Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncommonly Good
David Sylvian continues his journey ,distancing himself from his more commercial work like never before.
This is really a spoken word project,rather than a selection of songs.
However its very musical,lovely trumpet work from Arve Henriksen,over a charming 'found sound' landscape of samples.
Its the easiest of listens, especially when considered to previous...
Published on 11 Oct. 2012 by michaelj1900

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dull and tedious
Self indulgent and tedious,nothing to inspire or connect with........sorry David this is you not at your wonderful best thanks for trying.
Published on 9 Feb. 2013 by Mr. Stephen N. Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncommonly Good, 11 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncommon Deities (Audio CD)
David Sylvian continues his journey ,distancing himself from his more commercial work like never before.
This is really a spoken word project,rather than a selection of songs.
However its very musical,lovely trumpet work from Arve Henriksen,over a charming 'found sound' landscape of samples.
Its the easiest of listens, especially when considered to previous releases.
I know this won't be to most tastes,and Sylvian has tested my ear ,but i find this his most accessible work in quite a time.
In short its simply beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 8 Mar. 2013
By 
K. Pack "kevbear" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncommon Deities (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of David Sylvian since the 1980s and I've followed his work ever since. As his music has become more and more experimental and improvised his work has become more and more inaccessible, especially to those uninitiated with his work. I think that this is one of his most accessible works since Dead Bees. Uncommon Deities, to which Sylvian lends his voice is sublime. The imaginative poems by Paal-Helge Haugen and Nils Christian Moe-Repstad are recited with the chocolate tones I have loved since those 80s days of Nightporter, Ghosts and Forbidden Colours. Each poem, a journey into the minds and behaviors of Gods which we have not considered but are clearly aware of humans and the impact we have on them and their responsibilities.
I love this work. It's thought provoking, incredibly creative, relaxing and beautiful. The delivery, imagination, humour and diction make me smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and rewarding, 25 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Uncommon Deities (Audio CD)
This is not a very commercial work and David Sylvian seems to get more avant garde with each year that passes, but it's very rewarding and a great listen that will grown on you the more you ,listen to it. Very atmospheric with great instrumentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DEAR GOD.....THE BEAUTY OF SOUND., 4 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncommon Deities (Audio CD)
I seem to be saying this a lot recently,but in six weeks w.why has the price of this CD ballooned to over eleven pounds,when i bought it for under £9.
When music of this quality is availiable,surely prices should be lower to encourage the more inquiative listener to buy it and expierience the ethos of the sound without going bankrupt.
1.....THE GOD OF SINGLE CELL ORGANISMS....Spoken as are many of the tracks on this album,with various avant garde effects,Sidsel eddresson is excellent as usual.
2.....THE GOD OFF SLEEPLESSNESS,,,,,running at 4m29s this is wonderfully evocative.
3.....THE GOD OF SILENCE..... The one thig that strikes you about these tracks is the quality of the sound.
4......THE GOD OF SMALLER GODS.....Tuned eelctric piano underpins Sylvians words.
5.....THE GOD OF SMALL CARESSESS.....Includes the sounds of Philip Jeck whose solo album i recently discoveredAn Ark for the Listener
6.....THE GOD OF BLACK HOLES.....this is a slighly shorrter soundscape.
7.....THE GOD OF ADVERBS......the slightly worrying Sidsell returns on this eerie soundscape.
8.....THE RUMANATIVE GAP......Sigur ros is bought to mind with a smattering of Bjork.
9.....THE GOD OF CROSSROADS......a three minute adventure into sound.
10....THE GOD OF TINY ISLANDS.....again absolutely extraordinary soundss
11....THE GOD OF GRADUAL ABDICATION......absolutely beautuful
12....I SWALLOWED EARTH FOR THIS....a THREE MINUTE TRACK TO END THIS ENTHRALLIN ALBUM
If you are looking for an easy listen,the i suggest you avoid this at all costs,if,however you are looking for challenging and rewading moving music then you have found Nirvana,

SOME TRACKS RECORDED LIVE IN TALLINN,PUNKT 2011

51.10

RELEASED 2012
SAMADHI SOUND

DAVID SYLVIAN......VOICE,CUT UPS
SIDSEL ENDRESSEN......VOCA;
JAN BANG.....SAMPLES
ERIC HONORE.....SAMPLES,SYNTHESIZER,SYNTH BASS;
INGAR ZACH.....PERCUSSION SAMPLES
PHILIP JECK,,,,,RECORD PLAYER
MARGALET OVED......VOCAL,PERCUSSION
DAI FUJIKUMU.....STRING SAMPLES
ELVIND AARSETT......GUITARS
CHRISTIAN WALLMORD.....TRUMPET,PIANO SAMPLES

VALUE FOR MONEY......££££
BEST TRACKS......THE GOD OF ADVERBS
PACKAGING......SUPERB,TRIPLE FOLD DIGI PAK WITH BOOKLET
PRODUCTION......SUPERB
ARVE HENRIKSEN......TRUMPET SAMPLES,TRUMPET
hELENA TULVE......STRING SAMPLES
JOHN TILBURY......PIANO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite male singer-songwriter, 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncommon Deities (Audio CD)
An unusual but beautiful body of work, from arguably the most creative artist of his generation. A collective of songs and story telling, enriched with atmospheric, ethereal, beautiful music. The hallmark of the David Sylvian sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i do like..., 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncommon Deities (Audio CD)
This mix of David Sylvian with some of the best contemporay Norwegian jazz musicians is for me nice, very nice...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sylvian is Sylvian!, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncommon Deities (Audio CD)
this is Sylvian, is an artist or u like or not, but for me is great musician and the music is what i expect from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly sensational, 19 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Uncommon Deities (Audio CD)
A beautiful collection of spoken word poetry over a collage of atmospheres, sound design, and music.
One track, The God of Smaller Gods stands out for its unusual warmth and tenderness.
Fantastic recording quality, voice rarely sounds this good, or intimate.
Mr Sylvian is undoubtedly a genius; although we might sometimes be concerned on which route he is going to take his loyal fans, David Sylvian has veered, for now, to aural heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dull and tedious, 9 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncommon Deities (Audio CD)
Self indulgent and tedious,nothing to inspire or connect with........sorry David this is you not at your wonderful best thanks for trying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, David....., 10 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Uncommon Deities (Audio CD)
Oh dear. What happened, David? Talk to us. You're not making any new fans and alienating existing ones. You have a wonderful voice as has been proven time and again through your extensive back catalogue, but in recent years some may say you have lost your way.
Please remember that, after you have gone into the studio and recorded this stuff, people then pay good money to listen to it. Not everyone appreciates the extreme end of arty self-indulgence where you seem to be heading, so - dare I say it, please remember your long-time fans and give us something that's easier to listen to. Oh, and by the way, for goodness sake - Cheer Up!, otherwise we will all be slitting our wrists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Uncommon Deities (feat. Sidsel Endresen & Arve Henriksen)
Uncommon Deities (feat. Sidsel Endresen & Arve Henriksen) by Jan Bang/Erik Honoré/David Sylvian
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews