Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining take on the irrational reaction of American society
This novel follows the increasing irrational response of American society to a normal bloke, who chooses not to stand and sing America's patriotic 'God Bless America". We follow Arnold the mild-mannered botanist's journey, as American citizens and media react to his inaction, and find ourselves engrossed in the unforeseen amusing and tragic consequences upon the...
Published 20 months ago by D. Lumsden

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You're in for a treat if you like your novelty novel lengthed
There is a reason you never see a Rolls Royce with furry pink dice hanging off the rear-view mirror - because quality doesn't need gimmicks. I realised some time ago, like other readers that there is also a reason why some novels have gimmicky titles. Still, I went and bought this on Kindle because it was cheap but it wasn't worth it to lose all those hours in a novel...
Published 9 months ago by My Lovely Horse


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining take on the irrational reaction of American society, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Wouldn't Stand Up (Kindle Edition)
This novel follows the increasing irrational response of American society to a normal bloke, who chooses not to stand and sing America's patriotic 'God Bless America". We follow Arnold the mild-mannered botanist's journey, as American citizens and media react to his inaction, and find ourselves engrossed in the unforeseen amusing and tragic consequences upon the protagonist, his family, friends and comrades he finds along his journey.

The style of writing is easy to follow and it is clear the author understands the subject matter he has included.

It was hard to put this book down, and it is certainly worthy of acclaim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Lois E. Currie "KINDLEFAN" (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Wouldn't Stand Up (Kindle Edition)
This is a fabulous read and demonstrates just how far political correctness has gone in the world today. Recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Wouldn't Stand Up (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book. My first kindle reading experience and it was thoroughly enjoyable. Great characters and nice balance between fantasy and reality. Also lived in New York for a while which gives that local knowledge element.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arnold's refusal to apologise gets him in all sorts of bother, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Wouldn't Stand Up (Kindle Edition)
Satirical, gently amusing story about the trouble a sensitive intelligent guy gets into when he doesn't stand up during the American national anthem. The ensuing events take over his whole life with some amusing encounters. Especially liked when he met up with the bare assed bandit. Very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Wouldn't Stand Up (Kindle Edition)
I loved the premise and would go five stars except for the slightly annoying way the tale seemed to lose momentum in the middle. A very enjoyable read nevertheless and I would recommend it to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An original piece of writing, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Wouldn't Stand Up (Kindle Edition)
A brave stand, solid writing and totally original, real characters, who keep losing, and winning back, with such humane resillience and adaptibility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I lliked it, 17 July 2013
By 
Jo Nutkins (middlesbrough UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kept me interested. Really quite liked it, but ending, last 2 pages wrecked it, and too many plant descriptions. Over all though, really enjoyed and easy to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A light hand on the madness we live in., 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Wouldn't Stand Up (Kindle Edition)
I found the characterisations believable and engaging. The book wonderfully encapsulated the craziness of the world we live in with a lightness of touch that stopped one from sinking entirely into a gloom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Man who wouldn't stand up, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Wouldn't Stand Up (Kindle Edition)
Thanks to a great review by Stephen Fry I read this book! So glad that I did! THAN YOU STEPHEN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Man Who Wouldn't Stand Up, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Wouldn't Stand Up (Kindle Edition)
Who knew how much trouble one man could get himself into and the consequences his actions would have on the people associated with him. A story with many twists and turns showing that everyone has their secrets and you never really know a person fully. A story that questions society and the media's portrayal of its subjects - the willingness to jump on band wagons for fifteen minutes of fame, judging people without knowing them. The ending left me with a need to know what becomes of Arnold Brinkman and the other characters but the ending did square the circle of Arnold's journey of self-discovery and realisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Man Who Wouldn't Stand Up
£5.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews