Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely lovely
This was a short, charming and above all, emotionally engaging read. Eliza Cade is the youngest of four sisters, and because of a silly mistake she made when she was just fourteen, her father decrees that she cannot make her come-out until her sisters are all married, lest she do something to disgrace them.

At the wedding of her eldest sister, she meets Mr J...
Published 20 months ago by Caz

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Goes through the motions
I wasn't convinced, so found this rather tedious. Episodic structure and shallow characters. She's got the elements of a romcom, but there's no real feeling.
Published 17 months ago by JBird


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely lovely, 17 Dec 2012
By 
Caz "So many books, so little time..." (Frinton-on-Sea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Scandalous, Dissolute, No-Good Mr. Wright: (Originally published in the e-book anthology THREE WEDDINGS AND A MURDER) (Kindle Edition)
This was a short, charming and above all, emotionally engaging read. Eliza Cade is the youngest of four sisters, and because of a silly mistake she made when she was just fourteen, her father decrees that she cannot make her come-out until her sisters are all married, lest she do something to disgrace them.

At the wedding of her eldest sister, she meets Mr J. Harrison Wright, who immediately recognises in her a kindred spirit. Their verbal exchanges sparkle and are charged with attraction from the get-go, and Harry is just dreamy. Not only is he handsome, he's clever and insightful, amusing and tender; and although Eliza is drawn to him, his reputation is such that association with him could further damage her chances of making her début.

The story follows their meetings across the four years of their acquaintance, and shows their relationship progressing through fun and tragedy into a deep and abiding love. It's warm, sexy and touching - a perfect way to spend a few hours on a cold, grey afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely delightful, 25 Feb 2013
By 
M. K. Burton - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scandalous, Dissolute, No-Good Mr. Wright: (Originally published in the e-book anthology THREE WEDDINGS AND A MURDER) (Kindle Edition)
Everyone has heard the rumors about Mr. Wright. He's a notorious rake, and not at all appropriate company for Miss Eliza Cade. While she's old enough to be out in society, her family is convinced that she'll bring them all down into scandal; so convinced that her three sisters must marry before she can have her first Season. And so, spending time with the very scandalous Mr. Wright is dangerous, leading her right down the path her family worries about, but somehow Eliza just can't resist.

This novella was simply delightful. I'll admit to being shallow and mainly buying it because the title was so appealing, but I have read and previously enjoyed a few of Tessa Dare's full-length novels so it was worth the very small price tag.

Immediately, I was struck by how very clever the writing in this book was. I read it in Kindle format, and the number of "highlighters" - other people marking a passage in a novel as significant - was higher than any I'd ever seen in another romance novel. The author has a habit of sneaking truths in dialogue that catch you off-guard and immediately build character. Take this example that comes from Harry when Eliza suffers grief:

"You've seen that all the joy and beauty of the world is fragile. Just bright daubs of paint on the surface of an eggshell. Now you'll reach for it more cautiously. No more wild grasps at glory. It's that innocence you're mourning."

And from Eliza, at a flirtatious moment:

"It's a funny thing about suspicions, Mr. Wright. All too often, they're just vain hopes in disguise."

Little statements, caught in dialogue, but snatching at truths about life and growing up and understanding these characters.

I loved the way Tessa Dare challenged external assumptions in such a short form. Harry - Mr. Wright - might be deemed scandalous, but why? What does it take to gain that reputation? Similarly, Eliza's parents are convinced she'll get into trouble because of something that happened when she was young, but once the reader discovers the reason behind it, we're compelled to question our assumptions about both characters and revise what we previously thought. They have to do the same with each other throughout the book, and watching them learn one another's true characters was a real pleasure.

Moreover, the novella format means that we're focused on just one thing; there aren't any sideplots and the only other romances are Eliza's sisters' in the background. No, here we have a love story between two people who are attracted to one another from the start, but who have to learn a great deal about each other before they can properly fall in love. The Scandalous, Dissolute, No-Good Mr. Wright is wonderful and sigh-worthy, and completely recommended for an evening in. Excuse me while I go gorge on the rest of Tessa Dare's wonderful books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fab read from Tessa Dare, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scandalous, Dissolute, No-Good Mr. Wright: (Originally published in the e-book anthology THREE WEDDINGS AND A MURDER) (Kindle Edition)
Great Novella, wonderful read, If you love historical romance then I would say you can't go wrong with this book, or any of Tessa Dare's books really, They are all fab !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The scandalous, dissolute no-good Mr Wright, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scandalous, Dissolute, No-Good Mr. Wright: (Originally published in the e-book anthology THREE WEDDINGS AND A MURDER) (Kindle Edition)
I have so enjoyed reading this book the storyline line was I thought well written and funny in parts would definitely recommend this writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and fast, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scandalous, Dissolute, No-Good Mr. Wright: (Originally published in the e-book anthology THREE WEDDINGS AND A MURDER) (Kindle Edition)
I usually like Tessa's stories they are funny and VERY ROMANTIC.
she does not drag on things and the plot is fast. like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Historical romance, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scandalous, Dissolute, No-Good Mr. Wright: (Originally published in the e-book anthology THREE WEDDINGS AND A MURDER) (Kindle Edition)
You can loose your worries and problems with these books. Easy to read, easy to download. A great way to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Goes through the motions, 17 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Scandalous, Dissolute, No-Good Mr. Wright: (Originally published in the e-book anthology THREE WEDDINGS AND A MURDER) (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't convinced, so found this rather tedious. Episodic structure and shallow characters. She's got the elements of a romcom, but there's no real feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cliched but fit my comfort read need..., 14 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scandalous, Dissolute, No-Good Mr. Wright: (Originally published in the e-book anthology THREE WEDDINGS AND A MURDER) (Kindle Edition)
Good regency read. Really enjoyed the pace and context. Will read more from author as the book seemed tick all the boxes of the genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great short story., 14 Jan 2013
By 
Elaine "Elaine" (Clacton on Sea, Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scandalous, Dissolute, No-Good Mr. Wright: (Originally published in the e-book anthology THREE WEDDINGS AND A MURDER) (Kindle Edition)
A 4 star romantic read
I love to read Tessa Dare' s books - am trying to buy them all - nearly there!
Check this out, you won't be disappointed.
Elaine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a good read!, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scandalous, Dissolute, No-Good Mr. Wright: (Originally published in the e-book anthology THREE WEDDINGS AND A MURDER) (Kindle Edition)
Loved Harry and Eliza. Fabulous story! I literally laughed out loud! I've read all of Tessa's books and she has not let me down. Awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews