Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The patch is out.
As long as you have internet access (as you'll still need to download the patch) this is a must have game. It's an SRPG with a twist, in that combat, instead of being pre-determined, is similar to standard JRPGs like the Persona series. The story is excellent and the characters are good, and this hybrid of SRPG and JRPG combat works really well.

The main...
Published 20 months ago by E. Close

versus
42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good game with major bug
This is a tactical RPG where you collect demons and use them in battle to defeat other demons, you move your characters around on a grid type map to engage in battles, similar to Fire Emblem on 3DS. This is a updated version of a DS game from a few years ago, a new chapter was added to the game if I am correct, and the game is now fully voice acted. From what I have...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. N. Donnelly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The patch is out., 9 Jun. 2013
By 
E. Close - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
As long as you have internet access (as you'll still need to download the patch) this is a must have game. It's an SRPG with a twist, in that combat, instead of being pre-determined, is similar to standard JRPGs like the Persona series. The story is excellent and the characters are good, and this hybrid of SRPG and JRPG combat works really well.

The main problem with the game is the occassional escort mission, as your partner AI is poor. As long as you keep an eye on your allies, and remove strong enemies near them, you should be fine.

This is an expanded version of a DS game that didn't come out here, with the main changes being voice acting, new content and the addition of an easy mode, which is good because the game can get quite hard on the standard difficulty.

Now that the bugs are gone, there's no reason not to buy this great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Survive a Demon Invasion, 20 Dec. 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I think it's fair to say that I'm not a big SRPG fan. I enjoy RPGs more for their plots and characters than for their combat systems. And I suck at tactics. With the exception of Fire Emblem: Awakening I haven't really enjoyed any SRPGs. So my review is a little biased right off the start. But the tactical side isn't the problem I have with the game. I do have a beef with some aspects of the game, but that element isn't one of them. I'll cover my problems first so that I can get them out of the way and highlight the good aspects, which are also very good.

This game is (for the most part) a 2D game. You select areas in Tokyo to visit and then your character goes to a still image of that area with character cutouts inserted on top. There is no animation of any kind, just 2D drawings. Kinda like Professor Layton. The battle maps are in 3D, but once you enter combat you simply have a still image of the opposing team. When they attack you they get slightly bigger and they flash when they're hit. That is the extent of the interaction. I have to state right now that this whole thing really bothers me. A lot more than the tactical side. It worked fine for a game like Professor Layton, but here it feels really cheap and uninvolving. It brings back bad memories of the text-based RPGs of years past. Is it really too much to ask for basic villain animations? Even Final Fantasy managed that back when they were on the PS1.

The second annoying aspect of this game is the difficulty. Under no circumstances should you buy the DS version of this game unless you are a mega gamer. The 3DS has added an Easy difficulty setting which I put it on, and the game is still kicking my butt. I have friends who are better at SRPGs and who got the DS version, but gave up midway because it was just too difficult. Why the designers felt the need to punish us I don't know, but it was not a good idea. Bad Guys hurt.

The good part of the game is the characters and plot. Tokyo is under a very quiet demon invasion and the area where our characters are located is ground zero. The authorities have sealed it off and are preparing to do something horrible to eliminate the threat. More worryingly, the protagonist is now able to see what is essentially a death clock over peoples' heads. And nobody's clock shows more than a week. Him and his friends only have a day. His cousin gave him and his two friends DSs (way to be meta Atlus) that allow them to fight and recruit demons of their own. The goal isn't to save the world. All you can do is survive, and that alone'll be tricky. It's a great concept and one that they exploit quite well.

The characters are great too, and in the 3DS port they are fully voiced. The voice acting is excellent and well worth getting the 3DS version for, provided you don't already have a copy.. There is a sequel to this game on the DS, but it might be worth waiting around for it to be released in an upgraded 3DS port too. I understand that one has already been released in Japan so it's only a matter of time. As you might have gathered I have mixed feelings about this game. On the one hand I enjoyed the plot a great deal. On the other, I found the gameplay to be cheap and boring. Depending on what you want out of a Shin Megami Tensei game that will either ruin the game or not be a problem. For my part I'll give the second game a go if it ever comes out in the west. The plot and characters were enough to keep me interested.

Shin Megami Tensei games have a good track record. There are the Persona games which are also set in the modern day (Persona, Persona 2, Persona 3, Persona 4). Additionally there are the main games (most recently Shin Megami Tensei IV which is set in a fantasy kingdom) and Shin Megami Tensei: Strange Journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good game with major bug, 31 Mar. 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
This is a tactical RPG where you collect demons and use them in battle to defeat other demons, you move your characters around on a grid type map to engage in battles, similar to Fire Emblem on 3DS. This is a updated version of a DS game from a few years ago, a new chapter was added to the game if I am correct, and the game is now fully voice acted. From what I have played the story is interesting, and this game offers many hours of gameplay, it is a very long game and I have barely scratched the surface. There are hundred of demons to collect and they can be fused with other demons to create new ones, and their are multiple endings so replay value is high.

If you are worried that this game has a lot of demons in it, and you are worried about all that stuff and if this game is right for you, all I can say is they are more or less like pokemon and not as sinister as you would imagine, they come in all shapes and sizes and one even looks like a cabbage wearing a tie. this is not a devil worshiping game or anything like that and the story is told in your typical Japanese RPG way with likable characters and art style like the Persona games or other Atlus RPGs, watch some video reviews on youtube if you want a clearer explanation of the gameplay and subject matter. From what I have gathered so far from the story, Japan is under attack from demons and you have to defeat them, that is about all I have discovered so far.

My reason for writing this review early is to warn people that the European version contains a bug where if you use the summon command in a battle the game will lock up and freeze on you for a good 4-5 minutes and then will resume as normal and can use the summon command as normal, but it will freeze again in future battles if you use the summon command again,and you must wait it out yet again for the game to start working. You can avoid using the summon command but this will make the game harder for many people I am guessing. This is a major flaw that should never have made it into the game, but I am hoping the people responsible will do the right thing and patch this problem with a update. It is not a random bug, it happens at a specific time , when you use a certain feature, so they should be able to pin point the problem and fix it .

Many will encounter this problem and turn off the game and never return as they will assume it is completely broken, a real shame.

If your game does freeze, just wait a few minutes and you will be able to continue. The game can be completed with this method so it's not completely broken thankfully but this needs to be fixed as it is a awful bug in the game. if the game is fixed then i will be changing my score to 5 stars as this is what the game deserves imo when its working as intended. One or two stars may seem harsh but this is a major problem and almost completely breaks the game. When you are paying £30 odd quid for a game you expect it to work properly, especially after waiting 2 years for this game to be released in Europe.

*update* 25/4/13

Ghostlight have tweeted that a patch has passed through testing to fix these problems and they will be submitting it to Nintendo very soon. so hopefully the problems will be fixed shortly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, Amazing!!!, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Exceeded my expectations. There are a lot of options to choose from. The OST is fantastic and there's only a problem: it makes no use of 3D tech. However, I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, well constructed and stupidly addictive, 29 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Great characters, great storyline, the battle system is challenging and balanced (though a bit grind-heavy on a first playthrough), and the game has great replayable value. One of the most satisfying I've ever played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice rework, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
The game has all the good things of the DS version plus many more demons and some new options an mechanics for new game +, plus the eighth day...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An honest review, 17 May 2013
By 
Mr. D. S. Bassett "Danni" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I had been looking to get this game a while ago but when I learned of the bugs I put it off.
However, Ghostlight have submitted the patch to Nintendo and it's nearly ready.
Having said this, I took the plunge and so happy I did! this is a hidden 3DS gem. Great graphics, full voice acting and nail-biting battles.
The bugs have not slowed my progress, the first bug which is the game freezes when summoning during battle, only last around a minute then you can continue the battle. The other being, when you are in a devil auction the game crashes if a bidder lies, just use "buy now". Problem solved, no crashing!
I am thoroughly enjoying this gaming experience. I suggest you do the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent but buggy., 27 May 2013
By 
E. Matthews "Iralie" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
There is a very good game under the bugs, that snuck in somehow in the porting; hopefully being patched away soon.

Good strategic combat, makes you think.

Not as many demons as other SMT games have had, but a solid SRPG.
Just a shame about the chest, auction, and summoning bugs... its still in American English, so I don't know what was done to introduce the bugs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great game, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Bought as a present, he has now finished the game i would definitely buy another from this series of games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it., 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
A great game, definitely worth your time. I've put in about 30 hours and finished one of the routes (if you include the time I spent failing miserably... its a hard game)

There is a lot of lore involved, and is actually quite nice to learn about various mythological beings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor  Overclocked (Nintendo 3DS)
£30.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews