Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enchanted Immortals by C.J. Pinard
'Enchanted Immortals' is C.J. Pinard's debut novel. This is a great book that put me in the mind-set of authors like J.R. Ward and Laurell K. Hamilton. As well as being a fantasy/paranormal it is also a good cop thriller. The novel is full of action, adventure, emotion, great characters and great storyline.

There are many characters and different groups of...
Published 23 months ago by Caroline

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reading
This book doesn't make you think too much it's an easy. I only read before going to sleep for about an hour and was done within a week.
Published 10 months ago by Jax


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enchanted Immortals by C.J. Pinard, 27 Nov 2012
By 
Caroline (England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enchanted Immortals (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
'Enchanted Immortals' is C.J. Pinard's debut novel. This is a great book that put me in the mind-set of authors like J.R. Ward and Laurell K. Hamilton. As well as being a fantasy/paranormal it is also a good cop thriller. The novel is full of action, adventure, emotion, great characters and great storyline.

There are many characters and different groups of people. Each of them adding their own layer to the story. There are the Immortals, the sylphs, humans, vampires and shapeshifters. For a debut novel this is a splendid introduction to many of the characters, enabling the reader to connect instantly and thus, making it easier to follow them should there be more books in the series.

The main focus of the story is on Thomas O'Malley. Thomas O'Malley endured a life-changing ordeal and ultimately became an Immortal. It is an Immortal's job to protect the sylph and humans from vampires and shapeshifters. To remain an Immortal they need doses of 'Enchantment' provided by the sylph. The vampires want to steal the 'Enchantment in the hope that it will allow them to daywalk. But will they succeed in obtaining it? If they do, will it work? Thomas works with Jonathan and Kathryn and at times they find themselves in some predicaments with the vampires and shapeshifters.

One of my favourite elements of the story are the flashbacks throughout the separate era's. The reader is taken on a journey through Thomas' past and how his disappearance affected his parents. Joseph O'Malley, Thomas' dad, is one of my favourite characters. His story is heartbreaking, sorrowful but completely full of unconditional love. He works as a cop for the San Francisco Police Department and tries to do everything within his power to try and find out what happened to Thomas. As Thomas is an Immortal he is not supposed to be known to man, and therefore Thomas must not contact his father in any way. This is beautifully written and I was very touched by these characters and this particular storyline.

The magic element of 'Enchanted Immortals' along with the 'Enchantment' and the fae people holds a similar imagery in my mind as that in the 'Meredith Gentry' novels by Laurell K. Hamilton. However, this novel has more realism, with the San Francisco Police Department, the Bureau of Supernatural Investigations (BSI) and Thomas' parents and past. The combination of the two, fantasy and realism, remind me of J.R. Ward's 'Fallen Angel' series.

In 'Enchanted Immortals' the government have set up a new body, the Bureau of Supernatural Investigations (BSI), to investigate the strange happenings of missing people, mutilated bodies, anything that seems to have no explanation. This set up brought back memories of watching 'The X-Files', although instead of 'Dana Scully' and 'Fox Mulder', C.J. Pinard has Agent Adam Swift and Agent Anthony Bianchi. These are another pair of my favourite characters. I love the thriller side of this novel, the investigations, the mysteries that these agents need to try and unfold.

There is also some romance in parts but I am sure this will become more intense during the follow-up novels. I was excited to hear that there would be a follow-up as the reader is left needing to know so much more even though this book is wrapped up beautifully. Thank you C.J. Pinard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 25 Mar 2013
By 
M. wilton (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enchanted Immortals (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Am no good at review's, but this book shocked me. didn't know if i would get into it as such.
I enjoyed the way it has been written going back to different times. Got confused a few times but the more i read the more i understood. enjoyed it that much i had to start The Vortex straight after. very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enchanted immortals, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enchanted Immortals (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
excellent read could not put it down would like to read any follow ups would like to read or download
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good!!, 19 April 2014
This review is from: Enchanted Immortals (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book!! Haven't read books by this writer before but will definitely get the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanted, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enchanted Immortals (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Well what can I say , a brilliant book , I've just read the first book and I'm now going to buy the second book, love Thomas and I hope he finds happiness ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enchanted Immortals (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Was a really well written book, I started this and couldn't put it down had to get the next one straight away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reading, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enchanted Immortals (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book doesn't make you think too much it's an easy. I only read before going to sleep for about an hour and was done within a week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked!!!!, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enchanted Immortals (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was a free download yet again (thanks amazon) I am an avid reader, this book is unlike any I have read before, give it a try I loved it. I have downloaded the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 29 Oct 2013
This review is from: Enchanted Immortals (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Good book and storyline. This book wanted me to buy the next series. Cant wait to read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting and different, 14 Oct 2013
By 
Fren (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enchanted Immortals (Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I liked this because it was a mix of paranormal detective story and vampire hunting. It is generally light hearted but the plot moves along nicely and the different stories weave together quite well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enchanted Immortals (Book 1)
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews