Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book by brilliant player
Richie McCaw has something to say about modern rugby and his role in it. This is not a canned autobiography but a book about someone who thinks deeply about his sport and gives us huge insight into the game. Very hard to put down and lavishly presented. One of the best sports books produced.
Published 20 months ago by Viv Richards

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars expectations definitely not met
Not the read I was expecting. If I wanted a full blow by blow of certain games I would have got the deaf persons guide to the games played on the tele. I would have liked to read more about his childhood and other experiences. This book however did change my view on Graham Henry and as such look forward to reading his book. Would only recommend this book if you fancy...
Published 8 months ago by ruggachick


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars expectations definitely not met, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real McCaw: Richie McCaw: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Not the read I was expecting. If I wanted a full blow by blow of certain games I would have got the deaf persons guide to the games played on the tele. I would have liked to read more about his childhood and other experiences. This book however did change my view on Graham Henry and as such look forward to reading his book. Would only recommend this book if you fancy reading the scripts of certain games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars McCaw deserves much better, 30 Aug 2013
Such a great player deserves a far, far better autobiography. At the end of the book, I still had no idea what makes him one of rugby's all time greats. Where were the insights on his technique? What about his training regime? And where were the observations on the major battles he faced on the field? The book is so littered with dense match reports from irrelevant games that the book misses its key objective of providing any valuable new commentary on the great man. I've been well educated about his gliding career, but little else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book by brilliant player, 25 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Richie McCaw has something to say about modern rugby and his role in it. This is not a canned autobiography but a book about someone who thinks deeply about his sport and gives us huge insight into the game. Very hard to put down and lavishly presented. One of the best sports books produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why aren't all sports biographies like this?, 22 Nov 2012
By 
Lin M. Thomas "Lin" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Books by sportsmen and women are usually so bland, full of cliches and contain hardly any surprises but what is so great about this book is the authentic voice that comes off every page. It feels as if his thoughts had been recorded directly onto tape throughout the period covered and then tidied up for the book. If you're a rugby fan there is much to learn about how the team operates with valuable insights into training, planning and performance but the drama of the two Rugby World Cups portrays the pressure, tension, hope and anxiety of a captain and a team desperate to win the cup in New Zealand for it's people.
It would be a good read if that's all you get but Richie has a life outside rugby and there's stirring stuff about gliding over some of South Island's wilder and most beautiful areas - clearly his passion when he's away from rugby. I thoroughly recommend it; you come away feeling that you've just had a long conversation with a remarkable and very likeable man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Sports Biography, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the best autobiographies of a sports person I have read. It gives an in depth insight into the life and mentality of one of the game's greatest exponents. RMC comes across as a driven personality, who expects the highest standards for himself and those he leads. The detailed descriptions of some of the most significant games he has been involved in (especially the 2007 QF and 2011 Final), is remarkable. As someone who went through the emotional roller coaster of those two games in particular, this book "completed" the picture. The book is written in a time line that makes it very readable. The intricate planning, the execution of strategies and the physiological impact on players are narrated in such a personal way, the reader is enraptured as well as far better informed of the pressures and toll the game takes on its players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not an autobiography, 16 Jan 2013
By 
L. corrigan (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are looking for the richie mcaw autobiography it hasn't come out yet. If you want to read about the ELV's and every game he played from 2007 to winning the world cup this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defeat is not an option., 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real McCaw: Richie McCaw: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
A great read and insight into the incredible athlete and competitor Richie McCaw. It also gives a jaw dropping idea of the mindset of the mighty All Blacks - defeat is not an option. I found it too easy to pick up and very difficult to put down - would definitely recommend to any rugby enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing if I'm really honest, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real McCaw: Richie McCaw: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
I'm a huge Richie Fan, and I love the All Blacks. But I just feel a bit disappointed with this book.

It lacks a lot of insight I was hoping to get into him and the All Blacks. There are a few gems in there and it's still compulsory reading for any big AB's fan, but I was hoping for more.

However it's readable and leaves space for another better biography when he wins the next World Cup!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars average book ,but one of the best players?, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real McCaw: Richie McCaw: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Not the best sporting bio.some interesting background,after that not alot.possibly not keen to give away too much on current coaches and players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Passionate about life., 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real McCaw: Richie McCaw: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Excellent story about a brilliant passionate player and the importance of being an All Black.

A must read for all genuine rugby fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews