Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An illuminating and revealing biography
Philippe Auclair's book on Thierry Henry is far removed from the usual banal chronological flattery that is the usual footballer biography. Auclair's thorough and deep research into Henry's past explains, not always in complimentary or sycophantic terms, the behaviour of a rather unusual and prodigal footballer. His childhood, his over bearing father and successes and...
Published 21 months ago by Rayne Rooney

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just ok
Really wanted to enjoy this but so much of the book is coloured by the writer's mistrust of Henry that I felt kinda robbed. That said it does cover important chapters of Henry's life and development as a footballer and is an easy read
Published 19 months ago by andrew monu


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Très Bien, 24 Sep 2013
Intriguing, thorough and insightful. Not the purely praising biography you might expect of such an iconic player,credit to the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An objective well written biography, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thierry Henry (Kindle Edition)
Being an Arsenal, and Henry fan, you could say I am biased, and I am. But, I would also say that previous to reading this I wouldn't have wanted to read a book written someone like myself. I want an open, honest account of someone who has made it to the top of their profession, warts and all.

This book is written extremely well, is engrossing and I was surprised at how many names I recognised spanning Henry's time in football from childhood to his twilight years.

Hard to put down. I recommended this highly, even towards people who aren't necessarily Henry fans..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book very well written, 28 Feb 2013
By 
M. Stewart "mamie" (aberdeen scotland uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this book, the subject is interesting enough but the writing lifts the book to another level. Have the other Henry biographies but this on the best by far. Have given it to my sons and grandsons too. Football biographies are not usually noted for their readability unfortunately,but this one is! The only thing that could too it would be an autobiography:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book arrived quickly, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ordered as Xmas present for my son, arrived very fast and he was very pleased with it. Good price, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of footballs greats., 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of my son's favourite players so he really enjoyed reading this book and will probably read it over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thierry Henry (Kindle Edition)
The best footballer biography I've ever read, brings out the subject's intelligence and complexity and is very revealing about Arsenal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Those who watched Thierry Henry at Arsenal will already know plenty of the famous man's career at the top. However, in 'Lonely At The Top', Auclair has really done his research into the great man's past. From growing up with an overbearing father, to his early days in the small clubs to his ill-fated move to Juventus - Auclair tells the story of arguably one of the greatest and misunderstood footballers of the modern era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read., 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting and Insightful account of a brilliant Career.
Should be an amazing read for any Arsenal or Football fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars W.t.f ?, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thierry Henry (Kindle Edition)
Strange I bought this book thinking it was positive but to slash off a player like this just seems weird , I'm a fulham fan by the way before anyone starts.He scored enough times against us I should hate him but I don't.So who the bloody he'll is Philippe Auclair to comment on a guy that's achieved a lot more than he ever will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as great as i hoped, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sometimes Auclair goes on about his decisions to mention or not mention about Henry too much. He also can be very negative about Henry. No doubt Henry can be seen as arrogant or having issues which affected parts of his career but this book focusses a bit too much on it. After all, he was a great footballer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thierry Henry
Thierry Henry by Philippe Auclair
4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews