Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The silent hero of many great spy stories of WWII.
Donald Caskie was the minister of the Scots church in Paris when the Germans invaded. Despite an initial attempt to return home, Caskie spent the war years working in the Seamans' mission in Marseilles from where it is estimated that he organised the return to the UK of some 2000 men via the Pyrennees, Spain and Gibraltar.
Caskie tells his story calmly and...
Published on 11 Jan 2001

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not a bad read for someone with specialist interest
Certainly not particularly well written and its value derives from the authors placement as a Kirk minister in France in 1940. My interest was in my Mother's connexion with the Rev D Caskie although he avoids naming her referring to her aa a young woman.

The book was to raise funds for the Scottish church in Paris not as great literature and the events are...
Published 9 months ago by Nigel Hobro


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The silent hero of many great spy stories of WWII., 11 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tartan Pimpernel (Paperback)
Donald Caskie was the minister of the Scots church in Paris when the Germans invaded. Despite an initial attempt to return home, Caskie spent the war years working in the Seamans' mission in Marseilles from where it is estimated that he organised the return to the UK of some 2000 men via the Pyrennees, Spain and Gibraltar.
Caskie tells his story calmly and unemotionally. A typical Highlander, you imagine him sitting by his fireside - dram in hand - as this extraordinary tale unfolds.
Occasionally you would be forgiven for thinking you were reading the plot for 'Allo, 'Allo! Caskie's continual game of hide and seek with the Vichy police, the lengths that locals go to to make sure he has enough food and coal, and the dealings with Arab clothes traders all raise a smile.
But this isn't a comedy. Men die, traitors are uncovered and Caskie himself faces death as a British agent.
Caskie is of course devout. He has an uncanny sixth sense. He is also a native Gaelic speaker and keeps a detailed log of information in Gaelic. "Who but the Lord and the minister of the Scots Church would have the Gaelic in France during WWII" he says. This vital information is passed on to London via well known agents.
Don't be put off by the name or the dreadful tartan hat on the cover!! This book should be part of your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hero of faith, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tartan Pimpernel (Paperback)
I first read this book when I was at Primary School and having just finished reading it for a second time many years later it is still a wonderful read. I got so much more out of reading it the second time. Rev. Dr. Donald Caskie was a true man of faith, relying on God at all times. As a member of the CofS in which Rev Dr. Caskie was a minister I am surprised by the number of people in the church who say they have never heard of him. I find it a sad reflection that people in the Kirk today, my age, and older and younger say they have never heard of such a faithful man who courageously lived by his faith in the face of evil. I am going to make sure that the folks in my church know of this faithful man, a great example of a true Christian prepared to put his own life on the line for others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 25 Nov 2008
By 
Mrs. L. J. Carroll (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tartan Pimpernel (Paperback)
This is one of my favourite books. Donald Caskie's memoir of his time in wartime France is an amazing tale which reflects the hardships of the occupation and the tremendous courage of the author. I have read it twice myself and I'm about to buy a copy for my brother-in-law to read over Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courage and belief, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Lidija FOGLAR (Geneva, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tartan Pimpernel (Paperback)
Although I am by no means a religious Person, I loved this book. Donald Caskie is the Kind of man you expect a priest to be. What he lived through and what he did, is amazing. I often wander how I would react in such a hard time as under the Nazi occupation in WWII. Withought hate, but with wit and unbelievable quiet Courage, this Scot helped and consoled and saw good in the most evil times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be forgotten, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tartan Pimpernel (Kindle Edition)
This is a description of how people rise to the occasion of need when everything seems hopeless. It is a book that should never be forgotten, and younger generations should e encouraged to read. I first read this book shortly after it was first published and this time it still moved me to feel admiration for that generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humbling, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tartan Pimpernel (Paperback)
I was given this book as a 21st birthday present from my Godmother as I was christened by Caskie.

whilst not knowing the man, I am humbled and touched by his account and of the deeds and experiences of those involved, I thou roughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable man and a well written book., 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tartan Pimpernel (Kindle Edition)
What an understated person this chap was. A hero and well worthy of public recognition. Very well written and interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tartan Pimpernel (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly recommend this book by Donald Caskie. He epitomised the very best in Christian love for his fellow men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly remarkable man ., 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tartan Pimpernel (Paperback)
Great book and very humbling to read what this man did to help escapees during the war . A true saint .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tartan Pimpernel (Paperback)
amazing story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tartan Pimpernel
The Tartan Pimpernel by was born at Bowmore, Islay in 1902 , Caskie Donald Caskie
£3.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews