Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Settling deadly old accounts.........
Jon Willing seems to be living the American Dream, nice house in a slightly up market condominium, beautiful wife, nice cars, the whole shabang - if that is what your idea of the ideal life is all about! Trouble is that it is all built on stolen money, whilst a teenager, Jon and a couple of his mates came across the hiding place of where a local biker gang stashed their...
Published 22 months ago by Craddock Edwards from Bristol

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected
Wasn't too sure about buying this book, but I'm pleased I did. The story twists and turns throughout with plenty of action and surprises to keep the reader interested. A good read.
Published 21 months ago by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Settling deadly old accounts........., 13 May 2013
By 
Craddock Edwards from Bristol (bristol, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Accounting (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Jon Willing seems to be living the American Dream, nice house in a slightly up market condominium, beautiful wife, nice cars, the whole shabang - if that is what your idea of the ideal life is all about! Trouble is that it is all built on stolen money, whilst a teenager, Jon and a couple of his mates came across the hiding place of where a local biker gang stashed their ill earned loot from the sale of grass, coke, manufacture of meth etc. Bundles and bundles of unmarked, non sequential cash money. That was the trio's own American Dream come true.
One little problem, more than 25 years later one of the three turns up dead having been brutally tortured, seems the bikers have sussed who had the cash away. Time for our hero to put his own Plan B into action and disappear off the face of the earth, if he can keep one step or one bullet ahead of the bikers and their collection agency chums.

No spoilers on the outcome of the story.

This is the first William Lashner thriller I have read, however his previous crime novels have hit the New York Times bestseller lists and have been translated into more than a dozen languages and published worldwide so he seems to have a successful pedigree.

The Accounting is character driven, Jon Willing has a slightly snobbish attitude instilled by his mother who raised him on the wrong side of the tracks after he had started life very much in Ivy League society, born to a rich father whose lawyers impoverished his mother in an acrimoniousness divorce. From servants, posh private schools and swimming pools in the back garden to a clapboard abode with an unkempt, postage stamp sized lawn in a street of identical houses with outdated, old bangers parked outside. Culture shock. However our hero is nothing if not resourceful as we follow his life as reality takes over from the lie he has been living for so many years.
Although perhaps not the most honest and straightforward of personalities I had no problem in feeling some empathy for Jon as he struggles to break free from his past, a story of choices, emotional retention and denial and a gradual understanding that a free lunch usually has to be paid for further on down the line, maybe in blood!

Great, good value read, eight pages short of five hundred with enough twists and turns in the plot to keep your attention well past normal lights out time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Credits and debits, 20 May 2013
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Accounting (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I held off reading this book. The original idea seemed good but the blurb on the back cover read rather more like a typical American boring tale of have it, lose it, find redemption.

It's not this at all. Certainly the three friends who nick a million dollars from their local drug dealer have it but when one of them is found brutally murdered 25 years later, it seems their past really has caught up with them.

The story is told through the eyes of one of the three, Jon Moretti who's life has been lifeless in effect. He's married, nice house, two kids but it has all been held together by dipping into the cash stash. Unfortunately, it doesn't take long for the heavies to latch on to him, putting his life and thoe of his family in danger.

It's a well told story, as you begin to root for Moretti who has to go on the run, as it were but in so doing, manages to cope with the thugs - just - who are hunting him down.

The only flaw, for me, was that it is pretty clear who is behind this manhunt after 25 years of nothingness. But don't let this spoil an otherwise excellent story. It's just about believable; Moretti's life has been turned upside down, his relationships with his family and those from his childhood are also similarly overturned and, if perhaps a little too 'feel good', it all seems to pan out as Moretti deals with his 'little problem'.

There is a great finale, the outcome of which is never certain. The book has you turning the pages to see just how the author brings the story to the end. I've not read William Lashner before but I'll certainly look for more from him on the strength of The Accounting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Accounting by William Lashner, 30 April 2013
By 
V. L. Harding (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Accounting (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
William Lashner's first book, Hostile Witness, was published in 1995,his latest, The Accounting' tells the story of Jonathan Willing, who after the break-up of his Mother's marriage to a rich prominent Philadelphia family relocates to a run-down estate called Pitchford.
There he makes friends with two other boys, and enemies of the school bully and his hanger-ons. When they are seventeen the three boys commit a burglary, the result of which will change their lives.
The story moves back and forward between those early years and twenty-five years later when they are individually held to account. The story involves drugs, a crazy biker gang, a broken down old boxer with a boat and an unscrupulous collection agency whose officers use intimidation to recover their debts.
The story mainly concerns relationships, family relationships through the different generations, friendships formed during schooldays that last through the years, marriages that flourish and some that fail and the bond between parents and sons and daughters.
A little different from the normal books of William Lashner but still good reading. A few years ago I donated three books by William Lashner to my local Library and the Librarian tells me they rarely remain on the shelf for long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Plot, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Accounting (Kindle Edition)
The exploit of Jon, Augie and Ben and its subsequent consequences keep you turning the pages, The description of ambition and desire to achieve a better lifestyle and its results and pitfalls are well described. Jon's character is utterly believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Danger and Destiny, 28 Nov. 2013
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Accounting (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The psychological crime thriller `The Accounting' may be far-fetched fiction - but it makes a compelling and gripping read as it oscillates around recklessness, rejoicing, recrimination and even redemption over a period between teenagers stealing drugs money and the murderous consequences 25 years later. The title `The Accounting' relates to how whatever elation there may be when a crime is committed - there will be a time to account. Alongside the exciting fictional plot there is a strong psychological element together with a degree of moralising over financial and social conditions in America.

Narrative is from the viewpoint of Jon, one of the teenagers and a flawed character who has been living a lie since the theft. Author William Lashner cleverly interweaves past and present to recount a story of family breakdown, abandonment, drugs, intimidation, torture, murder and much brutality and violence. These features are graphic rather than gratuitous, and are presented in such manner as to cause readers to empathise with Jon throughout his traumatic predicaments. Tension and anxiety rise as Jon is hunted and hounded to make good what was stolen, and he is forced into conflicting decisions and actions as he attempts to protect his family and save himself - yet there are flashes of humour and self-deprecation to ensure readers retain hope and remain on Jon's side. `The Accounting' is far-fetched fiction - but also a skilfully told cautionary tale of danger and destiny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best read since Fat Chance!, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Accounting (Kindle Edition)
Well from some of these reviews I wonder if I've read the same book! I thought The Accounting was the most enjoyable read I've had since I read Fat Chance by R J Leahy (shame I can't find any more of that authors to try), excitement and humour on nearly every page and the odd laugh out loud as well, maybe it's just my type of book but not theirs, not sure, but in my opinion it was excellent. I got this one after reading the Barkeep which I thought was good, good enough to chance this one despite some of the reviews, but The Accounting was a cut above.... For me anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does Money = Happiness?, 1 April 2013
By 
Mr. William Oxley "oxenblocks" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Accounting (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an action thriller with twists and turns through out as Jon Willing faces the terrible prospect of an accounting for his actions, by people who you do not want to sit down and have that discussion with.

This is a graphic story about the choices we make and the huge impact they can have on the direction that life takes. The novel looks at money and does the opportunity to have a lot of money then lead to a life of happiness?

What does money do to friendship and trust? Whereas before the money came along these best friends did everything together and enjoyed each others company. After the money came along...

What do secrets do to relationships because if you build a relationship on dishonesty then surely it is like building a house on sand. Will Jon be able to keep his family alive and together?

Give young men a lot of money and find out what happens in this story. Action all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it immensely., 21 Mar. 2014
By 
MCF (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Accounting (Kindle Edition)
When a student and two friends steal a stash of drug money they think it is the answer to their dreams but the nightmares start 25 years later. This is a great read, full of twists and turns and a story born out of recent history which has seen how the American dream fuelled by easy money has unravelled for so many people. Great descriptive writing and a book to savour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected, 27 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Accounting (Kindle Edition)
Wasn't too sure about buying this book, but I'm pleased I did. The story twists and turns throughout with plenty of action and surprises to keep the reader interested. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This guy really can write ....., 20 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Accounting (Paperback)
I read a lot of crime fiction, and selecting a good book based on Amazon reviews is very hit and miss: I suspect there is a lot of jiggery-pokery in this area, and too often I've bought a book on the strength of fantastic reviews only to discover that it's utter dross. Most of my reviews are of the one-star variety because I get so incensed by the discrepancy between the quality of the reviews and the quality of the writing that I feel I have to try to redress the balance.
William Lashner, however, is very much a five-star writer, and I feel impelled to share my love of his books with other crime fiction aficianados so that they too can experience quality writing in this genre. He is probably my favourite crime writer, and I urge anyone who hasn't read one of his books to give him a try. For me, a Lashner book contains everything a decent crime novel should should aspire to: a clever and credible plot-line with lots of twists and turns along the way, with a satisfactory denouement; good characters and plausible dialogue --- for me he comes close to Dickens in the quality of his characterisation, and I don't say this lightly; humour, a sadly neglected aspect of many crime novels, is an integral part of a Lashner book --- he's very funny; philosophical observation and clever insights into the human condition are lightly integrated into a damn good story .... I could go on and on extolling the virtues of William Lashner's books, but I think you get the idea.
I'm not going to specifically review The Accounting, suffice it to say that it ticks all the above boxes and compares well with Lashner's earlier work. And talking of earlier work, I'd especially like to recommend his Victor Carl series about a "Flashmanesque" lawyer from Philadelphia. Absolutely brilliant. Please read William Lashner, he's the real deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Accounting
The Accounting by William Lashner
£3.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews