Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truely Beautiful Book to Own
Whilst on holiday in Paignton, Devon my wife was reminiscing about a Hans Christian Anderson book of fairy tales that she had owned as a child. A book that got lost in the mists of time. Whilst she was out I quickly looked up what Amazon had to offer and quickly came upon this gem. Using the Collect+ service I was able to have the book delivered just up the road from our...
Published 14 months ago by R. E. Dutton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not too good
I love HCA stories, but these are not a good translation. I had thought I could read them to my grandchildren, but not to be.
Published 25 days ago by Herts Mum


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truely Beautiful Book to Own, 29 May 2013
By 
R. E. Dutton "Richard Dutton" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst on holiday in Paignton, Devon my wife was reminiscing about a Hans Christian Anderson book of fairy tales that she had owned as a child. A book that got lost in the mists of time. Whilst she was out I quickly looked up what Amazon had to offer and quickly came upon this gem. Using the Collect+ service I was able to have the book delivered just up the road from our holiday lodgings the very next day. She was absolutely thrilled and delighted, as were our children. The book itself is very well made and beautiful to behold. The stories contained . . . . well they are Hans Christian Anderson fairy tales need I say more? They contain a magic quality that is sadly absent from modern day children's books. It is a delight to read them for the first time of for the hundredth time. The price of the book considering its quality is almost a giveaway. I certainly and wholeheartedly recommend this fine publication
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fairy Tales Without The Fairies, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hans Christian Andersen's Fairy Tales (Kindle Edition)
I started reading this book because it was the first in a list of the Top 100 Books Of All Time and I was confused why such a title was in amongst the likes of Don Quixote and Crime And Punishment. But the more tales you read the more entrancing is Andersen's style. His recurring themes of religion, death and family take you to a world of moral fortitude and unflinching beauty. A lot of the tales feel relevant even today and the variety of location, character and length mean that they never get predictable or boring. Sure Andersen has some quirky sentences randomly thrown in but Fairy Tales is a must read for every adult with a streak of innocence left. The rest of the Top 100 have had the bar set high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a beautiful Book, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for a young grand-daughter, who is just delighted with it.
The sort of book to pass on to her children maybe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a birth present for a great nephew. It's lovely and it's something he can keep and give to his own kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this book, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had this title as a child and loved reading it so purchased it for a christening gift. delighted with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely beautiful!!!, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All the classic fairy tales I learned as a child with beautiful illustrations! Can't wait to share with my children!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not too good, 29 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hans Christian Andersen's Fairy Tales (Kindle Edition)
I love HCA stories, but these are not a good translation. I had thought I could read them to my grandchildren, but not to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars how could you not like this, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hans Christian Andersen's Fairy Tales (Kindle Edition)
this one also brought back memories of a younger age, forgot most of them till you see the titles, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bedtime story's, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hans Christian Andersen's Fairy Tales (Kindle Edition)
great to read to the grandchildren.,
so compact on my kindle, lots of story's too
good value for money on the kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stories, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hans Christian Andersen's Fairy Tales (Kindle Edition)
I remember these stories from my youth and look forward to reading them to my granddaughter, as I hope she will enjoy them as much as I did when I was small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hans Christian Andersen's Fairy Tales
Hans Christian Andersen's Fairy Tales by Hans Christian Andersen
0.36
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews