Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Steps from Hell is back ... and more experimental than ever
Trailer music, a label which whilst accurate does not often convey what kind of music one will experience when listening to Two Steps From Hell, City of the Fallen, Immediate Music or Globus. Epic music is a better label, fantastic orchestrations, bombastic choirs, beautiful melodies and soaring power which just makes one want to awe, write absurd youtube comments or...
Published on 10 Nov 2012 by Riffan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as other albums from TSFH
I listened to a few songs before I bought it, enough to justify the cost of the entire album rather than individual songs. The album is not as good as others from TSFH. If I could donate the same amount of money to support the creation of more better albums, I would.
Published 7 months ago by Mondelore


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Steps from Hell is back ... and more experimental than ever, 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SkyWorld (MP3 Download)
Trailer music, a label which whilst accurate does not often convey what kind of music one will experience when listening to Two Steps From Hell, City of the Fallen, Immediate Music or Globus. Epic music is a better label, fantastic orchestrations, bombastic choirs, beautiful melodies and soaring power which just makes one want to awe, write absurd youtube comments or fight epic battles on the xbox or computer. Either way, this is the third release from Two Steps from Hell, not including Thomas Bergersen's solo release, which is just as fine and at times exceeds the Nick Pheonix collobaration pieces. Third time public release with mainly new material, does it hold up?

Yes. Over 20 tracks of music and a great deal is good stuff but the main difference with prior releases is how experimental this album gets, there's techno music found in the first track, the vocals are more prominent than ever and feature lyrics in the penultimate one, which is something I'm not personally a fan of, choirs and vocals yes but not conventional songs, just takes me out of the moment of awe which these people bring into the genre. Combining that with some quite generic pieces and this album doesn't reach the simple majesty of "Invincible" or the edge of "Archangel" which made them fresh and interesting to listen to. Also I would have wanted more tracks from their non-public releases on their old albums, Earth, Jump, Run Like Hell, Magika etc.

Despite this though Two Steps from Hell still delivers plenty of excellent, epic and entrancing tracks, my personal favourite being the magical "Winterspell" which just conveys that childhood sense of seeing snowfall perfectly. Also others, such as "Blackheart" with its dark strings and "For the Win" which does what every track in the vein of "Heart of Couage" does perfectly builds you up for the fight and the victory. So overall, some of the experimentation doesn't work and can be just annoying at times whithout adding much in constrast to the orchestration, but I will stil buy it, because Two Steps from Hell are forever at the top of the game when it comes to making life seem bigger, more epic and more majestic at every turn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SkyWorld (MP3 Download)
It would appear Thomas and Nick aren't letting there standards slip the tiniest bit. . . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh take, still fantastic, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SkyWorld (MP3 Download)
Once again Thomas Bergersen shows his imagination, skill and will to create beautiful music. Set across what feels to me personally as a mix of both the future and the past, we have a perfect combination with dazzling results in this latest album from the fantastic artist.

In short? You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some stirring music, but still prefer their previous album 'Archangel', 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SkyWorld (MP3 Download)
The first few tracks disappointed me at first, but after listening on I heard some amazing tracks, such as Blackheart, and Winterspell. The music is haunting and powerful, although unlike it's predecessor 'Archangel' It does have a couple of tracks I would rather skip past, but a massive handful I can not live without now! Great music, great price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly magnificent., 27 Jan 2014
By 
Iain McClumpha (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SkyWorld (MP3 Download)
I was already a huge fan of Two Steps from Hell through their "Invincible" and "Archangel" albums... and "Skyworld" just reinforces that. Some tracks which start off a bit strange (for TSFH), such as "el Dorado" transform into soaring pieces of musical art. "Starfleet" is another one which triggers all kinds of images in my head.

Some people see albums like these are fluff, or pseudo classical... but if they open their minds and their ears they will be transported to worlds as yet unknown, or have their hearts broken. The tracks may be shorter than most classical pieces, but the quality more than makes up for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent music, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SkyWorld (MP3 Download)
I love these guys, I have 3 of their albums now, and I was a bit worried that all their tunes would start to sound the same, and whilst most of them are similar to each other, there is always something that makes it different in its own way. I love listening to this music whilst in the office, it really helps me concentrate, and also when I'm on my bike rides, it's a great sound to have in your ears to spur you on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Music!, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Michael Long (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SkyWorld (MP3 Download)
Really good music to listen to while your working. Has a more experimental feel than Archangel, which I also recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different, but not bad., 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SkyWorld (MP3 Download)
Two Steps From Hell have been quite experimental in this album. The first track, for example, features dubstep near the end and some songs contain vocals, something I've never seen used in this company before. However, I personally don't believe these changes detract from the quality of the album. It still retains its exciting, adrenaline-rising, music. Some of my favourite tracks have to be 'Skyworld', 'Winterspell' and particularly 'Sun and Moon.'
Some may not like the differences, but I'd go for it, just because it's Two Steps From Hell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic music!!, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyworld (Audio CD)
Most epic than ever!!! On of the best works of Two Steps From Hell. Listen to it a become a legend :)

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!!!, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyworld (Audio CD)
It's a really good Album. Every Song is Great I can't stop Listening. Every Song is made in Perfection! I really love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SkyWorld
SkyWorld by Two Steps From Hell
Buy MP3 Album£6.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews