Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spice Trip
This book tells you so much more about the spices and their uses. Not just another cookery book but also gives tips on the medicinal uses of the spices. The information on nutmeg was particulaerly interesting. Having just visited Grenada made the book very relevent for me.
Published 19 months ago by Jacqueline Bearcoe

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice book but lots of discrepancies
Like others have said, this is a lovely book filled with lots of great recipes - all those from the TV show and more. Unfortunately there is a large number of discrepancies between the recipes on the show, online and in the book. I tried the orange and clove cake using the recipe in the book and thought something seemed wrong; I was sure on TV they used 3 eggs but the...
Published 19 months ago by Teacake


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spice Trip, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book tells you so much more about the spices and their uses. Not just another cookery book but also gives tips on the medicinal uses of the spices. The information on nutmeg was particulaerly interesting. Having just visited Grenada made the book very relevent for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Delicious, 26 Oct 2012
I've always wanted a recipe book that helped me use more spice in my cookery, that wasn't tied to a certain cuisine. Turns out - this is it.

The Flattened Chicken recipe is pretty unbelievable - I'd never considered boning chicken and cooking it in this way, which keeps it from going dry.

The Thai Chicken is also crispy and spicy and delicious. Also loved the spiced ice-cream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but better than feared, 16 May 2013
By 
I. Darren (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Spice Trip is billed as "the simple way to make food exciting" and is a companion to a British television series of the same name.

In essence, the reader is shown some key spices (chillies, nutmeg & mace, cloves, cumin, cinnamon and black pepper), given the chance to learn about these often under-appreciated spices and provided with a wealth of recipes that let these spices shine within. Despite it being a companion book, you need not have seen the series to still enjoy it and eagle-eyed viewers may notice some differences between the recipes shown in the television series and the book but this is not really going to be an issue.

As you might expect, this is a very photograph-rich book, that makes it a bit of a mystery as to why not every recipe has its own photograph. The "lecture" or overview is not onerous and it manages to pack a lot of information in a relatively short space. The recipes clearly form the bulk of this book and quite right too. Looking through the recipes you find an impressive, diverse range so as long as you don't particularly dislike each and every spice you should be fine. If you fall into that category, maybe this book is really not for you.

It feels that the book publisher Gods have been listening when it comes to presenting the recipes. Well designed, concisely written yet informative text that features dual metric and imperial measures, even an estimation of a typical preparation and cooking time too. Good internal signposting and a great, comprehensive index. Invariably this book won't appeal to everyone, through no fault of its own. However it stands as a good, credible introduction (or reintroduction) to several commonly "misunderstood" spices with a lot of interesting recipes that are suitable for beginners and "experts" alike.

A nice little book. A fun way to learn something new and a great excuse to get in the kitchen and cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spice Trip, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Already tried some of the recipes - have reduced the amount of chilli and spices to my own taste buds. Very easy to follow. Coleslaw with Pulled Pork wonderful. Using this recipe regularly. Cinammon Chicken and Lemon for tonights meal! Yum Yum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Brilliant addition to the cookbook range. A culinary education! It is a fantastic read, and I learned so much more about food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spice trip, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
you think your in a first class restraunt when you make some of the dishes and thre so simple to do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is one fascinating book, 23 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
started watching the series on 4 when Emma made a polenta cake with pineapples, cloves & caramel - intrigued, so I bought the book & so glad I did too. this is not just a recipe book with page after page of glossy pictures of perfectly turned out cooking, it goes a lot more in depth about the key spices, their uses in herbal medicine & beauty regimes. if you are thinking about buying - STOP THINKING - buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spice it up, 15 Dec 2012
This review is from: Spice Trip: The Simple Way to Make Food Exciting (Kindle Edition)
This book is about food, travel and cultural studies. An incredible mélange of three fascinating ingredients and as such a wholly different cookery book to every thing else on the market. The television series drives you into its arms and between pages from which it is hard to escape. The recipes are easy to prepare and cook: the tastes are multi-facetted, fresh and wholesome. I'm not a great cook but so far so delicious. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good - but some annoying features, 6 Jan 2013
Nice book but some annoying features.

Some of the recipes in the TV series are not in the book.
Some of the recipes in the TV series have been changed for the book without explanation.
Some recipes have no photos even thought there is plenty of room on the page. I think
photos are very important to wet the appetite and help in creating the dish. I suspect this
is cost cutting by the publisher. Part of the attraction of the TV series was the beautiful locations
and visuals.

Apart from those slightly annoying points, I love the series and many of the recipes
are in the book along with some new ones and extra info, so still worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice book but lots of discrepancies, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like others have said, this is a lovely book filled with lots of great recipes - all those from the TV show and more. Unfortunately there is a large number of discrepancies between the recipes on the show, online and in the book. I tried the orange and clove cake using the recipe in the book and thought something seemed wrong; I was sure on TV they used 3 eggs but the book only calls for 2. Having checked the online recipe I discovered the book is wrong (it should be 3 eggs and 2 tsp of baking powder, not 1). It seems that a number of other recipes contain basic errors which is disappointing considering the effort that has gone into the design, illustration and typesetting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews