Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quiet masterpiece
This is a gem of a film, and I fear I am about to gush; it is one to be savoured with the volume turned up loud, and all possibility of interruption pushed as far away as you can muster without becoming too aggressive. Tracking shots of gulls - how long can that hold my imagination? Plenty, believe me, and this film offers a whole social and economic history of the...
Published 18 months ago by Dickon

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not quite what hoped for...
Fan of British Seapower and reviews led me to purchase in hope of added moving stirring visuals. But these were so-so, oft repetitive and left with feeling of 'so what'. Will replay for music alone
Published 6 months ago by John-On-Wye


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly great work ., 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From the Sea to the Land Beyond [DVD] (DVD)
A work of genius , a haunting and very nostalgia inducing film if you still remember the Britain that once was , the music by British Sea Power is both beautiful and atmospheric and is the perfect accompaniment to a great film .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From the Sea to the Land Beyond [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant. The music and images work so well. Ideal for any BSP or documentary fan. Have a beer/glass of wine and get lost in the how beautiful this is. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From the Sea to the Land Beyond [DVD] (DVD)
Beautiful, evocative, heart-breakingly good.

About a century of film, some formal, some unplanned assembled into a grand sweeping statement of why people live near or go to sea.

Faces from the past will appear as vivid as family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cross-generational appeal, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From the Sea to the Land Beyond [DVD] (DVD)
Watched it myself and was spellbound. Then played it to my mother, in her 90s, not a big fan of modern music and she absolutely loved it. She has lived all her life in a fishing port and I think she found it quite emotional. Then I played it to my younger sister and she thought it was wonderful too.

So I'd recommend it to anyone. And best watched in a nearly-darkened room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facscinating DVD, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From the Sea to the Land Beyond [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this short film on TV a while ago and its been saved on by Sky+ for ages.
The film, the music go perfectly together. I even went and bought the music.
I could watch this over and over, love it.

The product itelf, well packaged, next day delivery. Spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Favourite Film, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From the Sea to the Land Beyond [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent collection of BFI film archive. This film has the most wonderful soundtrack. I put the dvd on when friends are round and the music makes excellent background atmosphere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From the Sea to the Land Beyond [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely entrancing and stunning,and that is just the music, the film has so much to enjoy as well I just had to watch it all over again straight away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From the Sea to the Land Beyond [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fascinating compilation of archive film, and is perfectly complemented by an evocative soundtrack by the ever wonderful BSP..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essex manc, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From the Sea to the Land Beyond [DVD] (DVD)
Have seen British Sea Power live, great music to a film and this is a must have to buy- recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not quite what hoped for..., 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From the Sea to the Land Beyond [DVD] (DVD)
Fan of British Seapower and reviews led me to purchase in hope of added moving stirring visuals. But these were so-so, oft repetitive and left with feeling of 'so what'. Will replay for music alone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From the Sea to the Land Beyond [DVD]
From the Sea to the Land Beyond [DVD] by Penny Woolcock (DVD - 2013)
9.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews