Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rediscovered gem
A beautiful woman is found dead, but was it murder? And if so, who is to blame - her husband, her sister, her lover or her oldest friend? Bawden conjures a tense psychological drama that makes for compelling reading
Published on 7 Dec. 2012 by Mr. W. B. Clews

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable book on which to spend an inexpensive hour and a half.
This novel is set in an England that no longer exists and with characters and attitudes that no longer exist. One reviewer very astutely said that "it is dated but not like Dorothy L Sayer" - the Lord Peter Wimsey books are a generation earlier than this but Miss Sayers writing is far superior, more fresh and more relevant. Overall the storyline is vaguely...
Published 1 month ago by Megabux


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rediscovered gem, 7 Dec. 2012
By 
Mr. W. B. Clews "wanger" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Calls The Tune (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
A beautiful woman is found dead, but was it murder? And if so, who is to blame - her husband, her sister, her lover or her oldest friend? Bawden conjures a tense psychological drama that makes for compelling reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable book on which to spend an inexpensive hour and a half., 11 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Calls The Tune (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
This novel is set in an England that no longer exists and with characters and attitudes that no longer exist. One reviewer very astutely said that "it is dated but not like Dorothy L Sayer" - the Lord Peter Wimsey books are a generation earlier than this but Miss Sayers writing is far superior, more fresh and more relevant. Overall the storyline is vaguely frustrating in that the victim`s character is never fully explained and neither is the perpetrators reasoning. I had worked-out who the perpetrator was by 2/3 of the way through the book because there was no-one left to suspect. Not great but an adequate read, inexpensive and worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 8 Feb. 2015
By 
grandma (lancashire england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Calls The Tune (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this little book very much.
It's quietly intriguing and I was into the last pages before I realised who did the dread deed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An unsatisfying mystery, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Calls The Tune (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
I regret to say that I have to agree with one of the previous reviewers; this really did not seem to be up to Nina Bawden's usual standard and perhaps it is a pity it was ever rediscovered. It seemed impossibly dated (in an unacceptable way, not dated in the Dorothy L. Sayers way!) with unbelievable characters and an unbelievable plot. The relationship between the characters was unexplained until the end when there was a twist in the tail which made things clear, however in my view this made for a feeling of irritation as the plot unfolded. I cannot say I enjoyed this book..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Who calls the tune, 19 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Calls The Tune (Bello) (Kindle Edition)
This is a re- release of one of Nina Bawden's earlier books and I bought it on the strength of all her other books I have read. In my opinions it should have remained out of print. It is a murder mystery and very poorly written. I skip read huge chunks of it. An unexpected ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars book, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a nice edition and Nina Bawden is one of my favourite authors. I havent read it yet so cant comment any further
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who Calls The Tune (Bello)
£0.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews