Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars proper films aimed at a younger audience back then
The sense of nostalgia and how much the world has changed, as well as how things looked and people spoke, makes these films a very enjoyable experience. Spanning three decades, they are likely to take many viewers nearing fifty and over back to their own childhoods - for me, Sammy's Super T-Shirt caught the mood of the times perfectly, as I was about the same age as the...
Published 20 months ago by schumann_bg

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Racy Enough!
I love these old memory lane outings, they take me right back to my own childhood! They could have chosen a lot better ones, but for all, if you like the Childrens Film Foundation movies, you should enjoy these. The acting is a little wooden, but then you should remember these are children, and some went on to be great actors and actresses! Good to see the old uns as...
Published 15 months ago by jacoby


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars proper films aimed at a younger audience back then, 6 April 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Children's Film Foundation Collection: The Race is On - (Soapbox Derby | Sky-Bike | Sammy's Super T-Shirt) [DVD] (DVD)
The sense of nostalgia and how much the world has changed, as well as how things looked and people spoke, makes these films a very enjoyable experience. Spanning three decades, they are likely to take many viewers nearing fifty and over back to their own childhoods - for me, Sammy's Super T-Shirt caught the mood of the times perfectly, as I was about the same age as the protagonists, wore the same flares, and lived in a very similar world - minus the magic T-Shirt, of course, which turns the main character into a sort of unstoppable bionic boy. All three films focus on racing, and are more oriented towards boys, although many of the Children's Film Foundation productions showed no gender bias, according to the excellent booklet. They are quite well contrasted as a set, though, with one race on foot, one in go-karts and one in flying machines - the last, although the most imaginative on paper, perhaps, gives the least interesting result, mainly because the camera is used in such a lively way in the other two, and there is more humour in them. The set kicks off with Soapbox Derby which is an astonishingly good feature (all three last about 1 hour), with a vivid score complementing the action to perfection and some atmospheric shots of London. The docklands area is brilliantly caught, with the Battersea Power Station on the horizon, and the black-and-white photography is poetic while somehow remaining attuned to its purpose of involving us in the non-stop action. It also features an excellent early performance from Michael Crawford, whose later incarnation in Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em can be occasionally detected under the much more straight surface. Some of the boys speak with very plummy accents and use turns of phrase that are quite comical now. It is altogether a very bold-spirited programme, taking you back to how things were as well as your own childhood memories, and I'm sure the films would still appeal to boys today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOSTALGIA, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Film Foundation Collection: The Race is On - (Soapbox Derby | Sky-Bike | Sammy's Super T-Shirt) [DVD] (DVD)
The first appearance of some excellent British actors (eg Michael Crawford) in films that reflect the attitudes of the 60s & 70s. For me, I never saw them first time around as I lived too far to go to the cinema and so the nostalgia for what appeared to be much more outwardly innocent times is shown in stark reality against our modern internet dominated age. We seemed to be much more physically involved with our world and these films are evidence of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cff- movies (english) in germany!!!, 13 Nov 2014
This review is from: Children's Film Foundation Collection: The Race is On - (Soapbox Derby | Sky-Bike | Sammy's Super T-Shirt) [DVD] (DVD)
hello, everybody,

i write to all cff lovers, because in germany are great thrilling six cff-movies with english language
for buying there in amazon.de.
Five on a Treasure Island (Die Sache mit der Schatzinsel)
Five Clues to Fortune (Geheimsache fünf)
Valley of the Kings (Im Tal der Könige)
Beware of the Dog (Achtung: Bissiger Hund)
The Carringford School Mystery (Die Halskette)
The Young Jacobites (Die jungen Jakobiter)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sammy's still a winner!, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Film Foundation Collection: The Race is On - (Soapbox Derby | Sky-Bike | Sammy's Super T-Shirt) [DVD] (DVD)
I run a kids' Saturday morning film club where we screen new and old films. We'd been waiting for the chance to screen Sammy's Super T-shirt and we weren't let down. Kids and adults sat enthralled through the entire film. Very nostalgic for the adults watching and the fab response from the kids (ages 2 - 11) proved that in the age of CGI, this film has stood the test of time!

Thank you CFF!

Thanks also to the BFI for recognising the public appeal of these films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Film Foundation Collection: The Race is On - (Soapbox Derby | Sky-Bike | Sammy's Super T-Shirt) [DVD] (DVD)
Great film.. been trying for many years to get this, thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 14 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Film Foundation Collection: The Race is On - (Soapbox Derby | Sky-Bike | Sammy's Super T-Shirt) [DVD] (DVD)
I brought this with London Tales also from childrens film collection great films cant fault them fantastic family viewing! Loved the adventures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Retro? Don't you believe it?, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Film Foundation Collection: The Race is On - (Soapbox Derby | Sky-Bike | Sammy's Super T-Shirt) [DVD] (DVD)
If you have a belief that its special effects that are the sole/only/greatest most important factor in a good film then think again. There are no special effects in these stories but they all held my boys spell-bound. Its the story and the telling of that does it every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Days gone by, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Film Foundation Collection: The Race is On - (Soapbox Derby | Sky-Bike | Sammy's Super T-Shirt) [DVD] (DVD)
Three brilliant films - cant wait for more in the series - bought as present for son who remembers them when he was little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely old films, 14 Sep 2014
By 
Clive Womack (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Film Foundation Collection: The Race is On - (Soapbox Derby | Sky-Bike | Sammy's Super T-Shirt) [DVD] (DVD)
Lovely old films brought back so many memories, old school friends as extra's in one of films at Crystal Palace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Film Foundation Collection: The Race is On - (Soapbox Derby | Sky-Bike | Sammy's Super T-Shirt) [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant films! I just wished they'd all been made in colour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews