Customer Reviews


240 Reviews
5 star:
 (166)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely Story
This album is something new for Alfie as he himself states in the booklet that comes with the cd. It is different and needs to be listened to with care. Alfie has taken some well loved songs, good songs and has given an interpretation which takes care to express the meaning and sentiment of the story behind both words and music It is the sensitive approach, and his voice...
Published 20 months ago by Pauline h

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promised a lot but did not deliver
Purchased CD after seeing Alfie perform Bridge over Troubled Water accompanied by acoustic guitar. I was disappointed, not only with the CD version of Bridge over Troubled Water, but the whole album seemed a bit Karaoke. This could have been a lot better. Still worth buying if you are an Alfie fan as it is 'decent', but did not live up to my expectations.
Published 19 months ago by Double_en


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not enough superlatives., 21 Nov 2012
This review is from: Storyteller (Audio CD)
Oh my this is a fantastic album. The tracks chosen are Alfies favourites and although he puts his own stamp on them all, it with the reverance that only a lover of the originals could do.

Sun aint gonna shine is sublime. If i can dream - truly inspirational. I can't help falling in love with you and Its now or never - totally amazing soothing versions of the originals.

Yes i am a fan and would probably love it if he sang the phone book but no-one can deny the beautiful voice he has and what he does with these classic songs is fantastic.

As Alfie says 'there is only good and bad music'. This album is most definitely GOOD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply STUNNING!, 14 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storyteller (Audio CD)
Storyteller is simply STUNNING! By far Alfie Boe`s best album. Wonderful songs, wonderful voice. Love it very much. Thank you Mr Boe !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promised a lot but did not deliver, 6 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storyteller (Audio CD)
Purchased CD after seeing Alfie perform Bridge over Troubled Water accompanied by acoustic guitar. I was disappointed, not only with the CD version of Bridge over Troubled Water, but the whole album seemed a bit Karaoke. This could have been a lot better. Still worth buying if you are an Alfie fan as it is 'decent', but did not live up to my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS REALLY IS A CRACKER OF AN ALBUM !, 5 Dec 2012
By 
pete clack - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Storyteller (Audio CD)
The more I play this new Alfie Boe album the more the enjoyment grows, first the song selection is excellent and includes ones I never thought I'd hear him sing.Paul Simon and Walker Brothers hits sure but two Rolling Stones songs and one of The Animals classic blues based hits.His take on both 'Angie' and 'Shine A Light', and he's no Mick Jagger, are superb, and really get a new lease of life by some new arrangements by Alfie's recording band and that amazing voice of his.'Bridge Over Troubled Water' and 'The Sun Ain't Gonna Shine Anymore' really fit his voice like a glove and are outstanding performances, as is his take on the old Emmylou Harris favourite 'Angel From Montgomery',written by John Prine a master songwriter, again Alfie pulls pure gold in singing this truly great song.Add to the mix Roy Orbison's 'It's Over' gives him chance to show the power and range of his voice as does 'If I Can Dream', then we have Elvis's 'Can't Help Falling In Love' a song there are so many versions of but Alfie's is right up there with the very best.In all 13 great songs, backed by a small group of guitar,bass ,drums and keyboards plus orchestral parts.This is a slighty different take from his other albums, but here we have a hugely enjoyable release that will give lasting pleasure and fill quite a lot of stockings this Christmas.
All in all Alfie Boe continues to produce outstandingly good albums, and also develop a wider range of music will each release to prove again and again he is one of the very finest artists, and I recommend this exceptional album 5* plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Unique and Versatile Talent, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storyteller (Audio CD)
Alfie Boe's third release on the Decca label sees a departure from the classical music and show tunes featured on his earlier albums. "Storyteller" showcases Alfie's versatile musical ability via a range of smash hit tunes from across the decades.
Opening with the inspiring crescendo of `Bridge Over Troubled Water' the album features two Rolling Stones' hits `Angie' and `Shine a Light' each ballad staged with a sweet pathos befitting the stories they tell. A highlight on this beautifully produced album is Roy Orbison's `It's Over', perfectly captured with the purity of Alfie's faultless tenor voice. Unusually, `I Can't Help Falling in Love with You' becomes a lullaby, the arrangement complementing the honeyed tones of the vocalist by drawing on the tinkly sound of softly played high piano notes to achieve the sleepy effect. However listeners are not left napping for long as the album powers through a stunning selection (Everybody's Talking', Please Don't Let Me be Misunderstood') and then surges toward a climax with potently vocalised gospel renderings of `Wayfaring Stranger' and `Rank Strangers to Me'.
Although these songs have been covered by many, this album delivers on its promise of delighting the listener through Alfie Boe's magnificent voice in unique arrangements of well-loved hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful CD, 14 Nov 2012
This review is from: Storyteller (Audio CD)
Listen carefully to this CD with an open mind. This is not Alfie the the tenor but Alfie the singer,as he wishes to be known as. Each song is sung with such feeling and understanding as to what the words mean. His slant on each song is truly wonderful. Alfie is taking us on a journey with his music and it is one I will gladly take with him. He is a joy to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is there anything Alfie Boe can't sing?, 13 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Storyteller (Audio CD)
It is a rare singer that can sing any style of music and do it with such expression and so well.
It must have been a huge decision to widen his scope with this CD when everyone wants to
hear everything he has done before over and over again. Bravo! This is a wonderful CD and
can be played over and over with great appreciation. Well done Alfie! Can't wait to see what is next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen & Enjoy, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storyteller (Audio CD)
This album is a departure from Alfies earlier recordings steeped in opera and musical theatre. It is a natural progression from the style of songs he has been performing on his recent summer tour.These are songs he has grown up loving which clearly shows in the recordings. Listen to the album as a whole rather than 13 individual songs. This is a soulful collection performed by a master of his craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storyteller (Audio CD)
I was really disappointed in this CD as I am a great Alfie Boe fan. My previous purchase was really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God Buy, 9 Sep 2013
By 
R. Booth (Chelmsford - Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storyteller (Audio CD)
Bought for my wife who loved his singing in Les Misreables. CD didn't disapoint. Will look out for the next release
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Storyteller
Storyteller by Alfie Boe
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews