Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars46
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2013
I saw British Sea Power perform this score live to Penny Woolcock's film on the South Bank last year. Very moving, clever and up lifting, both in the film and soundtrack. It's the sort of combination of image and music that would be easy to watch again!

If you love the sea, Britain, are ever so slightly nostalgic and enjoy this group's music, you'll be very happy for a couple of hours.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
One of life's guilty pleasurres is being safely inside somewhere lovely in the daytime while its raining outsisde watching wonderful old balck and white (some colour) films whilst the world is at it's business.
This DVD is comprised of clips from four main BFI collections. We see our ancestors watching us watching them, it is endearing, it shows images of seascapes and interwoven human geography and British transport.
There are no spoken words- just a wonderful soundtrack by 'British Sea Power'- sometimes so beautiful and evocative that it brought tears to my eyes- in a good way.
I love this.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
This was a gift for my Grandad who was in the merchant navy so spent a lot of time at sea and around boats, he loved it and couldn't wait to put it on. Great gift for sea lovers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
Have seen the Band perform their live accompaniment to the film, a superb experience.... the music creates an atmospheric and evocative soundtrack to a beguiling, documentary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
Who would have thought that playing a bunch of old movies to a bit of music could have produced such an alluring experience?
It is hard to explain how this works, but it does. The wonderfully gauged music from British Sea Power compliments perfectly the nostalgic and atmospheric film footage, featuring the places and characters of yesteryear.
Why not immerse yourself in 75 minutes of escapism? It's perfect therapy for the end of the day!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Excellent chill out video watching industrial history of Britain set to British Sea Power instrumentals. Have watched it again and again. Well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2016
Fascinating footage taking us back before WW1. Much enjoyed the soundtrack by British Sea Power which captured the mood. Must watch it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
Mesmerizing, entertaining, hypnotic, ,

Form the quaint 20's : when rare footage became available :
- To today, when we have more footage than we can handle.

And all the while, that intense music in the background draws on you heart.

- Really inspiring!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
Fantastic piece of film and lovely music to accompany a fascinating journey through the ages around Britain's coast. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
Really interesting film that makes you think. I suspect it will only appeal to a certain age group, but we enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)