Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read - episodic and funny
Really will only ever be read by Irish - and probably only 1st and 2nd generations born outside of Ireland, with warm thoughts about our homeland. it's a lovely homage to Irish Mammies and sometimes Irish Daddies and the rest of the gang too. Lots of use of well known Irish words that arent 'cod' Irish. I've re-read this about 3 times now - Kindle version - on flights, on...
Published 13 months ago by AnitafromBoro

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The sayings of "old school " Irish mothers.
It brought back memories, though the anecdotes were not that amusing really. Maybe more interesting to non-Irish people. Good tips for parenting as well!
Published 19 months ago by E. N. Berry


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read - episodic and funny, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isn't It Well For Ye?: The Book of Irish Mammies (Kindle Edition)
Really will only ever be read by Irish - and probably only 1st and 2nd generations born outside of Ireland, with warm thoughts about our homeland. it's a lovely homage to Irish Mammies and sometimes Irish Daddies and the rest of the gang too. Lots of use of well known Irish words that arent 'cod' Irish. I've re-read this about 3 times now - Kindle version - on flights, on the exercise bike and bed time reading, so it's a good buy too, as you get a lot out of re-reading :0D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hilarious observation of Irish Mammies, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book. I laughed so much as I read this, especially the chapter about what the leaving cert would be like if an "Irish Mammy" wrote the paper.
Even though this book is dedicated to the "Irish Mammy" I think this book can be enjoyed universally as we all appreciate how funny our Mums are, even when they are not trying to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A grand ole bit of fun!, 3 Feb 2013
By 
Louise Ward (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Colm O'Regan is a stand-up comedian, columnist and broadcaster and the concept for this book started out as a Twitter account @irishmammies, which had thousands of followers after just a few months, now 50,000. Published by Transworld Ireland and billed as 'an exploration of the phenomenon of the Irish Mammy', this is going to be a very popular present for all those mammies out there.
With a good old rubber water bottle on the cover and comedy in the first page, a cave painting of a hot press and the Ogham script translated as 'A grand bit of drying out', you can quickly see where this book is going. The Irish language is cited as 'ideal for no-nonsense dismissals of messers and wasters' and The Constitution of the House is very funny opening with 'Article I: While you're under this roof...'
There's the 'war on damp', the weather (of course) and the inevitable cough-bottle along with the top five reminiscable diseases, 'Will I ever forget that winter? All three of you had the croup.' The points chatter comes with a Mammy-designed leaving cert exam paper and don't forget the all important messages, 'They're gone very dear in there altogether.'
They're all in here, but I won't quote any more for fear of giving the fun away. It'll be a 'grand bit of fun for them'- now whether the mammy's will see the humour only you can judge that yourself but you will certainly be having a good ole giggle yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly recommended to anyone who has or knows an Irish Mammy.

Was actually shocked to find out that I am slowly but surely turning into an Irish Mammy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it was so funny it is like listening to myself
all the way through the book !!
I am an irish mammy !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great craic!, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whether you're Irish or only know someone irish, this will ring so many bells with you.
The Irish Mammy is alive and well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite books, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isn't It Well For Ye?: The Book of Irish Mammies (Kindle Edition)
I love reading any books about Ireland especially the comedy and history ones, As yet I have never been dissappointed and look forward to the next ones that come on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 19 Dec 2013
By 
Ms. N. D. Merriman "tashadot" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this for my own Irish Mammy and we both enjoyed it. It did make me realise how many of my mother's idiosyncrasies (the obsession with the hot press) are not individual to her but are shared by her whole nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great fun, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book It was much like things my own Irish Mammy said as Iwas a child in Donegal. Iwould recomend it to ld find it entertaining any friends Irish, Englsh any nationality would enjoy it ,Im SURE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The sayings of "old school " Irish mothers., 10 Jan 2013
By 
E. N. Berry (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It brought back memories, though the anecdotes were not that amusing really. Maybe more interesting to non-Irish people. Good tips for parenting as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews