Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly Diverse
Julia Holter is probably destined for comparisons with Julianna Barwick. Both choose to work alone, have a penchant for renaissance music and like to overdub and layer their vocals, oh and their names and physical appearance are kind of similar too. Even though thats all true, Ektasis doesn't really aim for angelic transcendence like Barwicks 2011 opus The Magic Place...
Published on 12 Mar 2012 by Kenneth

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is not ekstacy
All I hear on this album by a so called experimental pop artiste is a mix of Enya, Laurie Anderson and John Foxx's Cathedral Oceans period.
That is not a bad thing per sé.
It's just that it's all done before.
I enjoy listening to this but I'm afraid it won't stay with me for very long.
Published on 28 Mar 2012 by Yves Vandezande


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly Diverse, 12 Mar 2012
By 
Kenneth (nottingham, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ekstasis (Audio CD)
Julia Holter is probably destined for comparisons with Julianna Barwick. Both choose to work alone, have a penchant for renaissance music and like to overdub and layer their vocals, oh and their names and physical appearance are kind of similar too. Even though thats all true, Ektasis doesn't really aim for angelic transcendence like Barwicks 2011 opus The Magic Place did. Instead it's a little more progressive, avant garde and unpredictable. This album floats from choral music to minimal electronic music than to middle eastern and free jazz, (sometimes in the same song). All these styles are delicately woven together on ekstasis to create a fascinating tapestry of sounds that sommehow feel like they were made for each other.

Take Four Gardens which begins with an oriental flourish of delicate xylophone hits, electric synths and a viola? That is soon to be accompanied by an out of control sax, muted drumming and some other peculiar ambient noodlings. Whilst all this is happening over the song's 6 minute length, Julia Holter's voice chameleonically transitions between the Far east, The Middle East and the West with such skill as to appear blithe whilst doing so. In The Same Room is a little more conventional in it's construction, however it's still eclectic by any artists standards. Combining the airy gradiations of a subdued drum machine, sustained organ and breathy vocals (think Beach House) whilsts conjuring up the feel of julee Cruise and Baroque music with her versatile singing/self harmonisng and a lingering harpiscord being played in the background.

Julia Holter is a very talented artist who can flawlessly mimic Laurie Anderson's vocoder brilliance in one song and match Joni Mitchel's emotive voice in another. Yet, she avoids accusations of plagarism by borrowing just a little from these artsists and blending it with something abstract or ambient, to produce a style thats truely her own. The lack of a strong melody or hook could be a problem for some listeners who may want their music to sound a little more visceral and a little less cerebral, which isn't really a problem for me as i can enjoy bepop as much as hard rock.

However, this album does feel a little slight and meandering at times when it takes one detour too many, Which stops me from wholeheartedly endorsing it as a masterpiece of multifarious art music. This minor criticism may turn out to be lacking in validity though, as their are probably a myriad of subtle nuances that i may have missed through not listening to this album the dozen times it may require to truely unravel it's genius. If my last paragraph is void, you should definitely buy this! If i'm right you should still buy this, because it's that good even with the caveats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Et in Arcadia ego, 12 Dec 2012
This review is from: Ekstasis (Audio CD)
After the superb debut proper of Tragedy, Julia Holter followed up with this mesmerizing confection of an album.

Clearly not afraid of a concept album, the best way to describe the atmosphere as a whole is like 'Alice's Adventures in Wonderland' - traveling down rabbit holes, confronted by emotionally-charged situations and obscure diversions at every turn. That's not to say this is inaccessible in the slightest - the stand out tracks are mutated pop music such as 'In The Same Room' and the two part 'Goddess Eyes' which have brain-worm hooks but offer enough intrigue and riffs on the central theme to keep you coming back for more. 'Boy In the Moon' could be described as Lynchian but more specifically 'TwinPeaksian'(!) with the Julee Cruise-like vocals and hushed Badalamenti score weaving its way to a dark climax.

There are countless touchstones for elements of Julia's sound but its very singularity transcends the sum of its parts - like the very best music 'Ekstasis' is transporting and addictive.

Without a doubt one of my favourite albums this, or any other, year. Immerse yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a whirlwind of musical journey, 2 Dec 2013
This review is from: Ekstasis [VINYL] (Vinyl)
If chart topping music is your thing this may disappoint. If on the other hand you fancy a musical acid trip of multi layered sound jump in and buy this sometimes haunting blast from Julia Holter which for a bonus includes two versions of the exceptional goddess eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent LP, at once quirky and irresistible nocturnes, 18 Dec 2012
By 
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ekstasis (Audio CD)
Initially a little skeptical of this, but happily surprised with its tightly consistent melodies and production quality, which build fairy-tale like soundscapes and imagery. All of the songs seem like twinkly nocturnes or swirly, hypnotic affairs, incorporating a host of strings, organs/keyboards, and electrics, some horns. They're hardly pop ditties or beaty danceables, but nevertheless force repeated plays. Lyrics are lovely and clear, and remind one of Grimes, Hex, and Cocteau Twins but with a more dainty, accessible vibe; while the music is paced and themed like Blue Nile, 17 Pygmies, Talk Talk. Great for slow nights in, background/reading music (in the most respectful way), walks, chillout. Best tracks: goddess eyes 2, fur felix, in the same room, our sorrows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNUSUAL AND BRILLIANT, 7 July 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ekstasis (MP3 Download)
A complete breath of fresh air, ambitious and complex without being pompous and with great songs and a cheeky Roxy Music sample thrown in for good measure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vote For Julia Holter At The Rober Awards 2012 Music Poll, 12 Jan 2013
This review is from: Ekstasis (Audio CD)
Julia Holter "Ekstasis" is up for best album; song of the year; best female artist; cutting edge artist; etc. at this year's Rober Awards Music Poll. You can vote for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is not ekstacy, 28 Mar 2012
By 
Yves Vandezande (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ekstasis (Audio CD)
All I hear on this album by a so called experimental pop artiste is a mix of Enya, Laurie Anderson and John Foxx's Cathedral Oceans period.
That is not a bad thing per sé.
It's just that it's all done before.
I enjoy listening to this but I'm afraid it won't stay with me for very long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaef45954)

This product

Ekstasis
Ekstasis by Julia Holter (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews