Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars93
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 December 2014
At first i actually heard Outro on the NBA basketball Finals between Miami Heat & San Antonio Spurs, ever since then iwas hunting for the song.. longing to here it again.
Then one day i was scrolling through songs on Youtube (as you do) and found it!!!
i was amazed at how good it sounded and couldn't believe the uplifting vocal driven masterpiece of the song..
so i immediately started searching the rest of there music, to then find Midnight City and was sold.
i brought the album from amazon there and then, just for those two songs alone
once the cd arrived i decided to listen to the full album from start to finish, and my GOD im glad i did
i was instantly hooked on like 6-8 songs after one play
this is my favourite chill out album for when im feeling in my own bubble
whether im happy, sad, angry etc i listen to this album, on the way to work, thinking about the past, dreaming about the future i listen to a couple of songs and i feel warm and happy inside.
this album is one i would recommend to anyone but only some will understand the passion and effort that has gone in to making these song. M83 have blown me away and i will always have a place in my heart for this album
i love everysong so i wouldnt like to pick an choose but there are certain tracks that i enjoy more than others for personal and emotional reasons.
this album is amazing, thanks for taking the time to read my opinion on this and i hope you atleast give this album a listen... it really is worth it!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
Discovered this band purely by accident - from the Persil advert on TV and I'm hooked.
Just love the whole loud synthesized music and soft lyrics in the background.
Something different to listen to!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
The electronic pop dance band M83 is the brainchild of Frenchman Anthony Gonzales, who now largely plays solo but with the backing assistance of a host of different musicians. M83 have been going since 2001, and have slowly but surely built up a dedicated following. While ambient dream Euro pop doesn’t have my natural affinity it still has its place in my life and I do rather like the clever melodies and sound of M83.

While we wait for the new recording, double album, Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming is M83’s 6th album (and to date the last) with a total of 22 tracks (count ‘em) and released in 2011. While some of the tracks time to normal length of 4-5 minutes, Gonzales is not afraid to drop a short 90 second idea on you either.

The out and out hit of the album is the slightly dance trance but also distinctly retro 1980’s style of Midnight City. The track is apparently the theme tune to the TV series Made in Chelsea but please don’t hold that against it. The track is about Gonzales’ observations of LA and is probably one of the more lively tracks on the album.

The song that has more of an impact for me is the first one, the magnificent Intro with its lush electronic but orchestral aspiration. I don’t want to drag Moby into the discussion but that similar sense of grand ambition is there. The guest vocals by the most excellent Zola Jesus add to the image I get from the song of a sweeping staircase in a mansion. The end track Outro has a similar (and equally successful) grand ambition.
Wait is another solid track with a nice flowing and lush musical electrolica fronted by a rather sad and lonely vocal. Raconte-Moi une Histoire panders to my enjoyment of the obscure by having a very solid musical score set against a child telling a tale about a frog. It ends in a very exuberant style and has a lot going for it. Echoes of Mine likewise has that slightly 1970’s Gong space jazz sound with a distorted female French vocal but merges in a big electronic blast of a musical chorus. I like.

It’s not all good; New Map is a little too ambitious and ends up with all the subtly of a latter career Enya track; echo and distortion apparently being the key. There are a few tracks in the 22 like this that feel less than vital, but overall the album is very listenable and enjoyable.
The theme of the album is unsurprisingly (given the title) loosely around dreaming, and in places it would seem that the nineties and the zeros were rather like Pam Ewing’s dream in Dallas; tracks like Reunion rather sound like latter day Police, Claudia Lewis like a white funk Men at Work (it still doesn’t work for me sorry), and OK Pal reminds me of the likes of Duran Duran or Kajagoogoo.

Overall Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming is all good and I like the maturity and confidence within the album. As a double album it hangs together well as good solid background music and it’s one I’m not yet tiring of.

Buy Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming if you like:

• Rather grand pieces of modern electronic music
• Modern ambient music that doesn’t take itself too seriously
• Music with a distinct nod to the UK in the early 1980’s
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
Just about everything to do with this release is big: the sound, the production, the 2CDs, the expectations, the artist AG's ambition and chutzpah. Thankfully, it really lives up to the hype, and is among the top contenders for album of the year. It's meant to be played loud over earphones or in some cavernous empty building, and it's there that the LP transports you to new spaces.

Like other M83 offerings, it offers the usual fast rock and roll with keyboards tracks (This Bright Flash, New Map), interspersed between long slow instrumentals, usually sounds of synthy organs and piano, seemingly in a cathedral, some desperately moving inexorably towards crescendoes (Another wave).

Lots of good stuff get thrown in: more AG vocals, ballads, some fairly pop-minded ditties, RnB basslines and doowopping, horns, cowbells.

Virtues: definitely CD1. Both CDs are strong, but the tracks 'intro,' 'wait' and 'midnight city' really set the table. CD2 is slower, more inward looking. The arrangement of tracks is also superb -- like a good rollercoaster, with big thunderous highs. Ends beautifully with 'outro.' To this ear, not much filler.

Best tracks: Intro, Midnight City, Steve McQueen, Wait, Outro

On the minus side: The packaging is a little underwhelming and the imagery has a Donnie Darko vibe, which is fitting but only in a cheesy, formulaic sort of way. Like the last LP (Saturdays = Youth), it recalls the artificial nostalgia of teenagehood, and new- and dark-ness of teen angst. Also, not sure about 'Raconte-moi,' which plays on AG's more theatre-pop seen elsewhere (e.g., Before the Dawn's Car chase terror); it's certainly possibly a situational like, but sounds like a commercial for life cover.

Overall, sounds like: some parts Peter Gabriel, pre-90s Bowie, Talk Talk, some parts Ride and other shoegaze. The general spirit of the opus follows that of Saturdays = Youth, but there are some tracks that are explosive and unsettling, a la Dead Cities or Before the Dawn. One definitely sees the artist maturing, branching out and lording over his dominion.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
I really enjoyed this album, bar one or two songs all the tracks were great.
The trailer to the movie tracks brought me to this band and was shocked at how many off the songs I had hear before on the radio but paid no attention to. Should have more recognition as there songs are in a lot off adverts and TV programmes.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
Just downloaded this on iTunes having heard the clip of the song on the finish advert and absolutely blown away by it. So rare to find an album this good these days. Especially for me personally as I'm not "plugged in" to most of today's music. Why can't music be more like this?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
Powerful stuff. Producing music that listeners can connect to on a deep, emotional level is a real talent, which most songwriters/musicians only partly achieve (if at all). I particularly love 'Wait'. Amazing album, will be checking out M83's back catalogue. One word - unique.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
Absolutely love it still listening to it everytime i have my tunes on its straight to this album. Listen to it whenever wherever on the go on an evening walk along the beach or just chilling or play it load on the big speakers. Absolutely awesome sound really quite addictive. Highly reccomend this
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
I admit I am not at all familiar with M83 so cannot compare this to any of their other efforts (if there are any) nor do I possess any specialist musical knowledge, all I will say that this a really good album and by far better than the disappointing new Daft Punk album 'Random Access Memories' there I said it... don't glare like that you were warned!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
Bought this after Outro was used on the Cloud Atlas trailer. No regrets - the whole album is equally as good. A great blend of electronic music with rock overtones, yet in the end it is its own style. A happy discovery which I can wholeheartedly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)