Customer Reviews


141 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At his Best!
I've never bought an Adam Ant record in my life till I heard a track from this on Jools Holland at New Year.
Had to buy this, the new style and his new band are brilliant, one of the best albums I've heard in ages ;-)
Published 17 months ago by Viceroy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dont waste your money on this crap collection of unfinished demo's
Dont waste your money on this crap collection of unfinished demo's, instead get Dirk wears white sox and Kings of the wild frontier thats all you need in a Adam Ant collection. I just dont understand how the record company could release something so awful.
Published 1 month ago by Nephilim 66


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At his Best!, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adam Ant Is The Blueblack Hussar (Audio CD)
I've never bought an Adam Ant record in my life till I heard a track from this on Jools Holland at New Year.
Had to buy this, the new style and his new band are brilliant, one of the best albums I've heard in ages ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dont waste your money on this crap collection of unfinished demo's, 8 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Adam Ant Is The Blueblack Hussar (Audio CD)
Dont waste your money on this crap collection of unfinished demo's, instead get Dirk wears white sox and Kings of the wild frontier thats all you need in a Adam Ant collection. I just dont understand how the record company could release something so awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure Trove!!!, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adam Ant Is The Blueblack Hussar (Audio CD)
I'm a huge fan of Adam Ant which immediately makes me a little biased I suppose. The Ants were my introduction to music in 79/80 - my first musical love and that naturally gives them a special place in my appreciation of music. My tastes have broadened wildly since then but those formative years never go away. I've seen Adam perform live on numerous occasions since his return to the stage over the past few years. I've watched him grow in confidence and ability and it's been a pleasure to witness his return to form. However, like many, I awaited this release with anxious anticipation. I'm grateful to say that my fears have been allayed and my hopes exceeded. Adam has always been unique, difficult to pigeonhole, and thankfully nothing has changed.

This album doesn't have a 'Prince Charming' or a 'Stand And Deliver' because they were never what Adam was truly about. It's much more akin to the 'Dirk Wears White Sox' album. It's raw and gutteral. With this album he has acknowledged his past (indeed many of these tracks were born in the late 70's) and embraced the present - his present. What we get is something retro yet fresh. A mixed bag that somehow comes together as a unified whole. This album will offer surprises on repeated listens. Lyrically and sonically there are treasures a-plenty to be discovered. It's bold, unpretentious and takes no prisoners. Adam has not only returned to music...he has come out fighting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ADAM IS BACK, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adam Ant Is The Blueblack Hussar (Audio CD)
After nearly 20 years adam ant is back with this fantastic new album,but be warned, if you're expecting a highly polished and radio friendly pop album then you wont be happy.
This album has a heavy and dirty feel to it, some of the tracks have a slightly rough n ready feel to them which i personally love,a lot like the early misfits.
Ive just listened to the whole album for the first time and of the 16 tracks there are only a couple of so so ones, and more than a few outstanding ones, keep an open mind and buy this album now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ant is Back!, 15 May 2013
This review is from: Adam Ant Is The Blueblack Hussar (Audio CD)
Having seen Adam perform live twice in the last year, it's fantastic to see him back on form and doing what he's best at. Still a dynamic performer with a back catalogue full of great tunes and it's great he's writing more.
This album takes a few listens to grab you but then don't all the best ones? It's a very diverse album with parts sounding like Dirk-era recordings or early demos but from the evidence of this big collection of songs, Adam is still bubbling with creativity. There has been some criticism regarding the low-fi quality of some of the songs. I don't find this a problem as it adds to the rawness of the music although Adam's vocals are too low in the mix on a couple of tracks.
Like all of his albums, this has it's fair share of great songs such as Cool Zombie, Shrink, the title track, Cradle Your Hatred, Sausage...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A big suprise, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adam Ant Is The Blueblack Hussar (Audio CD)
Of all the possible come back albums that Adam could have made (after a 17-year gap since the excellent Wonderful), this is the last thing I would have expected. Spiritually, it has more in common with his punk days and the 'Dirk wears white sox' album than anything else from the Prince Charming/Kings of the Wild Frontiers era, although, to be honest, it really stands on its own and isn't truly like anything he has done before.

It has a very stripped back approach and is deliberately under produced, almost as if he and his band just turned up at the studio and started jamming. I am happy with this approach generally, but, on occasion, it can mean that his trademark vocals get buried. It is an album that does not make an immediate impact and it does take a few listens to get into the flow. But persevere and you will find some hidden gems.

So in conclusion, this is one of the most original and refreshingly different albums I have heard in a long time. Welcome back Adam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fANTastic!, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adam Ant Is The Blueblack Hussar (Audio CD)
I have been a Adam Ant fan for 30 years now and have been waiting anxiously for the release of this album and boy was it worth the wait! Even on the 1st listen the music sounded great, and I have played it over and over and it just gets better every time. I am going to order the vinyl very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's going to grow and grow, 23 Jan 2013
This review is from: Adam Ant Is The Blueblack Hussar (Audio CD)
At first listen there are stand out tracks that you "get" straight away. Then there are those that you're not quite sure of but at the back of your mind you know they will be your favourites after a few more listens. Agree with the comments about some tracks having a raw feel but other's are well produced so there's obviously a reason why Ad's done this (rather than not being bothered). I read somewhere that he wanted to produce a live album that leant itself to record so that may explain why some of the tracks sound like they do. Maybe he should have presented it as a single album of the stronger tracks with a bonus disk of the others but then maybe not as that wouldn't have been half as interesting. Who really cares as it's new Ant material for the first time in 17 years. Sounds like nothing else you'll hear but can't wait to get back in the car and listen to it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome return, 21 Jan 2013
This review is from: Adam Ant Is The Blueblack Hussar (Audio CD)
Great to see new material from Adam ant after a 17 year wait. Not an easy first listen to be honest but it grows and grows with each listen. It's a compilation of all ant styles with production values of early dirk album. Some stand out tracks for me are shrink, bu******, Vince Taylor, and darlin boy, but keep finding things to admire the more I play it. If the production on some tracks had been better it would have been 5 stars but can't complain about new material and looking forward to hearing them played live. Welcome back mr Ant - nothing else like this out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not that impressed Ant Fan, 1 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adam Ant Is The Blueblack Hussar (Audio CD)
Sorry, Adam (Stuart).
Unfortunately, this album seems to have poor production values, but has the same qualities as the 2 recent stage shows/concerts I've been to.

I'm an Ant Fan from the 80s, have all of the albums on vinyl & CD. Sadly, I think Adam is being ill-advised by sycophants out to make money for themselves from his name & fame. Bring back Marco & drummers that can do the stick work for Antmuzic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adam Ant Is The Blueblack Hussar
Adam Ant Is The Blueblack Hussar by Adam Ant (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews