Customer Reviews


3 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Take The Bitter With The Sweet..." - You Shook Me: The Chess Masters Volume 3, 1958 to 1963 (2012 2CD Remasters), 5 Sep 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Shook Me - The Chess Masters, Vol. 3, 1958 to 1963 (Audio CD)
Part 3 in Hip-O Select's ongoing reissue series - "You Shook Me: The Chess Masters Volume 3, 1958 to 1963" was USA released December 2012 as a 2CD set on Hip-O Select/Geffen/Chess/Universal B10017581-02 (Barcode 602537164653). Disc 1 has 26 tracks at 71:16 minutes - Disc 2 has 23 tracks at 73:03 minutes. In order to properly show what's on offer - I've provided a track-by-track Discography with song placements after each title - [16/1] is Track 16 on Disc 1 - [1/2] is Track 1 on Disc 2 etc. It breaks down as follows...

7" SINGLES:
1. Chess 1718 (released 1959)
Mean Mistreater [3/1] b/w Walking Thru The Park [1/1]

2. Chess 1733 (released 1959)
Take The Bitter With The Sweet [7/1] b/w She's Into Something [8/1]

3. Chess 1739 (released 1959)
Recipe For Love [14/1] b/w Tell Me Baby [16/1]

4. Chess 1748 (released 1960)
I Feel So Good [11/1] b/w When I Get To Thinking [17/1]
(Note: In the booklet Track 13 "Love Affair" is mistakenly credited as being Chess 1748 also - when it's the A-side of Chess 1758)

5. Chess 1752 (released 1960)
I'm Your Doctor [21/1] b/w Read Way Back [20/1]

6. Chess 1758 (released 1960)
Love Affair [13/1] b/w Look What You've Done [on Volume 2 - see Notes]

7. Chess 1765 (released 1960)
Tiger In Your Tank [23/1] b/w Meanest Woman [25/1]

8. Chess 1774 (released 1960)
Got My Mojo Working [7/2] b/w Woman Wanted [19/1]
[Note: the A-side is live while the B-side is a non-album studio cut. The original 45 A-side is also a 2:40 minutes Edit of "Got My Mojo Working Part 1" from the live "Muddy Waters At Newport" LP. Unfortunately, this set doesn't include that edit as a separate track - instead 7/2 is the full album cut at 4:27 minutes]

9. Chess 1796 (released 1961)
Messin' With The Man [12/2] b/w Lonesome Bedroom Blues [11/2]
[Note: "Messin' With The Man" became "Messin' With The Kid" - the opening track on Rory Gallagher's superb 1972 album "Live! In Europe"]

10. Chess 1819 (released 1962)
Going Home [13/2] b/w Tough Times [16/2]

11. Chess 1827 (released 1962)
Muddy Waters Twist [15/2] b/w You Shook Me [17/2]
[Note: "You Shook Me" covered on by Led Zeppelin on their 1969 debut album "Led Zeppelin"]

12. Chess 1839 (released 1962)
You Need Love [18/2] b/w Little Brown Bird [19/2]
[Note" "You Need Love" morphed musically and lyrically into "Whole Lotta Love" on the "Led Zeppelin II" album - also uncredited as originally being written by Willie Dixon]

13. Chess 1862 (released 1963)
Five Long Years [21/2] b/w Twenty-Four Hours [23/2]

7" SINGLE NOTES:
The following 5 x 7" singles were also released between 1958 and 1963 - but because they were recorded earlier - all but one of the ten tracks feature on Volume 2 in this series (released by Hip-O Select in the USA in December 2004 as "Hoochie Coochie Man"). "Love Affair" (on Chess 1758) is the track featured on this "Volume 3" set.

14. Chess 1680 (released 1958)
I Live The Life I Love (I Love The Life I Live) [13/2 on Volume 2] b/w Evil [18/2 on Volume 2]

15. Chess 1692 (released 1958)
I Won't Go On [21/2 on Volume 2] b/w She's Got It [22/2 on Volume 2]

16. Chess 1704 (released 1958)
Close To You [25/2 on Volume 2] b/w She's Nineteen Years Old [24/2 on Volume 2]

17. Chess 1724 (released 1959)
Ooh Wee [23/1 on Volume 2] b/w Clouds In My Heart [7/2 on Volume 2]

18. Chess 1758 (released 1960)
Love Affair [13/1 on Volume 3] b/w Look What You've Done [15/2 on Volume 2]

ALBUMS:
1. "Muddy Waters Sings Big Bill Broonzy"
Chess LP 1444 (released January 1960 in Mono)

Side 1:
Tell Me Baby [16/1]
Southbound Train [9/1]
When I Get To Thinking [17/1]
Just A Dream (On My Mind) [10/1]
Double Trouble [18/1]
Side 2:
I Feel So Good [11/1]
I Done Got Wise [15/1] [aka "Baby, I Done Got Wise"]
Mopper's Blues [6/1]
Lonesome Road Blues [5/1]
Hey, Hey [12/1]

2. "Muddy Waters At Newport"
Chess LP 1449 (released December 1960 in Mono, 2001 expanded CD remaster)

Side 1:
I Got My Brand On You (Live) [1/2]
I'm Your Hoochie Koochie Man (Live) [2/2] [aka "(I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man"]
Baby, Please Don't Go (Live) [3/2]
Soon Forgotten (Live) [4/2]
Tiger In Your Tank (Live) [5/2] [aka "(I Wanna Put A) Tiger In Your Tank"]
Side 2:
I Feel So Good (Live) [6/2]
Got My Mojo Working (Live) [7/2]
Got My Mojo Working, Part 2 (Live) [8/2]
Goodbye Newport Blues (Live) [9/2]
[Note: "Goodbye Newport Blues" features OTIS SPANN on Lead Vocals and Piano]

The 2001 CD bonus tracks on MCA/Chess CD 088 112 515-2 [Mono Studio Tracks] are:
I Got My Brand On You [26/1] (Previously Unreleased - 1st issued here)
Soon Forgotten [24/1] (1st issued "One More Mile - Chess Collectables" 2CD set from 1994)
Tiger In Your Tank [23/1] (Chess 7" single 1765 A)
Meanest Woman [25/1] (Chess 7" single 1765 B)

3. "They Call Me Muddy Waters"
(Compilation LP released December 1970 in the USA on Chess CH-1553)
Crawlin' Kingsnake [4/1]

4. "Rare And Unissued"
(Compilation LP released 1984 in the USA on Chess CH-9180)
[mistakenly credited in booklet as Chess LP 2057]
Deep Down In My Heart [22/1]

5. "The Chess Box"
(Major retrospective 6LP (CH6-80002) and 3CD Box Set (CHD3-80002) released October 1989)
Blues Before Sunrise [2/1]

6. "You Shook Me - The Chess Masters Vol. 3, 1958-1963"
Hip-O Select/Geffen/Chess/Universal B10017581-02 (released December 2012)
Real Love [10/2] (Previously Unreleased In The USA)
Down By The Deep Blue Sea [14/2] (Previously Unreleased In The USA)
Sweet Black Angel (aka Black Angel Blues (Instrumental) [20/2] (Previously Unreleased)
Brown Skin Woman [22/2] (Previously Unreleased In The USA)

The 3-way card digipak has a textured feel and is a lot less elaborate than its Volume 2 predecessor (book form 2CD set). And while the 28-page booklet has pretty colour photos and July 2012 liner notes by MARY KATHERINE ALDIN - it feels way too slight for such an important release and artist of this stature. Having said that the set's been compiled by great names like ANDY McKAIE and remastered/restored by one of Universal's top engineers - ERICK LABSON - a man with well over 1,100 tape transfer credits to his name (inlcuding most of the huge Chess Records catalogue). It sounds wonderful - clean, full of presence and not too trebled for the sake of it.

As you can see from the Discography provided above - musically you get two whole albums worth - a raft of non-album single sides - and the many straggler tracks issued since the Sixties on albums and CD retrospectives down through the decades. Muddy's band reads like a who's who of Blues luminaries - Little Walter on incenduary Harmonica, Otis Spann his long-time piano-playing sidekick, Jimmy Rogers provided tasty Guitar, the legendary Willie Dixon on Upright Bass and many more... And of the 4 PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED tracks surfacing here - "Sweet Black Angel" and "Brown Skin Woman" are the best.

I can only hope Hip-O Select up the packaging and presentation for Volume 4 - if ever a master of the genre deserved it - then Morgan McKinleyfield is that Mojo man...

HIP-O SELECT CD compilations for MUDDY WATERS to date (2014):
"Rollin' Stone: The Golden Anniversary Collection"
(June 2000 USA 2CD Set on Hip-O Select/Chess CHD-112301)
(Volume 1 - covers 1947 to 1952 on the Aristocrat and Chess labels)

"Hoochie Coochie Man - The Complete Chess Masters Volume 2, 1952-1958"
(December 2004 USA 2CD BOOK PACK on Hip-O Select/Chess B0002758-02)

"You Shook Me - The Chess Masters Vol. 3, 1958-1963"
(December 2012 USA 2CD set on Hip-O Select/Geffen/Chess/Universal B10017581-02)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muddy - Mastering is the best, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Shook Me - The Chess Masters, Vol. 3, 1958 to 1963 (Audio CD)
All Hip-o-select issues are the finest CD mastering. In todays market you cannot tell what quality product you are buying - by the
old saying "don't judge a book by it's cover" The CD's in the Chess series issued by Hip-o-select give you the best listening ever
to these recordings. Of the recordings here - the set includes Muddy's first 'proper' Chess album. When issued - his previous LP's were compiled from his earlier sessions for the singles (78's) race market and all held that 'edge' blues players held for what was then 'their' race market. The vinyl album 'Muddy - Sings Big Bil' tracks showed Muddy in another light too ! An acoustic session. A well recorded session with the excellent guitarist Pat Hare. The 'other' Chess vinyl album on this set is the 'Muddy at Newport' issue. His set from the Newport Jazz Festival. Pat Hare is again Muddy's guitarist. The sound of this outside recording is at its best ever presentation. There is a real 'bonus' track here for hardened collectors. The unissued instrumental 'Sweet Black Angel' from the Earl Hooker session that produced Muddy's gem 'Little Brown Bird" The earlier Muddy Hip-o-select set is now a rare-to-find-issue now. Get this one before she too becomes unavailable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXcellent collection, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Shook Me - The Chess Masters, Vol. 3, 1958 to 1963 (Audio CD)
Muddy at his very best - strongly recommended. However...the price seems out of line with recent blues reissues and I'd expect it to come down over time... Might be worth waiting awhile before buying this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews