Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars53
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2012
Simply stunning on all levels. So much thought, energy and beauty oozing from every track. For me this is their best album, even better than Around the Fur.

Best tracks? well, they're all incredible but standouts for me are:

Graphic Nature
Leathers
Romantic Dreams
Rosemary
44 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
There's something about Deftones that sets them apart from the rest of the alt-metal/heavy rock bands around today. I guess the fact that they blend aggression and softness together so perfectly is a huge factor in what makes their music so interesting. But it's also the skill each band member possesses. Whether it's Stephen Carpenter's heavy layers of ambient guitar, Abe Cunningham's crisp snare, or Chino Moreno's effortlessly lush vocals, these guys are veterans of the metal scene and can always be relied upon to provide honest, integral and skillful music.

Koi No Yokan is just another step forward for these guys. They seem to have managed to balance all of their strengths perfectly on this album. Opening track 'Swerve City', with it's relentlessly heavy groove and dreamy verses makes for an ideal starting point, setting the mood for the rest of the album.

Second track 'Romantic Dreams' is vintage sounding Deftones, where they use their romantic/seductive sound that they do so well to soften the energetic blow of the previous track. Other stand out tracks include; 'Poltergeist', 'Tempest' and 'Goon Squad', and really, this is the first Deftones album since White Pony that doesn't have a single weak track.

The only reason that this album doesn't get 5 stars is because it would be nice to see Deftones try something really out of their comfort zone. I mean, they already have a pretty varied sound, and they are not scared to experiment, but this is still very much a typical Deftones album, just done especially well.

That being said, for anyone just getting into the band, this album (along with White Pony) is an ideal starting point, and is a release that Chino & Co should be proud of.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
Simply a fantastic, beautiful, engaging, heavy, optimistic, mesmerising, surprising, emotional, dense and breath-taking album. You need this in your life.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
I will start by saying that I wasn't expecting this album to be as good as it is. I mean no disrespect to the Deftones, but I wasn't that taken with Saturday Night Wrist or Diamond Eyes. Koi No Yokan, on the other hand, is sublime from start to finish. It is heavy yet melodic, with wonderful vocals and crushing riffs. If I had to pick a stand out track, it would be 'Poltergeist', which crashes and soars from verse to chorus. For me it's the best album of 2012, and a mighty return to form for the Deftones.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
Took ages for it to be delivered. Still a great album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
Sublime, intense,powerful.... and even better than the incredible Diamond Eyes. There are very,very few bands that keep improving so dramatically 15 -20 years in, but here is one. This album needs to be heard to be believed so buy it now and do not hesitate.Deftones - you rock my world !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
I love Deftones. Some great heavy riffs here which are my favourite but really, only 3 songs to add to my favourite Deftones tracks of all time. Still a good album though and very DEFtones. Just why I love 'em!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
You just never know what you're going to expect from Deftones on any album, yet they constantly impress with new sounds and new ideas which still maintain their sound and style -- great album full of great songs!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
Great value and delivery time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
As an avid (and possibly quite an old now) fan, I have followed the Deftones ever since Adrenaline back in the mid 90's and was so impressed with this new album, I felt I should share how very good it is with you!

They have consistently churned out great albums, growing in maturity and musicality with each release, but this is by far their most accomplished work yet. It is a proper heavy album with some real sweet vocal melodies as well as the crushing rhythm and guitar work the fans are familiar with. That said, there is a musical, dare I say, pop edge to this album that makes it far more cohesive than any of their previous records. Oh, and it sounds emence too. Play it loud!

Love it, can't stop listening to it and trust me, fan new or old, you will love this too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)