Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Superb, Twisty Turny Thriller
This is an atmospheric, beautifully shot, and very well acted thriller. It's full of twists and turns, and clever misdirection, which keep you guessing until the end of the movie.
Cold Rock is a tired, rundown Hicksville town in Washington, USA. Like Dunblane in Scotland, it has an overwhelmingly tragic history - seventeen young children, including babes and...
Published 6 months ago by William Mason

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
I enjoyed the film but had a strange ending and it isn't one that I would watch again.
Published 3 days ago by Gemma Crane


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Oct. 2014
By 
R. A. Mitchell "Ormskirklad" (Skelmersdale, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tall Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Enjoyable and unpredictable. Well worth a viewing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ... not what I was expecting but the film is great, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tall Man [DVD] (DVD)
its not what I was expecting but the film is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 22 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr C D West (Hackney, London, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tall Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great acting, great plot twist. Had me fooled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid psychological thriller, 17 July 2013
This review is from: The Tall Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Tall Man is a curious film, unique in many ways. What starts out as a fairly standard idea, quickly gains an air of "not quite what it seems" although as a viewer it's hard to pinpoint, keeps you guessing, then it all changes and the plot evolves rapidly so you don't quite know what's happening. (That's a good thing!). It is very well crafted as a story. The only letdown for me was the ending which very rapidly explained what happened without the fairness of giving enough clues throughout the movie. Great acting and production, coupled with a good story, make this a must-see movie that will keep you thinking long after it's over.

One star lost for lackluster Blu-Ray offering; the picture quality was no better than DVD, and the extras were non-existent. Not even any subtitles. Good film though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual thriller., 20 April 2013
By 
D. D. Drysdale (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tall Man [DVD] (DVD)
I chose this film, not only because it had good reviews, but I do like a good thriller. The film didn't disappoint me, in fact it was quite unusual in the way it didn't follow the normal pattern of events. Sometimes confusing but always gripping and the end had such a twist to it that you had to go back through the story to work it out. It is one of those films that you can spend time discussing with other people.
Yes, I would thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..VERY ORIGINAL AND ENTERTAINING..", 14 Mar. 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tall Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Brilliant movie, very entertaining from the beginning up until the end, lots of twists and turns, the movie essentially starts out as some kind of horror/thriller then a quarter of the way through your thrown right off with a big twist and think what's happening here? The story then unfolds cleverly into a completely different type of movie with a deep yet satisfying conclusion; Jessica Biel is amazing to watch and gives a convincing performance and carries out the story and the twists nicely, Jodelle ferland is also amazing in this too. Certainly worth a watch, brilliant thriller that's original and clever, shame there are hardly any features but the picture is good on the bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tall Man [DVD] (DVD)
spooky old school chiller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tall Man [DVD] (DVD)
This film was very well made. Such a good storyline and a very good ending. Acting was brilliant. I definitely reccomend this dvd. It is well worth a watch. A very good put together movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE TALL MAN : Grimm times in the small town of Cold Rock, 27 April 2013
This review is from: The Tall Man [DVD] (DVD)
In the rundown former mining down of Cold Rock a folk legend has grown around a seemingly supernatural figure known as The Tall Man, who is said to be responsible for the disappearance of a number of local children

The Tall Man is an odd little film by Pascal Laugier that Like the earlier Martyrs has a socio-political undercurrent about what happens to people and communities when they are struggling and powerless. However, this French/Canadian co-production is not visceral or brutal, but downbeat and depressive. More akin to a Grimm's fairy tale retold for an age that has social services than a horror film or thriller. Nothing is entirely what it seems to be.

Jessica Biel is pretty decent as Julia Dunning, the local nurse at the heart of the mystery, in what is a well made, good looking and generally well acted film. The ending whilst not entirely logical resolves the mystery in a more concrete way than the flow of the film at first suggests and carries an ambiguous sting.

The Tall Man is not flawless, but is still pretty good and does tackle some interesting themes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 24 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tall Man [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed the film but had a strange ending and it isn't one that I would watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tall Man [Blu-ray]
The Tall Man [Blu-ray] by Pascal Laugier (Blu-ray - 2013)
£3.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews