Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Great Zombie movie for non-Zombie movie viewers...
Published 1 month ago by Soundie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly enjoyable
Had read all the reviews before purchase so went into this with my eyes open. Very clear that there were two camps on this one. Whilst not that bad the poor (ie misleading!) cover art for the DVD really doesn't help.
As for the film itself, the plot is straightforward, a 'close to divorce' couple take a break in the country to try to salvage the marriage, and things...
Published 2 months ago by Wynner


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly enjoyable, 27 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
Had read all the reviews before purchase so went into this with my eyes open. Very clear that there were two camps on this one. Whilst not that bad the poor (ie misleading!) cover art for the DVD really doesn't help.
As for the film itself, the plot is straightforward, a 'close to divorce' couple take a break in the country to try to salvage the marriage, and things take a zombie affected turn for the worse. The effects are fine, but what let it down for me was that I was hoping for a bit more on the estranged husband / wife aspect, the background to it and the consequences of their predicament on their (terminally?) fractured relationship.

The take home message is that this is a low budget Brit zombie horror, the cover is largely irrelevant (apart from it shows zombies) and it should be bought and viewed with that in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
Great Zombie movie for non-Zombie movie viewers...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This film is truly and absolutely beyond awful, 6 May 2014
This review is from: Before Dawn (Amazon Instant Video)
I like Zombie films, I like low budget zombie films, I've watched many, many zombie films. This film does not fall into the category of a zombie horror film. Nothing happens for the first hour apart from a couple attempting marriage therapy in a remote location. Then the zombies turn up- all 4 of them. Hardly a terrifying horde to contend with, especially given that they turn up one at a time.
This film gets a one star as I can't give it any less. People that rate it any higher have obviously been watching a different film.
About the best thing to say about this film was that I got more money for trading it in than I paid for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't like Zombie Films?, 26 Feb 2013
This review is from: Before Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
I don't like them either. But I saw this one in Hebden Bridge becuase it was locally filmed. Beautifully shot and absolutely gripping. Loved every minute and had a real twist at the end. I've been so looking forward to it coming out on DVD. One of those films that stays with you for days afterwards. Brilliant acting and great story line. Some great one liners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Before Dawn, 11 Feb 2014
This review is from: Before Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
As someone thats just watched this film, one would suddenly think they have wrongly picked a tense episode of 'Emmerdale' by mistake. Im afraid to say that this 'film' feels more like a soap then a horror film. The scenery really desetves the overall credit This is far to mellow for any real horror fan to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A British zombie masterpiece., 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
This is a superb film, and a brilliant directorial effort from Dominic Brunt, clearly a man of many talents and tremendous potential. The acting between Brunt and his wife Joanne Mitchell is deeply saddening and sensitive in their roles of a couple whose relationship is disintegrating (perhaps the fact they are married in real life adds that intimacy to an exquisite performance by both of them). Then of course we have - zombies!! Although the landscape is not swarming with zombies, when they do appear, this makes for some very scary moments set against the tranquility and beauty of the film's Yorkshire location. There is enough juicy, bloody, gore to satisfy diehard zombie lovers without the film descending into a parody of zombie films. This is actually a film which maintains its integrity throughout, and is as much a classic as Siege of the Dead and La Horde, which themselves are great examples of the European zombie movie genre. Dominic Brunt is an incredible talent, both as an actor and director. I look forward to his next film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie-tastic!, 25 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Before Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely love zombie films and this latest offering from Dominic Brunt and Joanne Mitchell was superb. It was showing at FrightFest last year and I missed it so couldn't wait for the DVD (which came out today). Great story, fantastic makeup and effects and a really tense atmospheric feeling throughout the whole film. Film also stars Nicky Evans who plays Shane Maguire in Shameless.

Loved the film and I will watch it again. So great to see a small production being so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paddy Kirk's zombies, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
To begin with the cover art for Before Dawn is quite misleading. The bloke with the shotgun (or anyone else with a gun) - isn't part of this film. In its favour though this modestly budgeted film is by Emmerdale's Dominic Brunt, who makes a good effort by starring and Directing.

Alex (Dominic) inadvertantly discovers a bunch of zombies while enjoying a rural break with his previously estranged wife. Nestling in the British countryside, their holiday cottage becomes home to all manner of misfortunes.

To his credit Dominic has managed to pack in a few original touches to this film. It also doesn't lack suspense, and includes some gruesome moments. True zombie fans will surely approve. All in all a decent 4 stars.

Extras/Special Features:

Making of feature.
Trailer.
Outtakes.
Raw footage.
Director's commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
a very good film with dominic brunt it only seen him in soaps he plays a great part
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLOODY BRILLIANT BRUNT!!, 10 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Before Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
Paddy from Emmerdale's made a Zombie movie you say? Hmmmm, I thought, I wonder if Marlon's in it?? Well he wasn't, but I wasn't disappointed, oh no, because if he had of been in it, it would of been like watching an episode of Emmerdale, and believe me, this was nothing like Emmerdale!
This is one of the best zombie films I've seen in a long time!
Dominic and his real life wife Joanne Mitchell, play a married couple who head off to the countryside to try and mend their broken relationship. Unfortunately, things don't go to plan! No plot spoilers here though!
Trust me, if you love zombie films then buy it, you won't be disappointed.
This film is both sweet and savage, and hints at a very bright future for it's director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Before Dawn [DVD]
Before Dawn [DVD] by Dominic Brunt (DVD - 2013)
3.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews