Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting sequel to Howl's Moving Castle does not disappoint
'Castle in the Air' is Diana Wynne Jones' sequel to the marvelous 'Howl's Moving Castle'. Far from being just an update of the previous story, 'Castle in the Air' introduces us to brand new characters right from the start. The story takes us on an action-packed adventure with new protagonists Abdullah and Flower-in-the-Night, before meeting up with Howl and Sophie...
Published on 8 Jan 2002

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars from a different world
I was surprised to see the number of people who enjoyed this book and don't want to be overly negative. Clearly others haven't been disappointed. But, for me, this book was only just ordinary, a far cry from the brilliant Howl's Moving Castle, which is a real classic. It lacks the freshness and richness and genuine inventiveness of its predecessor. I was not overly...
Published on 23 July 2010 by Professoressa


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting sequel to Howl's Moving Castle does not disappoint, 8 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Castle in the Air (Audio Cassette)
'Castle in the Air' is Diana Wynne Jones' sequel to the marvelous 'Howl's Moving Castle'. Far from being just an update of the previous story, 'Castle in the Air' introduces us to brand new characters right from the start. The story takes us on an action-packed adventure with new protagonists Abdullah and Flower-in-the-Night, before meeting up with Howl and Sophie towards the latter part of their journey. A variety of twists and turns guide the plot, with plenty of sorcery and a few laughs thrown in for good measure. Highly entertaining as a story in its own right, and for fans of Howl, this will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired by The Arabian Nights, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castle in the Air (Paperback)
This sequel to Howl's Moving Castle follows a new protagonist, Abdullah the carpet merchant in a neighboring country, as he embarks on a journey to follow his heart's desire and the prophecy made at his birth. The story is very much inspired by The Arabian Nights and pulls you into the same magical experience as the first book. What I was most excited about when reading this book was the knowledge that Abdullah would somehow come to meet Howl and Sophie. My only wish after finishing this book is that it would have focused even more on them. Still, it was an enjoyable read and always a blast to see more of Howl and company!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Fantastic Read!!!, 23 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Castle in the Air (Paperback)
The wonderful thing about Diana Wynne Jones' writing is that her characters are so perfectly formed. The heroes have good days and bad days, get grumpy, do the wrong thing just like real people do. This is a great follow up to Howl's Moving Castle, although, as with many of Jones' books, it is not a straight sequel and old characters are not the mainstay of the story. This book made me laugh from beginning to end and remains one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Light As Air, 24 Oct 2014
By 
Rotgut "rotgut" (Warrington UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castle in the Air (Paperback)
Great sequel to "Howl's Moving Castle".

Unusually for a sequel, especially a fantasy novel following on from a previous volume, initially, the story, characters and even the setting have little (or, apparently, nothing) in common with the earlier work. Instead of the faux-medieval land of Ingary, with Walled Cities, Kings and Witches, Hat shops and Bakeries we have an Arabian Nights type Eastern setting with Deserts, Bazaars and Djinn. But with the magic of Diana Wynne Jones firmly still in place, "Castle in the Air" is every bit as entertaining and involving as its predecessor.

Abdullah, our carpet seller hero, is a funny and worthy character. His adventures in land of Raspuht are fast moving and action -packed. It's almost a shame when (about half way through) we leave the the city of Zanzib without quite tying up all loose ends and the scene shifts to Ingary.

The later parts of the book do allow DWJ to revisit the characters from "Howl's Moving Castle"..a book which ended rather frenetically.. and show the fate of the various heroes and heroines. This time out, more lengthy closing scenes give a chance to properly establish what happens to everyone.

Funny and perfectly plotted and paced, this adventure of young wizards and witches is, for my money, far superior to the rather more clunky "Potter" books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it!!, 7 Feb 2009
By 
Jorna Begum "Icecream-lover" (U.K, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Castle in the Air (Paperback)
I think this was an amazing book and found these new characters very intresting but i think that it can't really be called a sequel to howls moving castle because the characters from hmc are'nt really relavent in this one. I think that diana wynne jones should make a proper sequel in which howl and sophie are main characters again and not just just put them in in other books which relate to the first!! I do really love this book and recommend it to everyone who loves magical books!!! (i also recommend that you should read Howl's Moving Castle before reading castle in the air so that you can understand sophies character a bit more. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tonnes of fun!, 8 Feb 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castle in the Air (Paperback)
Castle in the air is a great sequel to Howls moving castle. Howl, Sophie, Calcifer and the gang appear very subtley throughout the story, making you slap your head at the end when you realise who they are. As after the first book the characters seemingly settled down, it makes sense to introduce new characters. Abdullah is a bit wet, as is flower in the night, but the book is worth reading just to meet the two fat twins Abdullah is set to marry. Excellant read. One of DWJ's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars from a different world, 23 July 2010
This review is from: Castle in the Air (Paperback)
I was surprised to see the number of people who enjoyed this book and don't want to be overly negative. Clearly others haven't been disappointed. But, for me, this book was only just ordinary, a far cry from the brilliant Howl's Moving Castle, which is a real classic. It lacks the freshness and richness and genuine inventiveness of its predecessor. I was not overly interested in Castle in the Air, in fact, until the return of Sophie - and she does not reappear until very late.

Good news is: House of Many Ways, her 2008 sequel to Howl's Moving Castle, sees Wynne Jones return to form. I'd skip straight to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars arabian dreams, 24 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Castle in the Air (Paperback)
This book is less of a sequel, more of a loosely connected little gem. I loved it. The whole story of a magic carpet that goes places you dream of- excellent! Who hasn't wanted one of those? And the castle in the air itself is one of those things you catch yourself looking out the window for while you're reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ORDER THIS BOOK...FROM HERE, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castle in the Air (Paperback)
Enioyed the book all the way through to the end! if you enjoyed castle in the air you will no doubt enjoy this too! Oh! And a pleasant service! good delivery and condition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Howl's Moving Castle - excellent!, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castle in the Air (Kindle Edition)
I saw the film and was enchanted years ago and now reading the book has added depth and enjoyment to that experience. How I hadn't guessed that Howl is of course, a Welsh name I'll never know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Castle in the Air
Castle in the Air by Diana Wynne Jones
£2.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews