Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Classic For All
You may be wondering why I have picked such a title for this review, and there is a very good reason for it. Written well over a thousand years ago Sun Tzu's tactical guide to war is still used and taught in military schools, and has found more applications over the centuries.

The tactics laid out here were used in historical battles fought in Asia and China...
Published 16 months ago by M. Dowden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book
Book was cheap so I thought its one of the great classics that you should have in your bookshelf :-)
Published 4 months ago by Holly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Classic For All, 19 Dec 2012
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Kindle Edition)
You may be wondering why I have picked such a title for this review, and there is a very good reason for it. Written well over a thousand years ago Sun Tzu's tactical guide to war is still used and taught in military schools, and has found more applications over the centuries.

The tactics laid out here were used in historical battles fought in Asia and China but they were also used by Ninja's and intelligence services. Nowadays still used by the military and intelligence worlds they have found a place in business. Why this is so is firstly because it isn't long to read, it isn't hard to read, and it is reliable information. If you use a bit of thought then you can apply the teachings of Sun Tzu in your life, as and when necessary. Of course although being short this does make you use your brain and think, and this in itself can make you come up with ideas how to apply the teachings here. This is a must read for those who study military tactics, and military history, as well as businessmen, and those who want to be one step ahead of the game. Ultimately this is the classic for all, and hopefully can help you in unforeseen ways, and in many situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kindle review- reasonably accessible translation, 2 April 2011
By 
Julie Cutler - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I'm sampling all the Kindle versions of the Art of War to pick a readable translation.
This is YET ANOTHER version of the Lionel Giles' 1910 version (as I seem to be saying on the majority of the reviews) without Giles' useful introduction or his heavy footnotes. It's actually in quite readable English for the date, and seems reasonably understandable in the 21st century. I've no idea on the accuracy of the translation.

Opening line : "Sun Tzu said: the art of war is of vital importance to the State.
It is a matter of life and death, a road either to safety or to ruin. Hence it is a subject of inquiry which can on no account be neglected."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You know what it is, and it's worth a read., 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Kindle Edition)
An Ancient book on the dynamics of war, understandably dated but also timeless in principal. If you like the title you will like the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars truly a marvel, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Kindle Edition)
I can see why this has been such a stalwart of military strategy for so long. Insightful and clever. Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars War huh?, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Kindle Edition)
It might just help you in your day to day life to win your own wars in which we all fight each day.
The translation is loose but your mind gets used to it 71K3 R3AD1NG numbers and letters together. You get to grips with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy going but stick with it, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Kindle Edition)
Somewhat philosophical in places but an invaluable insight into the Chinese mind. Very interesting once you get through the heavy bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to take in, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Kindle Edition)
I was given this book to read as part of my black belt preparation and .u st admit that it is one of the hardest books I have ever read (along with The Book of Five Rings).
I did not like the way this book was written as it it set out in short bullet point paragraphs, however I can understand why this book is still used in modern times as a lot of it can be adopted in other ways other than martial arts.
I am glad I read this book but the way it was written has made me award this book only 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Masterpiece, 6 Jan 2014
By 
Charlie54 "charliemor45" (Southbourne, Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Kindle Edition)
Fascinating to read.
I am still enjoying every bit of it.
Perfect Kindle read.
I would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 3 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Art of War (Kindle Edition)
I like to read this book randomly and just let it wash over me. You can fall into the trap of over analysing its words - just let it wash over you for it is so well written and translated. Your mind will have a funny knack of extracting what you need to know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Kindle Edition)
Book was cheap so I thought its one of the great classics that you should have in your bookshelf :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa69c842c)

This product

The Art of War
The Art of War by Sun Tzu
0.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews