Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cliff richard and the drifters/shadows - live at the BBC 58-60.2CD
Definitive proof that that the UK had its own brand of rock music which could rival and better the then current American imports in that all too regretably brief period of contemporary pop music history.

Given the historical significance of these recordings the sound quality is astonishingly high (near FM broadcast quality and in mono) throughout on both...
Published 17 months ago by a.m.hardwick

versus
5 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another Unofficial Cliff Album Hits the Shelves
Let Me Tell You Baby Its Called Rock n Roll, is yet another spin off album that has been made by an independent record label trying to cash in on the fact that Cliff's early recordings aren't the product of EMI anymore. Cliff Richard has allowed his early recordings to be used endlessly on loads of unnecessary albums and I have suggested many times that Cliff does...
Published 17 months ago by Alistair D. Woolley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cliff richard and the drifters/shadows - live at the BBC 58-60.2CD, 8 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Let Me Tell You Baby ... It's Called Rock'n'Roll (Audio CD)
Definitive proof that that the UK had its own brand of rock music which could rival and better the then current American imports in that all too regretably brief period of contemporary pop music history.

Given the historical significance of these recordings the sound quality is astonishingly high (near FM broadcast quality and in mono) throughout on both CDs.

Brilliant sleeve notes from Rob Finnis in a well packaged with just a hint of 'retro' about it as a bonus.

And... The Shads perform live versions of Apache, Quartermassters Stores, Driftin and Jet Black too.

Compulsory purchase for both Cliff and Shads fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical meets fantastic entertainment, 25 Nov 2012
This review is from: Let Me Tell You Baby ... It's Called Rock'n'Roll (Audio CD)
This Rollercoaster CD of these early works of Cliff Richard and his band have been on many wish-lists of collectors of good rock and roll and the thousands of Cliff and Shadows fans from the early days for years. These are not some bunch of out-takes. They are not from 'any-old-record company' who is jumping on the dwindling 50 year out-of-copyright clause to make a few bucks. NO. This is the REAL DEAL. If the late Terence Harris ( Jet ) could have lived long enough to have clutched on to a copy of this set of recordings - that would have made many of his fans really happy people. So without duplicating the good things that have been said by other reviewers here lets sum up just this. :-These recordings - they are not 'hi-tech' as if E.M.I engineers had run the session But really - that's it ! The musical content and ability is really all there from the five, enjoying being in the rawness of a session, just like they ran them in 50's American independent studios for the blues and rockabilly cats there. So buy it and listen. Harris proves here he was the finest electric bass player in this country, playing straight-down-the-line rock and roll. He was string bass taught by Sammy Stokes and his switch to an electric instrument was sensational. These sessions also highlight the unsung great rhythm second guitar playing of Bruce Welch. Meehen like Harris, was well ahead of the game - these recordings show that they surely were the best rhythm section pair this side of the Atlantic in this genre. Of Hank and Cliff's rock and roll pedigree ? - well it's been praised by thousands - but, my-my-my you have really got to hear this bunch of recordings. The first 'Cliff' album back in 1959 set me back big bucks. This double CD set has got to be the sensational Christmas present of 2012 for any seasoned fan of authentic rock and roll and Cliff and Shadows fans world wide. - For the price it is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a singer, what a band!!!, 23 Nov 2012
This review is from: Let Me Tell You Baby ... It's Called Rock'n'Roll (Audio CD)
Our gratitude to Rollercoaster is immeasurable; I cannot praise this package highly enough! This album is historic proof as to why Cliff and the Shadows were so successful. Here are a bunch of teenagers performing music that is clearly dear to their hearts and doing it with such a high degree of professionalism; Cliff's vocals are faultless; Jet's bass playing underpins the band with breath taking efficiency; Hank is in a class of his own; Bruce and Tony must have lied about their ages - kids that young can't be this good! This recording confirms what a tight band they were and how great Cliff and the Shadows were in 1959/60. Apart from the excellent sound quality of this Rollercoaster product, the packaging is worth the price by itself. Great pictures and a very informative booklet. I highly recommend this package to anyone who has the slightest interest in Cliff, the Shadows and real rock 'n' roll history. Graham Barker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars raw, 4 Jan 2011
if you want early raw cliff and the drifters(shadows)this is it.when you listen to it you step back over 50 years to some of the best british rock n roll and just love the vinyl format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 Dec 2012
This review is from: Let Me Tell You Baby ... It's Called Rock'n'Roll (Audio CD)
Please if you are a fan of early Cliff DO NOT PAY ATTENTION to the above review about another rehash of Cliffs material.
It would appear that the gentleman hasn't heard these discs.
What we have is classic Cliff and the Shads performing hits and stage faves from their Saturday Club shows.
This is where they learned their craft
THIS IS NOT A CHEAP REHASH OF EARLY COLUMBIA sides on a CHEAP label - Rollercoaster is a top reissue label that has earned a lot of respect from collectors over the years
Fabulous package in really good sound
My only gripe is that cd 2 actually contains the same tracks with the addition of introductions which are very welcome

Best Cliff release for a long long time - now lets get the tv shows released !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Work Of Art. An Historic release. Not to be confused with Rip off compilations., 24 Nov 2012
By 
P. A. Wood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let Me Tell You Baby ... It's Called Rock'n'Roll (Audio CD)
Agree with the sentiment one reviewer expressed regards the reissuing of Cliffs early studio work on numerous labels it cheapens the music. This album should not be confused with those releases however. . This is an historic release that featues rare unreleased recordings it is a absolute must have for fans of Cliff and The Shadows, rock historians, people who love Rock n Roll music and good music in general. The set is beautifully and lovingly presented and packaged a real work of art. If this album featured the Beatles music it would be world news because its Cliff its all low key and underground. Make no mistake Cliff started the Rock scene in the UK he is the missing link between Elvis an The Beatles and heres the proof without him and The Shadows we wouldn't have had the Beatles. The sound is remarkably good for such historic recordings and its a real treat to hear Cliff as an out and out rocker backed by one of the best backing bands that theres ever been. If you have any sense of musical history this set will rock your world and your hi-fi. Don't doubt this one. Don't confuse it with the rip off releases. You need this one in your collection. It is a beautiful set more love has gone into this than any of the EMI releases. Five Stars all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cliff`s Substitute, 5 Feb 2013
This review is from: Let Me Tell You Baby ... It's Called Rock'n'Roll (Audio CD)
WONDERFUL ! For an early Cliff-Fan(I am since 1959 , when the Shadows for the first time had their Stratocaster-Sound on "Cliff Sings"), this compilation is a wonderful item for his Cliff-Collection ! And.....it is some kind of substitute for the very much missed Radio-Luxemburgh tapes from the weekly Cliff Richard Show(only 3 exampl.are on the Rock`n`Roll sampler of Cliff )! Maybe Roller-Coaster will explore the lost Luxemburgh-Tapes one day ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Me Tell You Baby ... It's Called Rock'n'Roll (Audio CD)
this is a great original recording double cd and has many things never heard before. well worth getting! lots of old songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 28 Jan 2014
By 
Francis De Keukelaere (Belgique) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Me Tell You Baby ... It's Called Rock'n'Roll (Audio CD)
Very happy !
Unknown records in my collection and good quality for the epoch...
Fan since 1979 and for ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smaller than your turntable!, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Typical of British parsimony, the first LP records were introduced as 10" discs - first came Johnny Ray, then Cliff, then Billy Fury for the rockers. Even Elvis released a 10" film soundtrack (I'm not sure whether this was also available in this format across the pond. I think it was Pye Golden Guinea that first popularized the 2" LP size we are more used to. These early English 10"-ers are now quite collectable and they certainly are seminal works of the artistes concerned - Cliff's rock manifesto at the time he was singing for Jack Goode on 'Oh Boy!' that he later ditched for a more family-friendly film-score image and Ron's (sorry - Billy's) self-penned song cycle that set the standard for the British rock explosion and inspired John Lennon to form a four-piece guitar/guitar/electyric bass/drums band. Don't bother trying tp play this on a Clearaudio Statement - despite its astronomic price with tahgeltial parallel tracking it's for 12" discs only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2e9e4bc)

This product

Let Me Tell You Baby ... It's Called Rock'n'Roll
Let Me Tell You Baby ... It's Called Rock'n'Roll by Cliff Richard with The Drifters & The Shadows (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews