Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 16 November 2012
I like pretty much everything Tenebrae has recorded (with the exception, perhaps of their rather tedious Paul Mealor disc ( Paul Mealor - Selections From A Tender Light SATB (Satb Chorus)), but this is something really quite special. The disc falls into two stylistically distinct parts, yet there are strong intellectual links between them which make the whole disc more rewarding even than the sum of its excellent parts.

The first part of the CD consists of a programme of Bach chorales and the violin Partita No.2 in d, performed by Gordan Nikolitch. This brings to life academic research conducted by Professor Helga Thoene, who argues that the underlying harmonic structure, as well as melodic devices of the partitas, can be shown to be based on the harmonic structure of Bach's chorale harmonisations, making the music not only a beautiful expression of pure melody, but also a spiritual meditation on the chorales themselves. The Hilliard Ensemble's Morimur was, I believe, the first disc to present her work, but the attraction of this CD is that you don't have the Hilliard's 'distinctive' tone to contend with (unless you like that sort of thing). Here, you have Tenebrae's musical, passionate and beautiful sound, and Nikolitch's excellent violin playing. To my mind, the 13 minute Ciaconna with Chorale Interpolations is worth the price alone.

But that's not all. The Faure may be much better known, but this is an outstanding recording of the work. The orchestral playing is fabulous, the small forces perfectly balanced with the organ, and the choir is in utterly compelling voice. Will Gaunt does a fine job of the Hostias and Libera Me, and Grace Davidson offers a beautiful soprano solo in the Pie Jesu. Granted, there may be recordings which excel in individual areas, but I can't think of one which offers so much in one package. Very highly recommended.
11 comment24 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 February 2013
I was intrigued by this, but it works beautifully. The movements of Bach's D minor solo violin Partita interspersed with Bach Chorale settings. Then the great Chaconne with closes the Partita gently overlaid with the sung chorales which are apparently hidden within it. Beautifully done, too, the violin is never obscured. Then the final held open/stopped d' which concludes the partita segues into the octave d's which open the Fauré Requiem. Which in turn is a beautiful and moving performance. Cumulatively the effect is powerful and highly moving. Highly recommended!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
This live recording is magnificent. If ever there was a CD that made you feel that you were 'In The Room' then this is it. Gorgeous and essential Sunday morning listening.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
THe Requiem is a favourite work which I have sung several times over the years. My previous recording was on an LP purchased 'way back' and seeing the various CD's on offer I asked a musically-qualified friend for an opinion on which to get. Tenebre, I was told, are always good, and so they are. I had not appreciated that they are a smallish ensemble and whilst their performance is excellent I prefer, on balance, a larger choir; purely a personal choice, just as some like 'Messiah' performed by a chamber choir and limited instruments, and others prefer Huddersfield Choral Society with a full orchestra. Good value for money though.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
A lovely pure Requiem, illuminated by the Bach Partitas and Chrales which precede it and get you in the mood
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
Having sung alto in this requiem, I love a church setting for this very moving piece, and feel a strong affinity with it.

This recording doesn't disappoint. It's pure, perfectly restrained and beautifully executed. I'm particularly keen on female voices for soprano and alto parts rather than boy choristers, which is why I specifically chose this recording rather than the well-known Willcocks' Cambridge version.

I will definitely be looking out for more recordings by Tenebrae - their sound is absolutely lovely.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I really love the Faure. The performance is one of the very best, the soloists are excellent, and for once the sacd layer is fantastic on my sound sytem. Nikolitch's Bach partita 2 in D minor sounds very spontaneous and realistic sounding. I'm really impressed by the new musical enlightenment I obtained from the interspersed chorales.
My only disappointment is the overlaying of the choral music above the great Chaconne, which kinda works but really doesn't enhance, rather the opposite. I wish it had been provided as an 'alternative' extra track, like having alternative cadenzas. The unaccompanied great Chaconne, which is a complete and perfect sculpture without the need for extra sonic shading, would IMO be the better way.
I was very taken by Nikolitch's playing, sounding sweet and natural, like a live performance, and not so self-important as some versions of the Bach solo violin S&Ps, and very acceptable sound texture indeed before the opening of the Requiem.
Very well done indeed.
Thank you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
If you only buy one recording of Fauré Requiem, make sure it's this one - you won't hear a finer version. If you already have other recordings, you obviously love this piece so you'll will appreciate the vocal and instrumental control in this performance that allows the music to speak for itself.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
I have only listened to the Faure, but this is amazing, normally with Choir and orchestra, the orchestra often is let down be the choir, here the choir is great, absolutely no flaws in the soprano or intonation. Another big plus point is the acoustics, as it is not recorded in the barbican but in a church, here you really feel how good London Symphony Orchestra is, when it is not spoilt by the bad muffled Barbican Hall. This recording proofs that London Symphony Orchestra should look into another concert venue to really start glowing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
I had an old copy of the Faure Requiem on C.D. and thought there might be a better one now. Looking through the reviews this seemed to come tops, even though it's a live recording which I normally wouldn't buy. I'm glad I did, it's beautiful, and a lovely recording.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£5.99
£6.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.