perspective of someone already living in Greece with Greek heritage. It is a collection of interesting stories about life and events but the book would have been more enjoyable with a more developed background story. I had too many questions about the author's motivation and experience of buying and developing properties and his visits to the island, and was left slightly dissatisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just spent 2 weeks in crete and returning in 4 weeks time this book has brought back memories, made us laugh and yearning for ou, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CRETANS Stories of a Beach (Kindle Edition)
just spent two weeks in Crete returned home to read this funny book which brought back memories and helped count down the time to our next visit in four weeks time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant pre holiday read, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CRETANS Stories of a Beach (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book especially as I am going there soon on my hols!! Very real cretan displaying astonishing factors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars review, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CRETANS Stories of a Beach (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed these reminiscences of a Crete before mass tourism descended. As an Hellenophile, i love reading about Greece and these stories stayed with me. It does seem a bit disjointed in places but I would recommend this book to anyone who likes trevelling, it's a great beach read or one of those books just to read in the garden should we get some sun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How things change, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CRETANS Stories of a Beach (Kindle Edition)
Telling it like it was ,First visited in the 60.s- Back to Crete for the third time next month,Need I say more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars..., 31 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CRETANS Stories of a Beach (Kindle Edition)
Well-written, engaging and enjoyable book... thoroughly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CRETANS Stories of a Beach
CRETANS Stories of a Beach by Alexis Mantheakis
£2.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews