Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eric Edis a man who overcame the impossible
Eric Edis, a remarkable man who overcame all the bureaucracy, floods, dense forests, arid deserts, blizzards, obstacles both man made and natural in order to achieve his ambition of being the first to drive to Australia and back. A trip of 40,000 gruelling miles, in a British Land Rover.

Unable to put this book down you are taken along with Eric and his party...
Published on 12 Feb. 2009 by Irene

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The 55th Anniversary of the Edis far eastern expedition
The 55th Anniversary of the Edis
Far Eastern Overland Expedition

This real life action adventure is a true story set in the austere days of the 1950s, when I set off on a seemingly impossible journey, to drive across the world to Australia and back, in an old Land Rover that had seen better days peddling vegetables in the north of England. The foreign...
Published on 20 Oct. 2012 by Mr. E. V. Edis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eric Edis a man who overcame the impossible, 12 Feb. 2009
Eric Edis, a remarkable man who overcame all the bureaucracy, floods, dense forests, arid deserts, blizzards, obstacles both man made and natural in order to achieve his ambition of being the first to drive to Australia and back. A trip of 40,000 gruelling miles, in a British Land Rover.

Unable to put this book down you are taken along with Eric and his party on a trip only Indiana Jones would have attempted. You are not burdened down with side issues of exploring each characters life but you do experience, as much as is possible within a book, of what the next mile brings, what the characters suffer as a result of their exertions, the pure frustration endured from small time bureaucrats and the guile with which Eric outwits them. This book has all the framework of a first class action adventure movie. True British grit. And this was back in 1957 before mobile phones, GPS and even a decent map.

It's a true story, the `characters' are real people, and the journey was something else.

Irene & Brian from Kent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible journey, 17 Sept. 2009
By 
bis (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Eric's account of his journey is inspiring and fascinating. The computer age has rendered the pioneering spirit of today's young people more or less obsolete. When Eric made his epic journey in the late '50's, he was travelling through hostile areas which even the military avoided. No-one had made this overland journey before, and everyone said it was impossible. Without Eric's tenacity and absolute refusal to accept 'no' as an answer from border officials, this journey would have been over very quickly.

I wish the photos were a little clearer, but the book is well-written so the mind creates its own images.

I am delighted to have read this book as it epitomises the kind of character which made Britain what it was before the arrival of the Nanny State.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 18 April 2010
By 
Eric's journey overland all the way to Australia is a must read. Telling the story of a mans courage and adventure with detailed events of how he copes in unbearable situations, i was unable to put it down.

Feeling like you are a part of the story makes the read all the more gripping. Travelling along in a Land Rover, all weather conditions, across different terrain, jungles and across rivers Eric's party overcame obstacles and possible life threatening conditions to complete the journey of a life time.

Overall a brilliant book. I would recommend to anybody..... when is the next one Eric??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Impossible Takes a Little Longer, 21 Aug. 2010
Absolutely brilliant!
It is written in such a matter of fact way, possibly because it was written from Eric's diaries, that it massively understates the decisions and challenges made. This escualtes your own imagination as you read it as you draw your own assumptions on how they must have been feeling.

A great demonstrataion of a "can do" approach.

I am glad Eric decided the write the book eventualy.

Many thanks
A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The 55th Anniversary of the Edis far eastern expedition, 20 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 55th Anniversary of the Edis
Far Eastern Overland Expedition

This real life action adventure is a true story set in the austere days of the 1950s, when I set off on a seemingly impossible journey, to drive across the world to Australia and back, in an old Land Rover that had seen better days peddling vegetables in the north of England. The foreign office, in all their wisdom, `quoting the Burma factor' advised, the journey was not possible and could not succeed.

Burma at that time was in the grip of conflict. Its land borders with India had been closed to outsiders since the end of World War II and they would not grant overland travel visas, to anyone, to enter the renowned Ledo/Stilwell Road, therefore, making it virtually impossible to pass through that country, to reach Singapore.

For many years the Burma problem has frustrated expeditions from around the world from even attempting this improbable journey; but when the story unfolded that a shoestring expedition had audaciously and illegally crossed into Burma, not once, but twice, which, hitherto, had never been accomplished before, it was understandable why they came knocking to enquire how we had successfully overcome this insurmountable problem. I was not, however, prepared to share that information, only quote that famous motto. `Who Dares Wins'. Although, foolhardy and risky, the actual event was more like a film script, with a James Bond flavour.

From the dust of the great Nullarbor, to the monsoonal rain forests of Southeast Asia, to the snow fields of Afghanistan, Iran and Turkey was a relentless struggle for survival. The harshness of the journey took its toll and many did not have the will or stamina to continue. We were hit with malaria, guinea worm, hook worm, fever, jungle foot, and dysentery, bitten by a scorpion, dragged from a river by a tank, rescued by an elephant from a swamp and the girls' knickers eaten by ants as we slept. We were saved by the Mujaheddin from a frozen hell in Afghanistan, and extricated an injured Afghan driver from two crashed Russian oil tankers, spilling their fuel.

On the outward journey only one other, was to reach Australia with me. We signed on an Australia bound oil tanker in Singapore, taking the Land Rover with us and working our passage across.
Many adventures flow through all the pages of the book, these are but a few sound bites.

On arrival back in the uk, my Land Rover and I had travelled more than 40,000 miles. One of the longest of all overland journeys, equivalent to driving one and a half times around the world. There was no sponsor for this journey, and no help given from any vehicle manufacturer. The old Land Rover used had no power winch, or any other special equipment.

Eric Edis Email: ericedis@tiscali.co.uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I stand in awe.., 26 Mar. 2010
By 
Mats Nilson (Sorsele, Sweden) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read this amazing story in one go, unable to put it down even briefly, I look out into my yard on my 2009 top-spec Land Rover Discovery and can but shake my head.. How could anyone in the late 50's even contemplate driving an already battered Land Rover overland all the way to Australia - and back!? Well, Eric Edis did, and this is his story.

This is, then, the captivating story of how Eric Edis in the company of a more or less carefully selected group of youngsters manages to turn the impossible into succes, through gruelling hardships that it takes reading the book to even begin to understand. But the book is so well written and rich in detail, that you feel you are there, pushing through mud alongside the team. A feat such as this could not have been achieved without the most amazing cunning, endless British pluck, and a stamina that defies belief! The book is very well written and both entertaining and thrilling. It also offers many interesting insights into the countries through which they travel.

I whole-heartedly recommend this book to anyone with an interest in adventure and exploration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing's Impossible, 15 Feb. 2011
I can echo many of the thoughts and opinions of previous reviewers. This is a good read; the balance of detail on the journey and people encountered, set against the insight given into the author's character and motivation makes this a very engaging story of what was clearly a remarkable expedition. I couldn't put it down once I'd started.
It will inspire many, and cause others to reflect on what opportunities they may have had in life but did not exploit. Nevertheless, they will be heartened to read of someone who has illustrated so well an indomitable spirit which I hope others can now emulate.
This book should be given to all teenage children (after their parents have read it of course!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The impossible takes a little longer, 27 Sept. 2011
An amazing book full of adventure, risk and humour. An amazing achievement from Mr Edis. This is a must to read for anybody who likes a good true life story, adventure, travel or just admire the determination from Mr Edis and his group of friends he meets along the way.
A lot of luck helped them along their way and a lot of bad luck pushed them to their limits both physically and mentally.
The only person to have completed the return journey to this day -should be made into a Hollywood blockbuster.

Hard to believe this was all completed over 50 years ago.

6 star rating and 11/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very adsorbing tale, 19 Jan. 2009
By 
A. R. Richmond (Cymru - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a very well written tale and really brings the journey to life. At times you can feel that you are there with the intrepid (mad) travellers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read from an era now lost., 27 Jun. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "kourgath" (On the Cornwall and Devon border, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book after reading the London->Singapore Oxbridge Expedition by Tim Slessor. What a difference in approach! Where the other book follows classic expedition planning, Eric goes the opposite way to planning with scraps of paper and 'it'll all work out' attitude.

I enjoyed reading both books, as together they paint a picture of a fading Empire, new borders and experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews