Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read
Blood in the Valencian Soil is not my normal read. I like crime thrillers and adventure books, and avoid anything set in wartime or history like the plague. `Blood' is two stories running parallel, one set in the Spanish Civil War and one set in modern time. Both are stories of love and regret and as you get towards the end of the book the stories become more entwined. As...
Published 15 months ago by Alan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
It isn't often that I do not finish a novel, but I doubt that I will ever finish Blood In The Valencian Soil.

I am bored with it!

I have read half of it but can take no more!

It reads very poorly at times with mistakes in the text (that interrupt the flow of the story) every few pages: Some examples. "If you love someone, you don't need...
Published 18 months ago by andy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 20 May 2013
Blood in the Valencian Soil is not my normal read. I like crime thrillers and adventure books, and avoid anything set in wartime or history like the plague. `Blood' is two stories running parallel, one set in the Spanish Civil War and one set in modern time. Both are stories of love and regret and as you get towards the end of the book the stories become more entwined. As a book out of my comfort zone, I have to say I really enjoyed it, particularly the modern bits, but overall I would recommend this book to people. My only complaint would be that I found the character names a bit confusing, although I read it over quite a long period of time this could be why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History mystery and love in a wonderful setting., 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood in the Valencian Soil: Love and hate hidden in the legacy of the Spanish Civil War (Secrets of Spain 1) (Kindle Edition)
The second part of a really good series of mystery,love and history in Spain. Modern Spain is the setting for the love story with Fifties Franco Spain the setting for the mystery. The author has given myself in these 2 novels a really good experience and for all other readers a suspect the same. Thoroughly enjoyable characters and settings of Valencia and Madrid add to the overall experience of a very fine piece of work. I look forward to further works from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughlygood read, 19 April 2014
By 
E. Howe (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood in the Valencian Soil: Love and hate hidden in the legacy of the Spanish Civil War (Secrets of Spain 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book which is set in both modern day Spain and in the period of the Spanish civil war. I couldn't put it down and I'm pleased that I can now carry on and read the sequel, I'll be starting that today I think.
One rather irritating thing was the number of errors in the text, better proof reading is required but don't let this put you off the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood in the Valencian Soil: Love and hate hidden in the legacy of the Spanish Civil War (Secrets of Spain 1) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book completely absorbing never wanting to put it down. Anyone who has an interest in modern Spain and Spain during the civil war will enjoy this book. The blending of old and new and the merging of families made this a most enjoyable read. I am about to start reading book 2.
I can't begin to imagine how much tragedy is still in the lives of modern Spanish people, particularly those that are still afraid to talk of the past.
Luna and Caye's love story though is timeless and still worth reading even if your interest in the Guerra civil is limited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood in the Valencian Soil: Love and hate hidden in the legacy of the Spanish Civil War (Secrets of Spain 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book was well written. It was interesting,informative and an enjoyable book to read. Looking forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood in the Valencian Soil: Love and hate hidden in the legacy of the Spanish Civil War (Secrets of Spain 1) (Kindle Edition)
It isn't often that I do not finish a novel, but I doubt that I will ever finish Blood In The Valencian Soil.

I am bored with it!

I have read half of it but can take no more!

It reads very poorly at times with mistakes in the text (that interrupt the flow of the story) every few pages: Some examples. "If you love someone, you don't need time to figure it what you want." "Why is okay to treat me..." "You didn't to need to but them..." "...and no one would to stop him drinking himself to sleep"...

I am bored with the main characters as the same scenario is played out time and again, reading about two people besotted with each other page after page gets somewhat tiresome after the twenty-seventh time you have read it - as if the author is stretching out what might have passed as an interesting short story.

So only a review on half a novel but I am bored and disappointed in wasting my time reading the half that I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood in the Valencian Soil: Love and hate hidden in the legacy of the Spanish Civil War (Secrets of Spain 1) (Kindle Edition)
A good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews