Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely different to Every Kingdom album, but just as beautiful
Ben Howard being amazing, yet again... These songs are a lot darker than his Every Kingdom album but just as beautiful. Plus this download is £1+ cheaper than iTunes who bumped up the price as soon as they realised the EP was going to be popular! Love it!
Published 21 months ago by Georgia

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit Boring
I like Ben Howards but the songs on this don't really excite me, no matter how much I wish they did....sorry :(
Published 17 months ago by Ms. Lauren Plant


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely different to Every Kingdom album, but just as beautiful, 5 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burgh Island EP (MP3 Download)
Ben Howard being amazing, yet again... These songs are a lot darker than his Every Kingdom album but just as beautiful. Plus this download is £1+ cheaper than iTunes who bumped up the price as soon as they realised the EP was going to be popular! Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burgh Island EP -- OUTSTANDING, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burgh Island EP (MP3 Download)
I have listened to Ben Howards "Every Kingdom£ album for the past year and have loved its summery vibe but I am very pleased to see that Ben went down the road of a darker broodier wintery sound, similar to that of "black Flies" from Every Kingdom.

All 4 tracks are outstanding in their own right and fits perfectly with the season upon us.
Be very intersting to see which route he goes down for his next full album..

Ben is a very underated musician within the industry, but when you hear him you will fall in love with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Howard - The Burgh Island, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burgh Island EP (MP3 Download)
More fantastic tunes from Ben Howard, cant go wrong for £2.99 so I highly recommend it to all of you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 26 Nov 2012
By 
lauren (BURY ST EDMUNDS, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burgh Island EP (MP3 Download)
I am in love with Ben Howard and this EP is VERY good. A little darker than every kingdom though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burgh Island EP (MP3 Download)
Although it's only four tracks long its Ben howard at his best, as usual. The guy is a real talent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burgh Island EP, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burgh Island EP (MP3 Download)
I Love this ep, and Ben's performance of these tracks in his live show is awsome. Would reccomend it to all Ben's fans although some might find the songs a bit darker than his more popular stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More great music!, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burgh Island EP (MP3 Download)
This E.p was such a good investment, am a big fan of Ben Howard and was really excited for Burgh Island to come out; it certainly hasnt disappointed! It is a lot more mellow and haunting than his Album,Which just shows what a great artist Ben Howard is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great new sound, 17 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Burgh Island EP (MP3 Download)
There is more of an electric sound to this EP compared with Every Kingdom but I really enjoyed the new direction. It suits Ben Howards voice, giving the tracks an overall deeper sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ben Howard - "Winter shall howl at the walls", 25 Nov 2012
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burgh Island EP (MP3 Download)
Having been a late convert to Ben Howard's "Every Kingdom" its been a fascinating task tracing his development. On that album it is the uplifting songs that drag you into his musical tent; the pounding "The Wolves" and the soundtrack for any summer "Old Pines", On this latest EP "The Burgh Island" it is black seas and darker clouds on the cover that replace the bright sunlight breaking through the blue water of "Every Kingdom". It signals an altogether bleaker and more menacing focus in the songs of Ben Howard and also the tell tale signs that he is developing into a much more powerful and considered songwriter. True on "Every Kingdom" there were songs such as "Black flies" that showed his ability to inject a wintery chill but on "The Burgh Island" the mood is overwhelmingly brooding and slightly heavy. Who knows what demons this small island just off the coast of Devon hold for Howard but this EP release is expertly timed to anticipate the shifts of the changing seasons. Howard recognised this in a recent interview when he stated "I think I like the autumn, because it's kind of ominous. Winter's just behind it, but everything's sleepier and it's quite cool, but you know everything's going to get dark real soon,".

Throughout the expert finger-picking guitar style of Howard is the perfect rolling backdrop to these hymns of melancholy. Opener "Esmeralda" starts with building chords and a plaintive mood that references "black seas", the "monster that killed the melody of love" and a powerful verse where Howard observes "Blinded, now I see the death, moves amongst us /And with such ease surround us /These silent beasts so hard to bare". Its stirring stuff and builds to a large impressive crescendo. If anything the granite like "Oats in the Water" takes an even darker turn and shows growing maturity with any residual surfing jibes about him being the "British Jack Johnson" rendered completely redundant as it all ends in an angry swirl of electric guitar. It is the third track however "To be alone" that sees Howard effectively employing new soundscapes to punctuate his work. It starts like a Thom Yoke song with ghostly echoing guitar until a more conventional song emerges where the distinctive vocal is probably the best on the whole EP. Finally things do ease somewhat for the near seven minute title track which has a more "chill out" set of atmospherics and is a beautifully slow lament that gently unfolds overs over an echo laden Fender until around the five minute mark when the gorgeous voice of Norwegian newcomer Monica Heldal breaks through to bring the song to a haunting conclusion. This is very fine EP by Howard and probably sets the direction of travel for the sophomore album that he is currently working on. Its good to see that he is not content to rest on his laurels and all of this augers well for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Howard, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burgh Island EP (MP3 Download)
When I first heard Ben Howard many years ago, I thought I might never need to listen to another musician again. His sound is so complete. This album is no less brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Burgh Island EP
The Burgh Island EP by Ben Howard
Buy MP3 Album£3.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews