Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Strategy Guide
This is a decent version of a classic text. It's well laid out with a table of contents making it easy to dip in and out.

The ideas and strategies are individually explained in a couple of sentences, prompting the reader to muse over the ideas and gain a deeper understanding of the concepts.

Originally written over a thousand years ago, the timeless...
Published 10 days ago by Colin G Smith

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The art of war without the explanation
The book is without commentary so its not in depth, if it had used commentary to further explain in detail and used History to support the ideas and theory's it would have been excellent. If anyone knows of a book which does that please let us the readers know.
Published on 5 May 2011 by Mr Khan


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Strategy Guide, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Kindle Edition)
This is a decent version of a classic text. It's well laid out with a table of contents making it easy to dip in and out.

The ideas and strategies are individually explained in a couple of sentences, prompting the reader to muse over the ideas and gain a deeper understanding of the concepts.

Originally written over a thousand years ago, the timeless wisdom contained in this gem by Sun Tzu, has been utilised by many military and business men/women for profitable advantage.

This Kindle version of, "The Art of War," contains reliable insights and strategies that you can put to practical use in your daily life, in an easily digested, readable format.

Colin G Smith, author of, Difficult People: Dealing With Difficult People At Work (Quick Start Guide)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kindle review- a reasonably clear modern sounding translation, 2 April 2011
By 
Julie Cutler - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art Of War (Kindle Edition)
I'm sampling all the Kindle versions of the Art of War to pick a readable translation.
Like buses that all seem to come at once, this is YET ANOTHER version of the Lionel Giles' 1910 version without the rather heavy original footnotes or the mildly useful Giles introduction. It's actually in quite readable English for the date, and seems reasonably understandable in the 21st century. I've no idea on the accuracy of the translation.

Opening line from other Giles versions: "Sun Tzu said: the art of war is of vital importance to the State.
It is a matter of life and death, a road either to safety or to ruin. Hence it is a subject of inquiry which can on no account be neglected."

Prices vary considerably but the words stay the same.

Update: after clattering through all the Kindle samples, this is the one I chose, because it's the cheapest, AND I can always read the original introduction by getting a sample download from another version. Simples!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Option, 20 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Art of War (Hardcover)
I am an enthusiast of historical figures, specifically, military figures and men of enlightenment. So, naturally, Sun Tzu's "The Art Of War" was a must read for me. With the original written in ancient chinese i found it surprisingly difficult to find a single english translation that was without a Thesis from the Author; I would personally like to read the book and make my own interpretations without being influenced by someone elses opinions at the end of each paragraph and would definetaly recommend this edition for any like minded people.

The only downside i would highlight is that much of the original script was not or could not be translated, and the result is 13 short chapters, readable in a day or two - although the amount of wisdom of warfare and life overall that is in this short book is astonishingly so, that i would recommend everyone read it at least once in their lifetime.

I hope this review has been helpful to those of you that are considering purchasing this book. Please rate kindly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and Concise, 20 Jun 2012
This review is from: Art Of War (Kindle Edition)
When I ordered this book I was surprised by how small the book was. It wasn't the best book I read but it did have some interesting phrases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Classic For All, 19 Dec 2012
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Kindle Edition)
You may be wondering why I have picked such a title for this review, and there is a very good reason for it. Written well over a thousand years ago Sun Tzu's tactical guide to war is still used and taught in military schools, and has found more applications over the centuries.

The tactics laid out here were used in historical battles fought in Asia and China but they were also used by Ninja's and intelligence services. Nowadays still used by the military and intelligence worlds they have found a place in business. Why this is so is firstly because it isn't long to read, it isn't hard to read, and it is reliable information. If you use a bit of thought then you can apply the teachings of Sun Tzu in your life, as and when necessary. Of course although being short this does make you use your brain and think, and this in itself can make you come up with ideas how to apply the teachings here. This is a must read for those who study military tactics, and military history, as well as businessmen, and those who want to be one step ahead of the game. Ultimately this is the classic for all, and hopefully can help you in unforeseen ways, and in many situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The art of war without the explanation, 5 May 2011
This review is from: The Art of War (Hardcover)
The book is without commentary so its not in depth, if it had used commentary to further explain in detail and used History to support the ideas and theory's it would have been excellent. If anyone knows of a book which does that please let us the readers know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware of Kindle edition!, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are no annotations and there is no introduction in the ebook version of this book which means it looses all of the appeal of the print edition. Total waste of momey and space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely formatting and good pictures, 4 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Art of War (Kindle Edition)
I've looked at a few editions of this but I like this one the most, it's great to read the clear intro and see the artistically inspired interpretations of sun tzu's classic words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great edition of classic strategy text, 1 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Art of War (Kindle Edition)
great edition of classic strategy text, I loved the clear intro, and the text and illustrations are well laid out. This is an essential book for those looking to think more clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kindle review- reasonably accessible translation, 2 April 2011
By 
Julie Cutler - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I'm sampling all the Kindle versions of the Art of War to pick a readable translation.
This is YET ANOTHER version of the Lionel Giles' 1910 version (as I seem to be saying on the majority of the reviews) without Giles' useful introduction or his heavy footnotes. It's actually in quite readable English for the date, and seems reasonably understandable in the 21st century. I've no idea on the accuracy of the translation.

Opening line : "Sun Tzu said: the art of war is of vital importance to the State.
It is a matter of life and death, a road either to safety or to ruin. Hence it is a subject of inquiry which can on no account be neglected."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of War
The Art of War by Sun Tzu
0.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews